We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (793)
Filter reviews
793 results
Traveller rating
211
328
164
51
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
211
328
164
51
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnational holidaysfree drinksshearings hotelsshearings holidayself drivestair liftcoach driverthird floorweekend breaksmall liftevening mealper dayrestaurant staffupgraded roomentertainment roommeal timesbuffet breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
715 - 720 of 793 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2011

just returned from a weekend at this not so grand hotel needs updating .breakfast was fine exept for the cold toast only toasted on one side evening meal was just about passable small portions the pork was frozen slices mostly fat best part of the meal was the cheese and biscuits .ime 61 and my hubby 62 and we both agree that the entertaiment needs to come into the 21st century listening to LAND OF HOPE AND GLORY is a bit much .bedrooms were ok cleaning could be better STAFF were excellent credit to their jobs well done

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SMITHS618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

just returned from a 5 day break at the Dilkhusa, a nice hotel, some rooms have been refurbished but not all. they only have one old fashioned lift, which needs replacing as it only holds 4 people, my disabled friend had to struggle down 3 flights of stairs which is not good. rooms are cleaned daily with fresh towels, lots of hot water for the shower, the dining room is very short staffed, only 2 waiters to serve about 50 people,we were getting very angry as we had to wait a long time to be served,some days over an hour for breakfast!its in a good location close to the sea front and a steep walk uphill to the high street, not really a good location if you are unfit.Lots to do in the area,Barnstable with the old panniers market.plenty shops there.on the whole it was good value for money

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vicki06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

My wife and I in our mid50s really enjoyed our break in this hotel.When I found it on the web site I couldn't believe what I was paying for, value for money would be an understatement.This is an old hotel but the rooms are clean and adequate, the bed was comfortable. The food i.e. breakfast and evening meal was very good you wont go hungry. The staff are superb they really enjoy looking after you.They enjoy what they do how refreshing to see.The evening entertainment is very good after the obligatory bingo.If you like a drink as we do there's not much of a queue. I here simon Cain has left, shame a great host and a talented singer. Even so there was a girl called Rebecca Somers which was very entertaining.The hotel is a good location for walking to see the sights. We drove there, the hotel parking allows for only a dozen cars but this is not a problem as the reception pointed us to a car park close by a lidl store quite safe and inexpensive. Its quite easy, read my review look at the cost, and book, you will enjoy.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank daves34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

I stayed at the Dilkhusa with Four friends From 24th October for 4 nights. I was a little worried at first after reading some of the reviews on here.
I have come to the conclution some people moan for the sake of it, yes i agree the rooms could do with a coat of paint and some TLC.
But they certainly not dirty as some have said.
I fail to see what more you can ask of this hotel.we were greeted by Matt Smith-- (NO not DR Who he must have heard that a dozen times) he was friendly and helpfull throughout our holiday. Silvia our waiteress was brill and so was Our room Cleaner Jackie.
The Food was good together with free drinks in the evening with good entertainment You cannot ask for more for your money.

Room Tip: Rooms on Third floor have good spacious bathrooms
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

If you are looking for a cheap and cheerful holiday that is excellent value for value with friendly, customer service then Dilkhusa will be good for you. If you want pristine squeaky clean , brand new state of the art rooms, then, sorry but you just don't get that for this kind of money. Dilkhusa is excellent value for money and it was my first time stay at the hotel and the resort-it exceeded my expectations. My room was good and spacious enough, power shower always hot water, bed not the comfiest, bit of traffic noise, squeaks and bumps of an old building in the night, yes, but the room was more than adequate,got clean towels and tidied daily. Hotel is ideally located, lots of stuff to do nearby, busses right outside , great pub down by the harbour-The Ship and Pilot down by the harbour.
I thought the food was delicious, substantial and generous portions -always hot and again real value for money. Sara was always so cheerful and pleasant and despite being very, very busy always found time for a chat and a bit of banter. Simon , who, unfortunately has now left the hotel, will be sadly missed . He is a very talented entertainer, excellent singer and so funny on the bingo and the jokes, an all round star, the audience just loved him and his naughty humour! Everyone at the hotel works hard to give the guests a good holiday. The bar staff and the reception are so pleasant and helpful as is everyone in the hotel. It makes for a really comfortable, warm , friendly, relaxed place to stay. I would definitely return as the customer service is the best and most genuine I have ever experienced. Our coach driver Andrew was very pleasant and professional and patient and skilled on some difficult routes. Thanks Dilkhusa and Shearings for a briliant holiday. Don't hesitate to book but don't go expecting 4 star , have a giigle and go with the flow and you'll have a brilliant holiday at the Dilkhusa .

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews