We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An early start.”

Tyme Restaurant at Trimstone Manor
Reserve with OpenTable
Tyme Restaurant at Trimstone Manor is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #67 of 121 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Price range: US$10 - US$48
Cuisines: American, French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

There is a breakfast meeting at Trimstone at 7am on Thursday mornings when a group of business people get together to discuss topics that business people wish to discuss. At a recent meeting taxation was on the agenda. What's more a good cooked breakfast is also provided for a small fee.

Go along and take a look.

1  Thank wiselady1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityControlNDevon, Owner at Tyme Restaurant at Trimstone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Wiselady!

Thank you very much for the mention.

We all enjoy our discussions and cover such myriad topics, all in convivial surroundings and with a wealth of experience around the 'table'.

Any in business are welcome to attend and indeed also the enthusiastic retireds as well, all of whom have vast experience to share with the group.

There's a hearty breakfast as well and all for £8.50 which is VAT and Tax deductible for those in business.

All very best wishes

Philip J Milton - Owner
Tyme Restaurant at Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

Had an evening meal in this lovely old building. Beautiful location complete with resident peacock. Wonderful food and first class wines from an extensive menu, charming service in a very pleasant restaurant.

1  Thank Comfortablynum B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityControlNDevon, Owner at Tyme Restaurant at Trimstone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Comfortablynum

We are very pleased that you had a good time with us when you dined here. I am sorry to say that Kevin the Peacock is not on the menu, even if he is in his prime!

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food and had good and attentive service from the staff. We pride ourselves too on the range of wines from which to choose - as well as robust and sensibly priced house wines. We stayed away on business recently and a very nice establishment it was too but the wines started from £42 a bottle! I think £14.95 is a better starting level!

I shall make sure your kind comments are relayed to the staff too - as I do with all reviews.

We shall very much look forward to having you dine with us again when you are in the area! You will be made very welcome. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review.

My very best wishes

Philip J Milton - Owner
Tyme Restaurant at Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Apparently untrained staff, chef running reception, tired unloved building & it was supposed to be a unique dining experience. Limited menu, food ok but overpriced. We could have had a better meal for half the price elsewhere. Waiter did his best & helped out where he could.

17  Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityControlNDevon, Owner at Tyme Restaurant at Trimstone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

How dare you - such precocious, jumped-up opinions. Do you really think we want or need your type here? The answer is no.

How dare you criticise my son who is one of the most efficient front-house staff in the hospitality line going. As for prices, I think you were expecting five stars for your £57 for the two of you (and £50 for your parents' two meals). So the food was 'ok' was it. I think you'd best stick with your microwave meals in the local pub if you don't value home-prepared fare, maybe 'two for £9.95' - that'll suit you better. As for choices, your ignorance hasn't made your realise that an extensive menu of pages of options means straight from the freezer to the microwave, come, come - you had four choices of starters, mains and sweet and even then if you had any dietary needs, chef would have done something else to your personal requirements. The menu changes every day - that's how fresh it is. She was on Reception when you called - how many staff do you think we need (or you should pay-for) for seven diners at the time?

Apparently you arrived whingeing about the complicated process of buying the Voucher in the first place but that is nothing to do with us, then having to extend its time or something and the voucher company charging you for your ineptitude in not using it in six months or whatever. You should have chosen somewhere else to redeem it really if we were going to disappoint you. Perhaps the new Wetherspoons in Ilfracombe would be more your cup of tea than our much-loved home, property and business which is appreciated by real people rather than the plastique, nouveaux riche and be assured, we are not desperate to have people like you here so don't ever come back.

Over the last few weeks we have had about 150 people stay with us and dine with us and they have all had a great time, enjoying the qualities we have here and the food and service, as their comments in our Guest Book attest. Then there is the self-acclaimed TripAdvisor reviewer 'Andrew F from Northampton' who thinks he's the bee's knees insofar as his opinions are concerned but evidently hasn't had much real life experience and can't tell quality, antiques and heritage in our building (which is on a site which has been lived-in and worked-in for well over 1000 years) from a modern concrete box with Ikea furniture.

We chose to live in a place which is open to the public to come and enjoy too and then we have unwelcome visits from people who don't appreciate it and frankly, we don't know why they wanted to come here in the first place. They try to make their voucher 'fit' us because we're the only ones in the scheme locally I suppose but that's their issue - not ours.

A fortnight ago we had another couple come on the same voucher scheme, deciding to celebrate a 75th birthday with us and what a surprise; they were the only guests staying that night but they had a delightful time and greatly enjoyed their meal and personal service. How genuine and delightful people and we are blessed to meet so many here.

We appreciate the opinions of real people, like those international business travellers we had recently or the couple in the wholesale licensed trade who serve restaurants, pubs and hotels across the whole West Country and who have vowed they'll be back soon, enjoying and relaxing with every element of their three-day stay, food and service.

You arrived grumpy, didn't even talk together in your group apparently, silent in your deliberations and during your meal and you were keener to complain about your voucher-buying experience at the end. You were 'e f f ing' about the Voucher company to my son - very refined behaviour and not what we encourage - had I known at the time I should have told you to behave, or asked you to leave. Perhaps next time you dine-out you need to resolve some of the other issues you have in your life first and then perhaps you'll better enjoy your experience - wherever else it might be but it won't be here.

Yours sincerely

Philip J Milton - Owner
Tyme Restaurant at Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Stopped for Afternoon tea. Telephoned prior to arriving and was advised that we could come along. Arrived within the hour, asked for an afternoon tea, was given a menu which didnt have it on there, waited whilst one was printed out. Were left in a lounge area which is quite dark and dated so asked if we could sit in the dining room as it overlooks such a pretty garden, the view is truly lovely. Tea and scones arrived- they dont look like they do in the picture. The cream wasnt clotted cream which was such a dissapointment being in Devon. They tasted lovely but the service, presentation and the cleanliness of the house could be improved. The staff were lovely, but were not dressed as if they were staff in a "manor". There was no atmosphere in the room we were in, there were 2 other people in the room sounded like they were in a business meeting, maybe some music to create an atmosphere would be nice? The raidiator by the table had cobwebs and dust near the floor, the table appeared to have been laid a few days before. The scones came out on a normal plate not tiered or presented nicely. We had a 50% off voucher so we paid £11.00 but i would have been really disappointed to have paid full price £22.00. Minor tweaks i feel would make a massive improvement to the overall experience and customer satisfaction.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank pookieljhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityControlNDevon, Owner at Tyme Restaurant at Trimstone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Poolieljhb

Thank you for your review though of course we were disappointed to learn of your dissatisfaction. We always welcome fair and constructive criticism however.

I do need to correct a couple of crucial things but before doing that, I wish to apologise for any part of the experience which was not as we intend it to be. You may wish to alter your comments to ensure the review is correct.

We offer a Devon Cream Tea (and I am sorry that the menus were not available as they should have been. However, these weren't really necessary anyway and the young lady could have said that, as the Cream Tea offering is the only option on demand within the voucher scheme you have). We do have a full traditional afternoon tea with cakes and sandwiches too at £17 each but that needs prior booking.

Our Devon cream tea is ALWAYS served with clotted cream! I can't even begin to imagine with what else one can be served! As far as images go, as the scones are homemade, they will, invariably, change from one to another and we can't guarantee exact replicas of photographs of course but despite that, you gave them a 'poor' rating and said they tasted lovely so that's rather unfair. Our charge is actually £5.50 per person which is a pot of tea and two scones. We are a Three Star Hotel and not a five star one for which I suppose if we charged the £19.50 we paid in Surrey for a cuppa and tea cake for two last week, then the accouterments and staff attire would be to match! However, trouble is, guests who sport vouchers avidly don't usually want to pay the higher price for the refinements either....

We have decorated and furnished the property in keeping with its Domesday mentioned heritage, we believe. I have been adding authentic local antiques and original art and it is a shame you didn't appreciate that. We don't think the lounge is 'dark' but appreciate your comments though it is where it is within our historic building, looking-out onto the Courtyard and Pond with its fountain, of course. We welcome guests to have their cream tea on the lawns if the weather allows - today the Golden Wedding Anniversary luncheon has started in the gardens with drinks - delightful.

The Restaurant is always dressed ready for evening guests usually, so it looks the part, though I sense from your comments that whatever we did we should never quite meet your overall expectations!

Background music should have been playing and I am sorry for that. We should gladly have rectified that immediately if it was off or the music track had stopped, had you mentioned it then.

As I say, I am sorry that for the £5.50 discounted price for cream tea for two experience disappointed you and apologise for any parts which were not as they should have been, such as the specific dust and cobweb near the floor you mentioned (though in the middle of the countryside webs can appear overnight too of course). However, I was going to offer some concession but from your unfair ranking (and a sadness about the inequitable nature of the whole TripAdvisor situation) and criticisms too, I feel that we are not quite 'your cup of tea' so shall decline to encourage a return visit. I shall have to allow other prospective guests to make their own opinions on our cream teas at £.5.50 in our beautiful surroundings as we're fortunate enough as to not be desperate for customers to enjoy what we have here!

Yours sincerely

Philip J Milton - Owner Tyme Restaurant at Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I and our 2 children visited this place last year. We came across it while driving and saw a sign advertising Sunday lunches, so we thought we'd have lunch there.
The service was poor. We were given a menu on arrival and asked what we wanted to drink. We got our drinks immediately. We waited 20 minutes before someone came back to take our order. As you can imagine with 2 young children they were getting restless just sitting doing nothing. When our food arrived we couldn't believe our eyes. It was the smallest portions we had ever seen. When we asked the waitress why the portions were so small, she pointed out that it was an a-la-carte menu. (Though there was no mention of this on the menu or the advertising flag on the main road).
We asked to see the manager but was told that he wasn't available.
We were given no condiments and had to ask for them.
All the time the waitress gave us no eye contact and didn't smile. She was a young girl and it looked as if she didn't want to be there. Again when we paid our bill, no eye contact from her, no thank you or anything. Very poor service. We left (hungry) . We paid £60.00 for this. Would not recommend this place, poor service, miserable staff.

11  Thank Yummymummsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityControlNDevon, Owner at Tyme Restaurant at Trimstone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Unfortunately there is something fishy about this 'review'.

We have been closed to casual full restaurant Sunday lunches for about three years now, only offering them either to bookings of 8 or more or for special occasions like Mother's Day. The 'advertising flags' (banners) to which this person refers were removed subsequent to that decision.

TripAdvisor demands that a review is posted within twelve months of the experience and by the person whose account it is - this seems to be the husband of the account holder who has posted that it is genuine.

We are not sure the experience either happened at all or at our establishment where we receive accolades regularly for cheery and friendly service, as our guest Book attests. However, up till recently, for quite some time anyway, the staff were all 'mature' apart from our own children who are either with us at Church on Sundays or else aren't needed for lunch as we don't do casual Sunday lunches.

Portion sizes? If anything, the regular 'complaint' is that they are too large, not too small! The menu even says that if guests want more vegetables, for example, just to ask for them.

We have never run an 'a la carte' menu - it is 'table d'hote' and the selections change every day - even then, the menu type doesn't automatically signify a portion size! They would have seen this menu and this is from where they would have ordered.

I have no recollection of these people at all, either personally or referred to me by the staff when there might be an issue and neither do any of the staff. Sadly we have to conclude that they are either bogus as guests at all, that they may have forgotten the venue they visited as they have only just opened the TripAdvisor account or else the visit was a very long time ago and they are regurgitating some previous experience or complaint perhaps but in which case the review is clearly outside of TripAdvisor's time guidelines too. I am sure they would be able to provide some evidence of the visit to North Devon and our Restaurant as they hail from Blackpool and apparently in 2013 their holiday was in Bude.

By the TripAdvisor reviews left by them, it is entertaining to note too that these people think that visiting a leisure business in Bude and using its facilities for their children is expensive at only £1.50 each so that consequently it deserves a 'terrible' review - this is not within the guidelines and integrity of the site and unfairly defames that Bude business.

It is disappointing when this sort of thing happens and the site's integrity is impugned as a consequence.

Yours faithfully

Philip J Milton - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tyme Restaurant at Trimstone Manor also viewed

West Down, Ilfracombe
Ilfracombe, Devon
 
Ilfracombe, Devon
Ilfracombe, Devon
 
Ilfracombe, Devon
Ilfracombe, Devon
 

Been to Tyme Restaurant at Trimstone Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing