We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot of room for improvement!!”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A lot of room for improvement!!”
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Reception were very friendly, polite and helpful. Parking was free if you reserve a space which was rather handy. The hotel is very well placed on the sea front and close to pubs, food and an amusement arcade. Unfortunately, no information was passed on when the doors were locked at night which left my fiancée and I left in the cold and wind until the night porter came to open the door. The room, extraordinarily, smelt of pickle, which no matter what you did, would not leave. The room heated at an extraordinary rate and opening the window did nothing to help as there was a very loud generator somewhere nearby that was on 24/7. This resulted in a night of over heating or sleeplessness due to head splitting noise. Breakfast is strictly regimented between 8 and 9am. You will be shown to your pre-designated table and offered a menu. This widely consisted of food designed for the 'older' stomach and there for you end up with more plate than food, which will come out mostly cold as its all cooked early in the morning ready for quick service. A lot of the starters seem to be off the shelf, basic tinned fruit and your toast will probably be cold. All in all this hotel seems to have been invaded by the cast of Dads Army who will look at you as if you have just told the Queen to 'do one'. Overall 2/10.

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel unless your over 90.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BoiJenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    105
    40
    11
    16
See reviews for
29
138
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

This hotel is the most welcoming and friendly hotel my wife and myself have stayed in. We have been coming for the last six years and have always had a fantastic time. Ingo the manager and the reception personnel and every one of the rest of the staff cant do enough to make your stay a memorable one. We wait with anticipation until our next visit.

Room Tip: sea view worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eqwadfd2631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We have just returned from the Imperial, and we were very impressed. The moment you walked through the door to be met by the beaming smiles of Ingo the manager, and his reception staff, right through too the dining room staff, who are mostly Eastern European, and very highly trained and efficient.
We found the hotel very clean, and the rooms were spotless.
The food was on occasions not very hot, but was well cooked and enjoyable.
We always pay a bit extra for a sea view, and in this hotel is well worth it.
On the down side, the television channels are very restricted, as the hotel is still working analogue sets, and the free wifi is very hit or miss.
Would I come back to this hotel, yes. But we still have a lot more Alfa destinations to see first.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must, but the hotel is north facing, sun early morning and late evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedale
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

This hotel offers and delivers a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere and good private well equipped bed rooms.I took a party of some forty nine travellers here with David Urquhart Travel and all of my party said how much they had enjoyed their stay.Perhaps it was the clean rooms ,good food,and it WAS good food with choices,served by most helpful and polite staff,and some great evening entertainment.If you want only "posh" find it. But if you are happy with good old fashioned service and a lot of fun then you will find it at The Imperial.It is well worth organising a group visit ,you will be surprised at the value and the "Can't do enough for you attitude of all the staff here." I have been organising coach holidays for some thirteen years for members of our churches and I reckon this hotel is one of the best.

Room Tip: A sea view is worth considering
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samcatBedale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

I came to stay here as a get away break with my family but ended up going home early due to it being absolutely awful. Very dated hotel with horrible smell. Shower leaked, radiators were wired up with masking tape, wallpaper falling off and hair in the bed. The hotel made our break ruined and would not recommend to anyone. Quite good location due to it being close but no on site parking so had to pay every 4 hours. If you have a choice, I do not recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Westandfry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

The imperial is one of Alfa coaches Leisureplex hotels and very much standardised to the coach firm's requirements. On the one hand the coach trips are very well organised and comfortable with plenty of stops on the way and excursions once in resort. The hotel itself although in need of some refurbishment and redecoration, is very clean and comfortable, right on the seafront, offers some entertainment most nights and the staff are very pleasant and efficient, especially in the dining room. Our room was very dark and poky with scarcely any natural light, but that is due to the building backing onto the cliffside. The meals served are standard fare, mostly roasts, fish and salads but there is a good choice and an excellent choice of vegetarian options if you order them in advance. Breakfast also has plenty of choices. The only criticism I had is that everything is so well organised, at times it felt a bit like being in the army, having to be down for breakfast at 8 am and again at 6pm on the dot for dinner. I appreciate that this enables the dining room to be run like clockwork with staggered sittings to cope with separate coach parties but it did feel institutionalised However, the service and the waiting on staff cannot be faulted. Entertainment is fairly typical, bingo, quizzes and a singer of some sort. During low season guests also receive vouchers for free drinks, lunches and also afternoon tea on days in resort.
The clientele were mostly quite elderly so don't expect high night life, especially at this time of year. However, there are some interesting bars in the town which is only five minutes walk (although very hilly). Best night out was open mic at the Chill Bar which has entertainment nearly every night.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back facing the cliff are very dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skemjazzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent u.k.
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

I've just returned from a five day break with Alfa to this Hotel. I had a great time including meeting some lovely people from a Church group travelling on the same tour (special mention to Gillian )
The trip down was very comfortable and we were kept informed by Ray the driver on all the interesting points along the way.We were warmly welcomed at the Hotel and our bags were transported to our rooms.My room was a small single but perfectly adequate for my stay and ,most importantly, very clean.Also the bedrooms were lovely and warm which was important as the weather was very cold.The meals were very good as is usual with a Leisureplex hotel with plenty of choice and good portions.In the evening there was bingo and entertainment or you could sit in the comfortable lounge and watch the world go by through the large windows. The hotel is very central just a short walk from the harbour and near the High Street. You can also get a bus from along the road which goes to Westward Ho and there is also I believe a service to Woolacombe.The staff were friendly and helpful and I would reccommend this hotel for a comfortable holiday.

Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Andysgirl49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.2 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
684 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#17 of 20 in Ilfracombe
335 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
372 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#6 of 20 in Ilfracombe
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: Wilder Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9AL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imperial Hotel - Ilfracombe [3 Alpha & AA Three Star]. Situated in one of the best positions in Ilfracombe, overlooking Wildersmouth beach, and the splendid Landmark Theatre and Conference Centre, close to the High Street and only a short almost level walk from the harbour. 104 rooms with central heating and bath or shower and WC. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, internal phone, hair dryer and TV. There is a large restaurant, bar, comfortable lounge and dance floor where entertainment is provided most evenings. Lift to all floors (stairs to some rooms on split level floors). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing