We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (820)
Filter reviews
820 results
Traveller rating
219
339
170
51
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
219
339
170
51
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews national holidays free drinks shearings hotels shearings holiday self drive stair lift included trips coach driver evening meal third floor per day small lift weekend break upgraded room restaurant staff meal times entertainment room
Filter
Updating list...
735 - 740 of 820 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Just returned from a five day break with Shearings and could not fault the holiday at all. The Hotel was in a good position, and when we arrived the Receptionist had everything organised so there was no long queue waiting for room keys. The room was large and clean with an extra heater provided which we did not need as the room was warm enough.The dining room staff were excellent especially Lisa who served us she was always bright and cheerful. The evening entertainment was very good, especially the comedians and the resident compere. All in all a very enjoyable holiday and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank norma20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

we are seasoned shearings travellers and know what to expect, the decor in the rooms are a bit tired but we could not fault anything else, first class service in the bar and restaurant a good choice at meal times, some great entertainment and a free bar for three hours nightly and all for a very reasonable price. we have been to many bay hotels and can highly recommend them you will not beat them for overall quality and price.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank margaret b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

we went to the dilkhusa on the 21st nov 2011 for a five day trip with shearings, the cost ?
£111 p.p and an inclusive bar for three hours each evening
the rooms, food and attitude of the staff couldnt be faulted they were spot on with everything.
if we had a complaint, the optional trips by coach, we declined as we didnt think they were value for money for a half day trip and we did our own thing.
there was eight in our party and came home with no complaints and all felt we had a really
grand time and would return

Room Tip: you pays your money and takes your chance, this is 2nd visit for us and room always good however the front facing room seem to have more room. it was a place to sleep for us and views didnt matter
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank stanlpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

It was a 5 day coach holiday with Shearings. The food, bedroom accomodation, staff, etc were all very good but If you want entertainment this is the hotel to go to. JJ Wilde and Stevie G and the other featured on this short visit, were first class. I have noticed that recently entertainment is not so well featured and thought Shearings were trying to phase it out. But this does not seem to be so, thank goodness. The ballroom is reasonably large and it was filled to capacity every evening. The tours were good. The driver was very informative. Ilfracombe itself could do with an uplift, but the area that the hotel is in is very nice. All in all a

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Had a good stay here .Rooms were a bit tired but spotlessly clean food good, all inclusive bar was a pleasant suprise only branded drinks and fast service no waiting which often happens when hotel not taking cash We would return to this hotel again

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank melbishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews