We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We went to the Imperial Hotel on a 5 day/4 night Alfa coach holiday. What cracking value. The hotel is undoubtedly dated and could use a refresh, but it’s what you expect on a coach holiday and it’s clean and well serviced, the staff are excellent, but best of all was the food. Each day we had excellent choice, 2 mains on the menu, plus salads, vegetarian, and a Chef’s special. Breakfast was excellent too with many choices, and the waiting staff (mainly Eastern European) are absolutely superb. The hotel is well situated, being right on the promenade facing the Landmark theatre, and only 5 mins walk from the harbour. Alfa coaches had a slick process at Burtonwood for transferring you and luggage from the feeder coaches to your destination coach. All in all, no complaints and for value, can highly recommend it. We paid less than £200 each for 5 days accommodation BB and EM, with two full day trips, and all transport.

Room Tip: Pretty obvious but sea view rooms are noisy'ish with traffic and seagulls!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mick_Butler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
There are newer reviews for Imperial Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

Just back from a week at the Imperial with Alfa travel and what a fantastic week it was , this was our first coach holiday in the Uk but if this is anything to go by it wont be our last , big thanks to Andy our coach driver and Ingo the hotel manager and all his fantastic staff who could not do enough for you , could not find fault with this hotel for the price we paid ,great location ,great food , great service from reception to the restuarant and the bar, rooms were comfortable, entertainment was on most nights and was very good,thanks again and we will be back hopefully next year

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I am new to all of this, but I wanted to let everyone know just how good this hotel is! I have travelled with Alfa before and stayed in their hotels, but the Imperial is the best (up to now). The rooms were lovely and comfortable, spotlessly clean and the shower was probably the most powerful I have ever had. The restaurant staff are so friendly and efficient and the food is fantastic - you have to try the cheesecake as it is delightful! The breakfasts were also good with 'lighter' options for those that can't eat a cooked breakfast every day for 6 days.

The Hotel is in a perfect location and there is plenty to see nearby. We were spoilt with the weather and managed to book a boat trip which I would recommend. We booked it at the tourist information centre which is just opposite the hotel (underneath the plant pots). The bus stop is just up the road from the hotel with buses roughly every hour to Woolacombe and at least 2 an hour to Barnstaple (for the wife's shopping trips)

I don't know how they do it for the price, but I will be coming again next year!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jdsmithy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

my partner and i stayed at the imperial hotel Ilfracombe in July this year, we have stayed with the Alfa travel company on a number of occasions now but this i am afraid to say was at the bottom of the list compared to our previous vacations. All the Alfa hotels are very similar in style and offerings, but i think that our party caught this one on a bad week. although the staff were friendly and the hotel was clean our main complaint was the food offerings, yes i know the imperial hotel is only two "stars" but really it makes no difference how many "stars" a hotel has because a bad meal is a bad meal. We do not expect a la carte food, we do expect edible food. maybe the chef was on holiday ?. for any future visitors i hope this was the case. One bad example was the sunday roast, oh my goodness it was not good at all

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank alison p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

The hotel was very nice but the view of the buildings across the road wasn't very nice scenery, the walk down to the harbour was nice and quite a few lovely shops to visit, I especially liked the bakers shop just a few doors away from the hotel. I found Ilfracome to be very hilly but the easiest way for a disabled or elderly person is to get a taxi from the hotel to the main street walk the street then come down the hill part. The staff at the hotel were all very good, and the rooms were a bit small but clean. Hotel could do with a re furbish.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margh24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Hotel is in a lovely location, just across the road from a very picturesque rocky bay.The hotel itself is an old Victorian hotel, with a welcoming atmosphere, and very helpful friendly staff, especially the staff on reception.Our room was a seaview, very large, plainly furnished, but comfortable, we were happy with it. the dining room was a disapointment as it was a large room with very few windows, and appeared dreary.The reason I couldnt give the hotel a higher rating was the food,this was at best average, and sometimes not very edible, although some meals were quite nice.We did enjoy our holiday here in spite of our problems with the food,and I do realise that if you want 5 star you need to pay 5 star prices.One thing which was very good was the cleanliness of the whole hotel,everywhere was very clean, it couldnt be faulted.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview ,it is well worth the extra.Room 203 is very good.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Delilah160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

This hotel is part of the Leisureplex group and is the fourth one that we have stayed at this year. We were not disappointed as the service and facilities matched the others. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The food was very good with daily specials as well as the regular menu. The meals were hot and the portions quite ample. Although we did not partake there was bingo and entertainment provided most evenings. The hotel is handily placed facing the sea and the theatre. The town centre shops are very close though these are up a short but steep climb. The harbour is quite close and ideal for a short walk either after dinner or before breakfast. Would have no hesitation in returning.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ripley054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.2 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
437 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#9 of 20 in Ilfracombe
214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
441 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#17 of 20 in Ilfracombe
341 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Address: Wilder Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9AL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ilfracombe
Price Range: £50 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imperial Hotel - Ilfracombe [3 Alpha & AA Three Star]. Situated in one of the best positions in Ilfracombe, overlooking Wildersmouth beach, and the splendid Landmark Theatre and Conference Centre, close to the High Street and only a short almost level walk from the harbour. 104 rooms with central heating and bath or shower and WC. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, internal phone, hair dryer and TV. There is a large restaurant, bar, comfortable lounge and dance floor where entertainment is provided most evenings. Lift to all floors (stairs to some rooms on split level floors). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing