We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfactory and friendly staff”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Harleston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Satisfactory and friendly staff”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed as a family with two young children (9 & 6) in adjoining rooms over a weekend.

We had a good experience with friendly staff and clean comfortable rooms. Sitting out the front watching the sun go down as Ilfracombe life went past was very pleasant indeed ! It was a hot night and the front desk only had one fan left when we asked so ask early if it looks like being a warm night as the rooms (4th floor) were hot.

There was a coach load of senior citizens who arrived that day and there were some complaints about luggage taking a long time to get to their rooms, but it was a big group so to be expected I'd say.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    103
    40
    11
    16
See reviews for
29
138
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I returned yesterday from a 7 day break with Alfa travel. I found the Imperial Hotel very satisfactory. The food was very good indeed, no buffet breakfast but very fast waiter service. My room was a single one, it was very small but adequate for 6 nights. Entertainment most evenings was enjoyable. My one complaint is this must be one of the few hotels I have ever stayed at where you can't get an alcoholic drink until 5.30 pm !!!! How odd is that ? People were having to leave the hotel to go to a rather grotty pub two doors down to get a drink in the afternoon. Apart from this I liked it very much

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Graham403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheerness
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

we travelled to the Imperial Hotel with the coach company Alfa. The manager welcomed us in a pleasant manner and the staff were friendly and efficient. The waiters in the dining room were very quick and the food adequate. The rooms were very warm and clean if a bit creaky but that is to be expected. The evening entertainment was on the whole enjoyable. The packed lunch was very good and worth the money.

Room Tip: the rooms were allocated to us so I have no opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights with my husband.The hotel was in a great location. Staff were friendly . Our room was adequate for our needs. This hotel caters for the older generations lots of coach companys come here but it wasnt a problem for us.
There nightly entertainment was rubbish to be fair.
BREAKFAST was lovely we had allocated table where the staff waited on us

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacqui M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel as part of a coach trip. The manager came onto the coach to welcome us which was a nice touch. The hotel is a little tired but is very clean. The staff are excellent and nothing is too much trouble. Food is excellent and there is a lot of it and a good variety. There is some entertainment in the evening which isn't to my taste but most people seemed to enjoy it. All in all I found if excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cathm654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Travelled with Alfa this Easter to this hotel. Just have to say the staff, food and the hotel in general far exceeded my expectations. As a single traveller I usually find rooms very small, but my room here was very well appointed, plenty of room to get about, clean and had a very good bathroom with power shower. I was half board and must say the food was wonderful, plenty of choice, served hot and very good portions. I have to congratulate the manager for his hands on approach and all the staff were friendly, quick and efficient. The hotel is situated across the road from the Landmark theatre and a level walk to the harbour where you can enjoy lovely boat trips. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay and even though I am in my early fifties and not retired I enjoyed the company of many mature retired people. The hotel is a credit to the Leisureplex group.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KentSharon02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Just returned from a New Year break at the Imperial Hotel in Ilfracombe Devon, A lovely location right on the front with easy walking distance to the harbour and town. It can be hilly in parts but to the harbour is flat so easy for people with walking difficulties. The hotel has excellent staff very friendly and helpful and the manager is a bonus and an asset to the place, he works very hard and is always around to help. The food is only ok in my opinion some meals left a lot tobe desired. The rooms were very clean and looked after some of the public places needed up dateing but on the whole very well looked after and managed. The entertainment was brilliant each night. It is worth a visit to such a lovely part of England just don't expect 5 star but deserves it's 2 star status. We had a good time and would certainly go back to IIlfracombe.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.2 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
393 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ilfracombe
673 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
363 reviews
0.8 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
419 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#6 of 20 in Ilfracombe
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: Wilder Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9AL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imperial Hotel - Ilfracombe [3 Alpha & AA Three Star]. Situated in one of the best positions in Ilfracombe, overlooking Wildersmouth beach, and the splendid Landmark Theatre and Conference Centre, close to the High Street and only a short almost level walk from the harbour. 104 rooms with central heating and bath or shower and WC. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, internal phone, hair dryer and TV. There is a large restaurant, bar, comfortable lounge and dance floor where entertainment is provided most evenings. Lift to all floors (stairs to some rooms on split level floors). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing