We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“martin-great-time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Just returned from a great time at the dilkhusa hotel great food very friendly staff a special mention must go to Gary behind the bar who made our stay well worth it and also our waitress INGA who does an exceptional job in the restaurant good entertainment all week don't listen to all of the negative comments in some of the reviews just go and make your own mind up you will not be disappointed thanks again the dilkhusa be back soon Martin from Liverpool.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1,234,601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Martin,

I am glad you had a great time and you enjoyed the food, service and entertaiment. As you said, we offer an excellent value for money and I am very happy you enjoyed and recommended to others.
Also, thank you very much for your positive review, which is very welcomed.
I will pass your lovely comments to Gary and Inga, and I am sure they will be happy to read them.
Once again, thank you for visiting us and we hope to see you again, here at The Dilkhusa Grand Hotel or at any of the other destinations that Shearings has on offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (718)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

506 - 512 of 718 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

5 day holiday here with Shearings - food pretty good generally - but oh dear - the bedroom, in my opinion, not worthy of putting ANY guests in. Black mould on curtain, walls, and in the tiny shower room. To call Room 331 a double bedroom is a joke. A shower and a toilet in a 'closet' no bigger than width of a doorway one side, and your sink on the other side of the room. One person had to sit on bed to allow the other to move around the room. I'm afraid I spent a full day in this awful room as I had a really bad upset stomach and sickness. My hubby says this bedroom was second only to a 10p a night room he had in Egypt years ago - high praise indeed!
Reception told us the hotel is being refurbished, but in my opinion, there is nothing Grand about the Dilkhusa Grand Hotel!

Room Tip: Avoid Room 331
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Solange888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review. Your opinion is very important to us and I can assure you that all your comments will be taken on board.
I am gald you enjoyed the food and the service.
Our Hotel is going through a refurbishment programme, and the room you were in will be redecorated very soon.
Once again, thank you for visiting us, and we hope to see you again, here at The Dilkhusa or at any of the other fantastic destinations that Shearings has on offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Just spent a week at the Dilkusha Grand and I was favourably impressed with just about everything...except the lift was out of order and apparently had been for several weeks. Not too much of a problem if you are young and fit..neither label fits me! I had to drag myself up to the third floor and was in a state of near collapse after each trek.

The fact is that the hotel is not at all suitable for people with any kind of walking difficulty..nor indeed is Ilfracombe, which is built on a hillside. I feel strongly that the hotel owners, Shearings, should have given aged and infirm customers an opportunity to change their holiday as soon as the problem with the lift developed, Instead of leaving it to the coach driver to slip it into the conversation just as the coach pulled up at the hotel.

I understand that one guest immediately ordered a taxi and went straight back home at vast expense..but I cannot confirm this.

All that said, this is a good hotel. It is impressive to look at and I have no complaints at all about my room, the service or food...indeed the porridge was outstandingly good. Bar service was efficient and friendly, and the entertainment was of a high standard and the compere John was a likeable guy.

All in all a really nice place. But all the good points were overshadowed by that damned lift!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank konrad1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments. Your review is very welcomed and will help us to improve where needed.
I am glad you enjoyed the food, service and entertaiment and I will personnaly pass your positive comments to the staff.
It is very nice to see that our customers appreciate what we are doing; your review will help us to keep staff motivated, knowing that customers leave our hotel with happy memories.
As you said, it was unfortunate that lift was not working, and as you said, our staff did their utmost to help everyone. I can inform you that lift has been repaired now and is in working order.
Once gain, thank you for your positive review, and we hope to see you again, here at The Dilkhusa Grand Hotel or at any of the other destinations that Shearaings has on offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

I had a lovely time staying here, and yes a few things around the hotel needed updating etc, but the staff were so kind and helpful, my only thing that I wasn't to keen on was not being able to choose where I sat for meal times, as a few people on my table liked to moan! (A lot!) my overall experience was a good one, I was on mg own and one of the youngest there but I was made to feel very welcomed, and It was the staff that made it a good experience for me! Thank you
Sharon x

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear Sharon,

Thank you very much for your lovely comments. It was a pleasure to have you here, and I am very glad you got back home safe and with good memories about the hotel and the staff.
As you said, all the staff here at The Dilkhusa Grand Hotel work very hard and they are always happy to help customers.
Our staff goes through an In-house training programme which includes Health & Safety, Food Safety and of course, Customer Care, and we can see that it is working by the lovely reviews that we get from customers.
Once again, thank you very much for visit us and we hope to see you again, here at The Dilkhusa Grand Hotel or at any of the other fantastic destination that Shearings has on offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed for 3 nights with a group of bowlers and wives. Staff very friendly and food of a good standard. Unfortunately, the building shows its age - I would guess it is late 19th century - and the lift had been out of order for some time, according to local comment due to parts being awaited from Spain! Having said that, the rooms, although dated, had en-suite facilities and our bed was comfortable. Heard no serious complaints from others in our party. The four free drinks per day might have helped in this respect!

Room Tip: Until the lift is fixed ask for a room on lowest floor possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank 1940ollieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

First of all, I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments.
As you said, we offer an excellent value for money with good food, excellent service and great entertaiment.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you again in a near future.
It was a pleasure to have you with us, and all members of staff commented about how good your group was and how nice it was to have you here.
Once again, thank you for your positive review, and we look forward to seeing you again, here at The Dilkhusa or at any of the other destinations that Shearings has on offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

on our last stop before arriving at our hotel we were told by our driver the lift was not working but they would have staff to help with luggage not a great deal of help when you are up and down stairs to get to rooms meals and bar etc, the room needed a great deal of attention,paint peeling cracks on ceiling black mould on wall and ceiling in bathroom floorboards was very squeaky but the room was clean.the meals were good and the staff were excellent eager to please and help always polite.our driver paul was great helpful and polite.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wendy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments, and also, thank you for visiting us.
I will pass your positive comments to the staff, which I am sure they will be very pleased as they work very hard and always provide a good service to our customers.
We will look into your comments and action will be taken.
Once again, thank you for your review, and we hope to see you again, here at THe Dilkhusa Grand Hotel or at any of the other destinations that National Holidays and Shearings have on offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My wife and I just spent 4 nights at the Dilkhusa. Service was excellent, food was very good. Our room(208), however was a big disappointment. There are cracks in the ceiling, black mould on the bathroom ceiling, paint peeling(almost to the point of non-existence) on all of the windows, and the shower doors were very ill-fitting. Add to that, the television could only get 4 channels, and it all adds up to a not-very-pleasant experience. I would have a very hard time justifiying a recommendation for this hotel.

Room Tip: Cannot recommend rooms in the extension.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Your feedback is very welcomed.
Thank you for bringing it to my atention and I can assure you that we will take action.
I am glad you enjoyed the service and the food, and I will pass your comments to the staff.
Once again, thank you for visiting and we hope to see you again, here at The Dilkhusa Grand Hotel or at any of the other fantastic destinationas that Shearing has on offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.1 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
471 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
650 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#16 of 20 in Ilfracombe
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#6 of 20 in Ilfracombe
289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#7 of 20 in Ilfracombe
290 reviews
0.9 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel

Address: Wilder Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9AH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Price Range: £67 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the level seafront of this hugely popular Victorian seaside resort stands the welcoming Dilkhusa Grand Hotel. The hotel was originally a private house, bought by a Raj at the turn of the last century as a gift to his wife - Dilkhusa translates from Hindustani roughly as ‘House of the Happy Heart!’ The hotel overlooks the picturesque Runnymede gardens and is close to the Landmark theatre which attracts many national acts. It is also just a short walk from the bustling 10th-century harbour where Britain’s most famous living artist, Damien Hirst, owns a restaurant. The Dilkhusa has a well-appointed restaurant combining excellent hospitality and service. A spacious and comfortable entertainments suite provides the ideal setting in which to sit back and enjoy the acts at this friendly and sociable hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing