We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel”
Review of The Osborne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Osborne Hotel
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I was a guest staying at this hotel in November ! It was lovely and friendly from the minute you walked in through the door. Yes some of the guests where elderly, but they certainly knew how to enjoy themselves! The food was great and plenty of it. I found the hotel to be very clean & spotless. The entertainment was varied and very good. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Boosboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    72
    30
    8
    6
See reviews for
55
89
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This hotel is very poor indeed. It is very dated, mismatched carpeting, poor decorative state and DIRTY. Paper peeling off walls, dirty floor in the bathroom and dirty bathroom fittings (see photos). Dirty sellotape from old notices left on the walls. How this ever got its good reviews is beyond my comprehension. Breakfast was poor, but the waiter was lovely, which is the only good point about out stay here. It reduced me to tears, no mean feat I assure you. To add more misery it was full of coach parties of elderly people. We are no spring chickens ourselves, but we were surrounded at breakfast by several dozen very old people. We certainly felt that all the staff's attention was on the coach loads and we were an inconvenience. We couldn't wait to go out for the day and returned reluctantly at night to sleep. Luckily the surrounding area was beautiful and we thoroughly enjoyed other aspects of our short holiday

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank moonraker07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
osborneIlfracombe, Owner at The Osborne Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for your review, we were though upset to read the contents of it. Having looked at the comments you make, the only ones we feel worthy of response are;

a) The hotel being 'DIRTY' - It is not dirty. We take great pride in the cleanliness of our hotel and our housekeeping team work hard to achieve the high level of hygiene and cleanliness we as owners expect. Infact this is an area we get highly recommended on! The photographs you've added to your review of your bathroom suggest there is mould along the tiles - it's actually a tiny gap between the tiles and the seal around the bath! The display of suggested dirt/dust on the floor is faded patterned linoleum. Thebathroom of your room has since been refurbished, but please note this was completed before we received your review two days ago.

b) Favouritism of coach guests - We find this very hard to believe as we respect and take time to get to know ALL our guests irrespective of their age, race, religion or the mode of transport that brings them to the hotel! If though you felt there was favouritism shown then we can only appologise, it certainly wasn't intentional.

A final aspect of the review that as owners we'd like to raise is why has it taken you almost four months to write the review (as you stayed here last September)? Also if you were so 'upset' as your review suggests why were your concerns not brought to our attention while you were here when we would have had the opportunity to address them with you?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Yes the building is somewhat old but for an old fashioned welcome you couldn't ask more.

Took my parents for a turkey and tinsel week pre - christmas, the hotel was warm clean and welcoming, the food tasty and filling, the entertainment "corny" in such a good way.

A great time was had by all.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JumblePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avignon, France
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

A fantastic time. Best New Year ever. The karaoke night on New Year's Day was so much fun. Everyone joined in and Nick was a superb host and he made sure everyone had a great time.
When we first arrived I must admit I thought the hotel was way past its' sell-by date but the fun we had far outweighed the downside.
Food was adequate but not very inspiring.
The memories will last for many years to come!
Well done Nick and all the family.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christinelindley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I have been travelling to The Osbourne Hotel for 8 years now and again find myself completely satisfied that the best time possible was had by all who were there! The welcome was superb, on arrival all guests were directed to the bar area for tea/coffee & cakes while the staff delivered luggage to the room. The rooms are well appointed, very clean and comfortable and a complimentary bowl of fruit. The staff are all superb, friendly, helpful and nothing is too much trouble. The food cooked by Stuart was top notch, much better than a large portion of hotels I visit! plenty of it and using fresh produce, a rarity in the all to familiar ready made bought in rubbish that most hotels use these days! Every night you walk away with a full belly and satisfied taste buds! The entertainment was first class all three nights, the family went all out as usual to make the stay in their hotel a great experience! Nick's Kareoke "Osbourne Style" was excellent, you can't find a more dedicated and talented entertainer if you searched the whole of England! As always the head of the family Sandy makes everything gel together with her big smile and welcoming way that instantly makes you feel part of the family. A big thanks to all at the hotel for the best new year yet! Can't wait to visit again and spend more time with old friends! keep up the good work!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eurotraveller262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBognor Regis
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed for only 2 nights but wish it had been longer. We have stayed at many hotels in the area but The Osborne beats the lot! , we will be returning for a longer stay later in the new year. Thank you to Nick and all his staff for making our stay so enjoyable in every way.
Cant wait to see you all again.

Room Tip: Just say what you want and if available, you'll get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Len F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Stayed for a few nights, overall the service was good, entertainment was very good, food was also good, the only downside was the standard of the room, this I feel could do with some refurbishment & then it would be an excellent Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.0 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
417 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
372 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#17 of 20 in Ilfracombe
335 reviews
0.0 mi away
Devon Bay Hotel
Devon Bay Hotel
#18 of 20 in Ilfracombe
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Osborne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Osborne Hotel

Property: The Osborne Hotel
Address: Wilder Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Osborne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated to explore Ilfracombe, The Osborne is a friendly family run hotel offering a warm welcome and fantastic value for money. The hotel has 53 en suite bedrooms, a ballroom, dining room, bar lounge, sauna and small games room.With a wealth of sporting and leisure activities close by the hotel attracts families, couples and groups who enjoy the stunning views and rugged landscape of the North Devon coastline. Our executive chef provides a mouth watering menu of treats with special group menu's available on request. We offer free gun storage for clay pigeon groups, wet clothing storage for surfers, kayak enthusiasts and fishermen, plus nightly entertainment in the bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your The Osborne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Osborne Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing