We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dilkhusa hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
uk
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“dilkhusa hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

just returned from a 5 day break at the Dilkhusa, a nice hotel, some rooms have been refurbished but not all. they only have one old fashioned lift, which needs replacing as it only holds 4 people, my disabled friend had to struggle down 3 flights of stairs which is not good. rooms are cleaned daily with fresh towels, lots of hot water for the shower, the dining room is very short staffed, only 2 waiters to serve about 50 people,we were getting very angry as we had to wait a long time to be served,some days over an hour for breakfast!its in a good location close to the sea front and a steep walk uphill to the high street, not really a good location if you are unfit.Lots to do in the area,Barnstable with the old panniers market.plenty shops there.on the whole it was good value for money

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vicki06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    261
    133
    42
    29
See reviews for
68
372
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

My wife and I in our mid50s really enjoyed our break in this hotel.When I found it on the web site I couldn't believe what I was paying for, value for money would be an understatement.This is an old hotel but the rooms are clean and adequate, the bed was comfortable. The food i.e. breakfast and evening meal was very good you wont go hungry. The staff are superb they really enjoy looking after you.They enjoy what they do how refreshing to see.The evening entertainment is very good after the obligatory bingo.If you like a drink as we do there's not much of a queue. I here simon Cain has left, shame a great host and a talented singer. Even so there was a girl called Rebecca Somers which was very entertaining.The hotel is a good location for walking to see the sights. We drove there, the hotel parking allows for only a dozen cars but this is not a problem as the reception pointed us to a car park close by a lidl store quite safe and inexpensive. Its quite easy, read my review look at the cost, and book, you will enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank daves34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

I stayed at the Dilkhusa with Four friends From 24th October for 4 nights. I was a little worried at first after reading some of the reviews on here.
I have come to the conclution some people moan for the sake of it, yes i agree the rooms could do with a coat of paint and some TLC.
But they certainly not dirty as some have said.
I fail to see what more you can ask of this hotel.we were greeted by Matt Smith-- (NO not DR Who he must have heard that a dozen times) he was friendly and helpfull throughout our holiday. Silvia our waiteress was brill and so was Our room Cleaner Jackie.
The Food was good together with free drinks in the evening with good entertainment You cannot ask for more for your money.

Room Tip: Rooms on Third floor have good spacious bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

If you are looking for a cheap and cheerful holiday that is excellent value for value with friendly, customer service then Dilkhusa will be good for you. If you want pristine squeaky clean , brand new state of the art rooms, then, sorry but you just don't get that for this kind of money. Dilkhusa is excellent value for money and it was my first time stay at the hotel and the resort-it exceeded my expectations. My room was good and spacious enough, power shower always hot water, bed not the comfiest, bit of traffic noise, squeaks and bumps of an old building in the night, yes, but the room was more than adequate,got clean towels and tidied daily. Hotel is ideally located, lots of stuff to do nearby, busses right outside , great pub down by the harbour-The Ship and Pilot down by the harbour.
I thought the food was delicious, substantial and generous portions -always hot and again real value for money. Sara was always so cheerful and pleasant and despite being very, very busy always found time for a chat and a bit of banter. Simon , who, unfortunately has now left the hotel, will be sadly missed . He is a very talented entertainer, excellent singer and so funny on the bingo and the jokes, an all round star, the audience just loved him and his naughty humour! Everyone at the hotel works hard to give the guests a good holiday. The bar staff and the reception are so pleasant and helpful as is everyone in the hotel. It makes for a really comfortable, warm , friendly, relaxed place to stay. I would definitely return as the customer service is the best and most genuine I have ever experienced. Our coach driver Andrew was very pleasant and professional and patient and skilled on some difficult routes. Thanks Dilkhusa and Shearings for a briliant holiday. Don't hesitate to book but don't go expecting 4 star , have a giigle and go with the flow and you'll have a brilliant holiday at the Dilkhusa .

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

We have undertaken a number of holidays with Shearings and comparing the cost would say due to a hefty discount this time it represented what we had paid. Had we have paid the full cost I would have been very disappointed with this holiday.
To explain we went by coach. The journey and driver were 1st Class. Andy made the week with his excellent commentary and his pleaseant attitude to all. The included trips on the West Somerset steam railway, Quince Honey farm, Arlington Court were excellent. The half day trip to Barnstaple was good for those that like shopping and optional half day trip to Watermouth castle excellent value.
As I have said we have stayed at this hotel on several occasions even returning with family and friends. This stay did not live up to the experience we have previously had.
The hotel looks rather dated and in need of a refurb. Not much has changed since we last visited 7 or 8 years ago. Our room was the worst we have stayed in here. Dust was evident along skirting boards, on the TV, bedside lamp and in the bathroom. Although it was on the first floor as requested, we did not expect the kitchen extractor placed underneath our window starting at 6am (we had a 4 year old with us).Our room was dark and lacked natural light. The only evidence of a maid service was the quilt being thrown over the bed and towels folded in the bathroom. No dusting or hoovering took place during our weeks stay that we witnessed.
The sink in the bathroom was positioned so low you had to stoop to use it and it was so small
we had trouble filling the kettle. As you filled it you had to manouever it out of the sink as you lost half of the contents.
Our other room next door was the same. The bathroom was so dirty and black mildue was over the shower which appeared to have been caused due to a possible previous leak overhead. The housekkeper did clean the shower and said she would report the condition of the ceiling to maintenance. Nothing changed during the week.
The staff on reception were very pleseant as was the bar and restaurant staff. All were happy to assist or make you stay a good one.
The entertainment was repetative and not as good as previous visits. 3 days consisted of the same old westlife songs and same jokes as new people arrived at the hotel.
The food quality was ok for breakfast, but needed a lot to be desired for the evening meal.
Having said the above, we did enjoy our stay. Shearings need to spend some money upgrading and cleaning the hotel.
We have stayed in a number of other hotels with them, which have generally been excellent value for money.
This holiday is what I would call a budget holiday.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tempo1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

Excellent value for money for a short break. We spent four days here recently for a long weekend break with friends. None of us had any complaints. My husband is disabled and help and facilities at this hotel were good. Top marks to the friendly , helpful staff. The manager, and bar staff all A1.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrissieM186342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

Run by Shearings, we went by car, very little parking yet most of people staying that week came by car NOT coach. If we wanted to go to a public parking it was a long walk away and very expensive. Have been to 2 other Shearings Hotel (Bournemouth and Scarborough) and been quite pleased at the economical price for full inclusive stay etc. Decided to stay 7 days this time, wished we had not. I know the weather was not too good despite it being first week in September, but the hotel was dirty, unkempt and the dinner meals were disgusting. We had a lovely Spanish waitress who was very apologetic but she was obviously embarrased about the meals. Entertainment was Ok if you like bingo for over 2 hours every night. Comedian was not funny, singer could not sing. Need I go on. We came home after 5 days and left to travel back overnight as it would be quicker. Coffee bar rarely open in the day so had to go out every day for coffee and found some lovely places to have cream teas. This hotel either needs a serious reburb or even better knock it down.

Room Tip: Do not go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.1 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.9 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel

Property: Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Address: Wilder Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9AH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the level seafront of this hugely popular Victorian seaside resort stands the welcoming Dilkhusa Grand Hotel. The hotel was originally a private house, bought by a Raj at the turn of the last century as a gift to his wife - Dilkhusa translates from Hindustani roughly as ‘House of the Happy Heart!’ The hotel overlooks the picturesque Runnymede gardens and is close to the Landmark theatre which attracts many national acts. It is also just a short walk from the bustling 10th-century harbour where Britain’s most famous living artist, Damien Hirst, owns a restaurant. The Dilkhusa has a well-appointed restaurant combining excellent hospitality and service. A spacious and comfortable entertainments suite provides the ideal setting in which to sit back and enjoy the acts at this friendly and sociable hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing