We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back from a boozy weekend away”
Review of The Osborne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Osborne Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Ive just got back from a really enjoyable weekend away with 25 family and friends to this hotel.Some of us had reservations about staying here but this very quickly vanished once we stepped inside and were greeted by the warmest of welcomes from this well run family hotel.
The food was in abundance and the entertainment flowed with ease all weekend, nothing was too much trouble from the owners to the staff,supplying "free supper" for all and last but not least I've got to mention Nick the comedian, Nick the singer, Nick the all round entertainer who made this weekend a success.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trevor602014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
osborneIlfracombe, Manager at The Osborne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. It's always nice to get positive feedback. We're glad to see you enjoyed our hotel and were pleased with the service our staff gave you and your friends while you were here. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

We have just spent the weekend at The Osborne and it has been a fantastic weekend from start to finish. We went as part of a group holding a card tournament there. We arrived on Friday and were given a parking space outside of the owners house as there isn't a car park with the hotel.
The room was very clean and the bed very comfortable. The shower in our room was fantastic and didn't seem to loose pressure when I'm sure others in the hotel were using the showers or water in their room as has often been an issue at other places we have stayed in. The owners were very friendly even down to Nick sitting with us on Friday evening and joining in a game of cards with us. All the food has been fantastic with waiter/ waitress service and very prompt. Nick put on his own style of entertainment on the Saturday evening consisting of kareoke and musical instruments so all could join in. The first time I have seen most of the group stay in the venue rather than going out to the local pubs and bars.
As the tournament was going on for most of the day today (Sunday) we were allowed to keep our rooms until the end of the day if required rather than checking out at 10.30 like most places.
A great place to stay if you want a fun and friendly time. We will definately be returning again weather as a couple or with the card group.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 24sarahmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Had a brilliant weekend at this hotel. Away with family and friends and had a ball. Lots to drink which the owners and staff coped with brilliantly and the food was excellent. Will be returning next year, a pleasure to stay here.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Jo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
osborneIlfracombe, Owner at The Osborne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write your review. It's great to see you had a good time and we look forwrd to seeing you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I was a guest staying at this hotel in November ! It was lovely and friendly from the minute you walked in through the door. Yes some of the guests where elderly, but they certainly knew how to enjoy themselves! The food was great and plenty of it. I found the hotel to be very clean & spotless. The entertainment was varied and very good. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Boosboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This hotel is very poor indeed. It is very dated, mismatched carpeting, poor decorative state and DIRTY. Paper peeling off walls, dirty floor in the bathroom and dirty bathroom fittings (see photos). Dirty sellotape from old notices left on the walls. How this ever got its good reviews is beyond my comprehension. Breakfast was poor, but the waiter was lovely, which is the only good point about out stay here. It reduced me to tears, no mean feat I assure you. To add more misery it was full of coach parties of elderly people. We are no spring chickens ourselves, but we were surrounded at breakfast by several dozen very old people. We certainly felt that all the staff's attention was on the coach loads and we were an inconvenience. We couldn't wait to go out for the day and returned reluctantly at night to sleep. Luckily the surrounding area was beautiful and we thoroughly enjoyed other aspects of our short holiday

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank moonraker07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
osborneIlfracombe, Owner at The Osborne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you for your review, we were though upset to read the contents of it. Having looked at the comments you make, the only ones we feel worthy of response are;

a) The hotel being 'DIRTY' - It is not dirty. We take great pride in the cleanliness of our hotel and our housekeeping team work hard to achieve the high level of hygiene and cleanliness we as owners expect. Infact this is an area we get highly recommended on! The photographs you've added to your review of your bathroom suggest there is mould along the tiles - it's actually a tiny gap between the tiles and the seal around the bath! The display of suggested dirt/dust on the floor is faded patterned linoleum. Thebathroom of your room has since been refurbished, but please note this was completed before we received your review two days ago.

b) Favouritism of coach guests - We find this very hard to believe as we respect and take time to get to know ALL our guests irrespective of their age, race, religion or the mode of transport that brings them to the hotel! If though you felt there was favouritism shown then we can only appologise, it certainly wasn't intentional.

A final aspect of the review that as owners we'd like to raise is why has it taken you almost four months to write the review (as you stayed here last September)? Also if you were so 'upset' as your review suggests why were your concerns not brought to our attention while you were here when we would have had the opportunity to address them with you?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Yes the building is somewhat old but for an old fashioned welcome you couldn't ask more.

Took my parents for a turkey and tinsel week pre - christmas, the hotel was warm clean and welcoming, the food tasty and filling, the entertainment "corny" in such a good way.

A great time was had by all.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JumblePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

A fantastic time. Best New Year ever. The karaoke night on New Year's Day was so much fun. Everyone joined in and Nick was a superb host and he made sure everyone had a great time.
When we first arrived I must admit I thought the hotel was way past its' sell-by date but the fun we had far outweighed the downside.
Food was adequate but not very inspiring.
The memories will last for many years to come!
Well done Nick and all the family.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank christinelindley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
483 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#14 of 20 in Ilfracombe
355 reviews
0.9 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#9 of 20 in Ilfracombe
217 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Darnley Hotel
The Darnley Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
54 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Osborne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Osborne Hotel

Address: Wilder Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Price Range: £78 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Osborne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated to explore Ilfracombe, The Osborne is a friendly family run hotel offering a warm welcome and fantastic value for money. The hotel has 53 en suite bedrooms, a ballroom, dining room, bar lounge, sauna and small games room.With a wealth of sporting and leisure activities close by the hotel attracts families, couples and groups who enjoy the stunning views and rugged landscape of the North Devon coastline. Our executive chef provides a mouth watering menu of treats with special group menu's available on request. We offer free gun storage for clay pigeon groups, wet clothing storage for surfers, kayak enthusiasts and fishermen, plus nightly entertainment in the bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Osborne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Osborne Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing