We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very good service”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed for 5 days as part of a Shearings holiday. As my mother has walking problems we were pleasantly surprised to have a ground floor room. There was still a few steps to deal with but nothing to difficult. Though from looking around there were plenty of stairs as you went upstairs. The lift is working but it is an old fashioned lift with a metal gate that does need pulling across before it's used. The service in the restaurant was very good and efficiant. Yes we did have to wait a few times between courses but the restaurant was very busy at the time.

The room was 'compact'. It did have everything in it should and was kept very clean and tidy by Jackie the housekeeper. The bathroom is something else. Whilst it was kept clean it needs to be completly updated. The toilet became blocked on one evening which we reported twice. The second time we did have someone come to look at it and the gentleman resolved it very quickly. Otherwise we would have to wait for the maintance man to come at 8am the following morning or be moved up to the 3rd floor!

The hotel is within walking distance of the seafront and harbour area. And if you want to go anywhere by bus the bus stop is literaly outside the hotel. We could see it quite clearly from the room(no 4).

On the whole the service from the staff was excellent it's just the bathroom needs dragging into the 21st century.

Room Tip: There are ground floor rooms (1-11). Just be aware of how close the bus stop is!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you very much for your positive review. Your feedback is very valuable and will help us to keep motivated and providing excellent service.
I will pass your lovely comments to Jackie, and I am sure she will be happy knowing that our customers, once again, enjoyed their stay and the service.
Here at The Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, we are proud of our service and all the staff work really hard to make sure our customers enjoy their stay.
Once again, thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments, and we hope to see you again, here at The Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, or at any of the other destinations that Shearings has on offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    273
    136
    42
    28
See reviews for
70
387
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

Fantastic holiday, great weather, hotel is ideally situated, staff are very welcoming and friendly. A lot of stairs at this hotel, which can be awkward if not fully mobile, as there is only one lift. Rooms very clean, tidy, maid service daily, towels not changed automatically. Food very good and restaurant staff very friendly. Wifi available also

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Dear Sue S,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your lovely comments.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you experienced our excellent service.
As you said, we offer good value for money with excellent Food, professional and friendly Service and a Great Entertainment.
Also, we now have Wi-Fi available for our customers, which adds another extra point to our fantastic package.
Once again, thank you very much for your positive review, and we hope to see you again, here at The Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, or at any of the other fantastic destinations that Shearings has on offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The Hotel was fantastic value for money, excellent room service all spotlessly clean, comfortable beds. excellent entertainment, as for drinks voucher that was the jam in the donut, a lovely hotel, excursions provided by Shearings really good. The food was really good we were promised a Spanish night but that didn't materialise instead we were offered an extra starter????. What let all this down was the disastrous service at mealtimes sometimes 25 minutes between courses in actual once I fell asleep I did have a go at the waitress (sorry it wasn't her fault)) she told me they each have 24 guests and she was doing her best, in actual fact all the waiters were running about there just wasn't enough of them, a few people we knew ate out because of this, I wouldn't stay again or recommend this hotel because of this, a real shame.

Room Tip: A lot of stairs if you are infirm ask for room near lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
First ofall, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Your feedback is very valuable to us and your comments will be taken on board.
Regarding the Spanish night, it is not part of the holiday package. Some weeks, we have a theme evening with Spanish night with a cost as it is not included on Shearings package.
I think you meant the Gala dinner on Thursday night, which consist on Starter, an extra course between (you can chose an extra starter) Main Course and Dessert.
All the staff, particurally the restaurant, are doing a great job and they are always ready to help.
We are offering a proffesional and friendly service in our restaurant, and we also offer flexible meals times, so people can enjoy a relaxing dinning experience.
Once again, thank you for your review, and we hope to see you again in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banwell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Just returned from having stayed at the Dilkhusa Grand as part of a group staying for my son's wedding. The staff could have not been more accommodating to our unusual needs. Storing the flowers in a cool area and looking after some of guests arriving and departing at different time. Yes the hotel is a little tired, but it is very clean and run by efficient friendly staff, which made our stay that much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Wendy M,

Thank you very much for your positive review. It was a pleasure to have you and your family and friends during the weekend. By the way, the flowers were beautiful!!
I am glad the wedding went well and that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Please give my regards to your son and his wife.
Once again, thank you for your lovely comments and for choosing The Dilkhusa Grand Hotel and we hope to see you again in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Great to be looked after by such a happy, welcoming team.

As commented previously, you will not be disappointed at this hotel where food, service and entertainment are very good. Just a shame we missed out on speciality dish paella which is served on Wednesdays and not at the weekend!

Many thanks to all for a thoroughly relaxing break.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MimsieBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
As you said, we offer an excellent value for money, with good food, great entertaiment and an outstanding service.
Sorry you miss our Spanish night and could not try the delicious paella. At the moment, we only have it on wednesdays, but it is becoming very popular, so we are already thinking about offering during it the weekend in a near future.
Once again, thank you for your positive review, and we hope to see you again, here at The Dilkhusa Grand Hotel or at any of the other fantastic destinations that Shearings has on offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
138 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed for 7 nights with Shearings. A blow to learn that the lift was out of order, many of us with limited mobility had great trouble getting up and down the stairs, on the last night the lift was repaired it turned out to be quite old and very slow. Despite this the hotel was good. the food was good and varied, the waiters were brilliant, the entertainment was very good and "entertaining".
We had a small but comfortable room. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. this hotel is near local bus routes into the town and surrounding towns.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor room, this avoids the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Dear Peter B,

First of all, I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
Your opinion is very important to us, and I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
As you said, we offer an excellent value for money, with good food, great entertainment and brilliant service.
I will pass your lovely comments to the staff, and I am sure they will be very happy after reading your positive review.
Once again, thank you for your comments, and we hope to see you again, here at The Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, or at any of the other destinations that Shearings has on offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

stayed for 3 nights on a national holidays all inclusive weekend break.We were welcomed very nicely to the hotel by a member of staff and shown to our rooms.We were on the 4th floor and the room was comfortable but the decoration was a bit tired.Food was excellent and a special mention should go to Lewis our waiter for his excellent service. I must say all staff we met were very friendly and ready to help with any queries or inquires. Entertainment was good and varied with a great atmosphere. All in all a good place to stay.As for ilfracombe itself it could win the ugliest seaside town competition.Just across the road from the hotel should be a sea view but a theatre has been built which looks like 3 cooling towers terrible.You also get Damien Hursts VERITY statue which i think does nothing for the harbour, no plaque or explanation to what she represents.A good place to base yourself but not to stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a lower floor room as the lift is not 100 per cent reliable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raymond C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Raymond C,

Thank you very much for your lovely comments. Your review is very valuable to us, and once again, shows that we are doing a good job.
As you said, we offer an excellent value for money, with good food, excellent service, and great entertainment; packages like that are very difficult to find these days, but we have it here at The Dilkhusa Grand Hotel.
Thank you very much for your positive review, it is nice to find that our customers enjoyed their stay with us, and I will pass your lovely comments to the staff, especially to Lewis.
Once again, thank you very much for visiting us and for your excellent feedback, and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.1 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#7 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.9 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel

Property: Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Address: Wilder Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9AH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the level seafront of this hugely popular Victorian seaside resort stands the welcoming Dilkhusa Grand Hotel. The hotel was originally a private house, bought by a Raj at the turn of the last century as a gift to his wife - Dilkhusa translates from Hindustani roughly as ‘House of the Happy Heart!’ The hotel overlooks the picturesque Runnymede gardens and is close to the Landmark theatre which attracts many national acts. It is also just a short walk from the bustling 10th-century harbour where Britain’s most famous living artist, Damien Hirst, owns a restaurant. The Dilkhusa has a well-appointed restaurant combining excellent hospitality and service. A spacious and comfortable entertainments suite provides the ideal setting in which to sit back and enjoy the acts at this friendly and sociable hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing