We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will Recommend!”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Will Recommend!”
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We were greeted on arrival by the manager & check in was very efficient. The room was very clean with what seemed like a new en-suite (?) + fresh towels left if you put the old ones in the bath/shower. The food was hot, tasty & plentiful and the restaurant service was second to non. Reception were always very helpful and obliging with Emily being a walking, talking bus timetable! I would recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone - well done to the management & staff!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 462silversurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    102
    40
    10
    16
See reviews for
29
136
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

First time travelling with Alfa & last after appalling coach journey BOTH ways. our sea view room was roomy but everything about the decor was so tired with flaky wall paper & curtains hanging off the rails the bed sheets were clean but the cover had dried blood on it UGH ! so it stayed on the floor,nice shower but as the door didn't fit the floor also had a nice soak.The meals were served hot but they were uninspiring our waitress Oksana was a delight so friendly & helpful. I would advise anyone not to waste money on ordering a packed lunch for your return journey as the bread used for ours was so stale I thought it was actually toast! On conclusion this is definitely a take it or leave it hotel I would opt for the latter.

Room Tip: Opt for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Foxy53Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
I am surprised to hear that you were disappointed with the hotel as the questionnaire you filled in at the hotel was very complimentary, with you scoring the housekeeping and room standard as good and the food as very good; the only thing that you mentioned was that the journey to the resort was poor and that the T.V. service needs upgrading (which has now been completed). The en-suite was upgraded in 2011 and the bath screen fits perfectly. Instead of leaving the bedspread on the floor (suggesting that you didn’t want it on the bed as you were too hot) you should have reported it to reception and a new bedspread would have been provided. This is a lovely sea view room and is occupied every week with no complaints. I am sorry that you were disappointed on this occasion. I understand that you rang the Manager of the hotel several times about the sandwiches provided, These were prepared with fresh bread so I am surprised you found the bread to be stale. The packed lunches are always very popular because for £3.75 you can have a very well filled sandwich with a packet of crisps, a packet of biscuits, a bottle of water and a choice of fruit, muffin or Chunky Kit Kat. You would pay that just for a sandwich at the motorway services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Cannot say enough how good this hotel is. Meals were always served quickly and piping hot, and as soon as you were finished, the plates were cleared for your next course. Waiter never got any orders wrong even though the four people at our table never ordered the same meal twice. Nightly entertainment was always enjoyable. Would definately consider returning as a regular trip as this holiday was part of a coach tour. Only reason I gave 4 stars and not 5 is the TV in the bedroom as an old style big box TV which surprised me as I assumed it would be a flat screen TV with a freeview box.

Room Tip: Try and book a room at the front of the hotel as the views are worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Suzukibandit650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We stayed at the Imperial for Jubilee weekend. The staff were excellent. The room was clean and tidy. The bathroom appeared to be brand new. Breakfast was served quickly and with a smile. I cannot stress enough how great the staff were at the Imperial. Great value for the money.

Room Tip: If driving, make sure to ask when you book to reserve a spot to park your car. Also, ask for a sea v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We stayed from Sunday 20th May for 6 nights half board.. When the coach arrived all cases were taken off the coach and quickly arrived at our rooms. There was no extensive queue .to pick up room keys. The room we had was small, but very clean, and the shower/toilet beautifully .tiled. When we arrived for dinner we were served quickly and in a friendly way. There was no-one waiting unduly long for food. Our waitress was Laura, and she did not stop working throughout dinner. All meals went smoothly, and never took longer than about an hour for all courses including coffee. The bar was serviced by a Romanian girl called Anca, who would even bring your drinks over to where we were sitting. Our room was beatifully cleaned every day. Staff at reception worked hard. All staff commented on how much they liked their jobs, how good the management was, and how well they got on with eachother.
The food was plentiful, but sometimes not as appetising as it might have been, but overall very edible. The entertainment was fine. The TV in our room was something out of the ark, with no remote, and a screen the size of a postage stamp. The location of the hotel in Ilfracombe is central and close to everything.
Overall a very pleasant hoilday!!!!!
Julian and Sheryl

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a flat-sceen TV
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Julian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
327 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

I travelled with Alfa to the Imperial for a short break this May. The hotel is nicely situated near the promenade and opposite the theatre. I had a single room and it was quite small but very clean with a nice bathroom, the view was of other rooms and nearby flats so not very inspiring but I didn't spend a lot of time looking at it!

On the negative side. the rooms are a little tired and could do with a coat of light paint to make them seem bigger and brighter and the bedding needs updating, who uses blankets these days. However those are small 'gripes', overall I had a great stay.

The staff were absolutely excellent, the manager and everyone on reception always had a friendly greeting whenever I passed by, the staff in the dining room were lovely, polite, professional and cheerful. I was seated at a table with 4 other single travelers and that was so much nicer than being seated with a couple (as has always happened before) and feeling an intruder. We all hit it off and became friends over our stay, I hope they enjoyed my company as much as I enjoyed theirs - well done Imperial staff for paying so much attention to seating people.

The entertainment was what you would expect for this sort of trip and it was pleasant enough although not totally to my taste. There is plenty of room to sit in the lounge and bar with lots of comfortable chairs and sofas. The food was fine, nothing spectacular but all very edible, hot and well cooked with a good choice and generous portions. Daily newspapers are available from reception.

All in all I would go to the Imperial again and I would recommend it to anyone traveling to Ilfracombe.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter, sea view rooms are at the front by the road and in some rooms (so oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank shropshiretraveller9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Excellent, friendly and helpful staff. Really enjoyed our stay. Clean & tidy rooms. Good breakfast.

Room Tip: Had a seaview room. Really spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.2 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
669 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
207 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ilfracombe
262 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: Wilder Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9AL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imperial Hotel - Ilfracombe [3 Alpha & AA Three Star]. Situated in one of the best positions in Ilfracombe, overlooking Wildersmouth beach, and the splendid Landmark Theatre and Conference Centre, close to the High Street and only a short almost level walk from the harbour. 104 rooms with central heating and bath or shower and WC. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, internal phone, hair dryer and TV. There is a large restaurant, bar, comfortable lounge and dance floor where entertainment is provided most evenings. Lift to all floors (stairs to some rooms on split level floors). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing