We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice weather”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“nice weather”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

just got back from the dilkhusa hotel . hotel was very nice and clean the receptionist marie roul was very nice and helpful sorting our room out she said hotel was full but if one came available by our friends on the 3rd floor she would let us now and that she did thanks marie entertainment was bril I think we had the worst waiter kept we waiting couldn't make him understand what we wanted ; we spent far to long on coach 8-9hrs

Room Tip: rooms up to the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennifer1950186332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Your feedback is important to us and will help to keep improving where needed.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in a near future.
Once again, thank you for visiting us and for your positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    278
    139
    42
    28
See reviews for
70
396
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guiseley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

4 Days / 3 Nights National Coach tour to Ilfracombe including two day trips to Barnstaple/Bideford and Lynmouth & Exmoor National Park respectively. Our base of course was the Dilkhusa Grand Hotel. The hotel was built for a Indian Rajah in the 19th century for his wife hence the Asian sounding name,The house was subsequently changed in the Edwardian era into a prestigious hotel without a hint of curry.
Fast forwarding to our recent visit the hotel has been refurbished and looks clean and tidy. It does have an antiquated lift which can be scary or exciting depending on your perspective. Our bedroom was nice with clean bed linen and toilet facilities.
The meals in the restaurant were waiter service and on balance were quick and efficient. The staff were mainly eastern european and courteous and polite. The menu was varied and should
suit anyone,s taste.The meals we had both breakfast and dinner were hot and tasty. The portions were adequate but if you class yourself as a trencherman who likes his plate overflowing you may be disappointed. We always left the table satisfied and after our meal had settled we were ready to hit the bar and sit back and enjoy the entertainment.
After the obligatory build up of bingo etc we had entertainment every night. Now over the years i have been subjected to all levels of so called artists but the acts we saw on both Friday and Sunday night were professional and very talented and at the risk of being patronizing deserved a much larger audience,I wish them well.
There we go that,s it in a nutshell< I highly recommend the Dilkhusa for a nice break

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Michael R,

First of all, I would like to thank you for your positive and informative review. As you said, the oldest part of the actual hotel was built by an Indian Rajah for his wife, and was named "Dilkhusa", which means "House of the Happy Heart". Originally was a private house. Later on, a hotel, "The Grand Hotel", was built next to the house. Years after, both buildings were joined together and that is when "Dilkhusa Grand Hotel" was born.
As you experienced and mentioned on your review, we offer a good value for money, with Excellent Food, Brilliant service and Great Entertainment. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I will pass your lovely comments to the staff and to the entertainment's manager.
Once again, thank you for your feedback and for visiting us, and we hope to see you again in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Having just returned from a four day break to this hotel with National
Holidays,would just like to make the following observations. Considering the cost for myself and the wife you have to come to the conclusion it's very good value for your money. Bed,breakfast,and evening meal served quickly and always with a smile, plentiful and quite good. Complimentary drinks, your choice beers, wine, spirits, four drinks per each adult daily.Really good entertainment every evening in the lounge,all members of staff helpful friendly,great location in the resort.The one big negative to this hotel is the rooms they need a total refurbishment,very depressing to say the least.It's a shame because all staff members were fantastic,would not stay in this hotel again purely and simply because it is so tired. I would like to in conclusion express my wife and myself's thank you to our driver Eddie he was fantastic National Express will always be a successful company when you employ staff members of this gentleman's ability.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you very much for your positive comments about the staff. As you said, we offer an excellent value for money and all members of staff work really hard to make sure our customers enjoy their stay with us.
The Dilkhusa Grand Hotel is going through a refurbishment programme and we are upgrading our bedrooms and public areas.
We also offer now the possibility of booking one of our Standard Plus bedrooms, with elegant new décor, contemporary furnishings, flat screen TV and modern bathrooms.
Once again, thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments and for visiting us. We hope to see you again in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greater manchester
Level Contributor
94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

for a single room was a large room compare to some of the shearings single rooms.the room was at the back of the hotel. the walk to the town centre was only a few minutes but up a steep hill.the four drink voucher every day was great.meals were typical shearings and served quickly.

the day trip to big sheep was very good and glad i went on the trip.one of the best day trip i have with shearings.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank forestwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Your feedback is very important as it will help us to keep improving, and also, it will help future customers.
As you said, we offer an good value for money with Excellent Food, Great Entertainment, Brilliant Service and wonderful excursions if you come by coach.
Room 116 is an very good single room, situated next to the lift, which it makes it ideal for people with walking difficulties. Also, it has been recently refurbished and it is a very popular room. If you decide to come back or any future customers would like to book that room, please contact the hotel or Shearings Holidays to guarantee the room(small fee applies).
Once again, thank you very much for visiting us and for your excellent review, and we hope to see you again in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We had room 204 (no noise) bathroom spacious with clean towels everyday, plenty storage space and hair dryer in the draw, comfy bed (with blankets). With a bay seating area to view the sea, museum and park.
Food plenty and good variety thanks to Inca our waitress.
Plenty to do in the area if you don't want to do the National trips which are scenic with our female driver Dale keeping us up dated with historical information (well done Dale).
A stroll along the front a must see Verifty the new statue and a steep walk up to the lighthouse/church.
All the staff are helpful and friendly, nothing is a problem, Pedro the manager came onto the coach to welcome us and tell us of the meal times ect.
The hotel is a warren of corridors and stairs but easy to access, their is a lift if you need it.
A good value for money break with National one of the nicest trips we have done.

Room Tip: front room second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laura186394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Laura186394,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments, which are very important to us.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and I will personally pass your lovely comments to the staff.
Once again, thank you for visiting us and for your positive review, and we hope to see you again in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Went with Shearings good Friday to Easter Monday April 2014.Journey down was a nightmare due to really bad accident at j29 M1 we were delayed by 3 and half hours never moving so did not get to Dilkhusa till 21.45 Good Friday night due to delay.To there great credit the staff put on a full 3 course menu be it limited when most of us expected a cold buffet also coffee after in bar well done to all the staff and hotel for that most welcome after trip down there.We were in room 105 on the back of hotel lovely room warm, bed very comfy,flat screen tv,nice hot shower,room kept spotless by chambermaid lovely girl no view from window but quite very good indeed also just down 1 flight of stairs to bar reception etc.Thanks to driver Dave what a journey he had?Food excellent Easter egg each Easter Sunday entertainment very good as was trips out.All credit to Shearings and hotel for a great break this is one of Shearings best we have been to thanks to everyone at hotel

Room Tip: Room 105 very good near ground floor reception bar but no noise as on back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bladerunner45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Bladerunner45,

Thank you very much for your excellent review.
All the staff at The Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, work really hard to make sure our customers have a good time with us, and we are happy we did it again.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and I will personnally pass your comments to the staff, especially Matthew (Assistant Manager) and Christie(Head Chef), whom worked very hard to make sure all passengers on the late coach had a nice meal on arrival.
As you said, we offer an excellent value for money and we are very proud of our high standards of service.
Once again, thank you for visiting us and for your fantastic review, and we hope to see you again in a near future, here at The Dilkhusa Grand Hotel or at any of the other fantastic destinations that Shearings has on offer during spring and summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leyland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Arrived on the 24th march for a 4 night holiday was allocated room 103 on the first floor paid an extra £5 per person for a super plus room was well worth the extra money room had been decorated to a very high professional standard and the twin bed were very comfortable and all the furniture seemed new although the wardrobe could have been bigger but my wife always brings loads of clothes we do not need probably ok for most people.Only one little niggle the windows were of the old sash type and probably could not be replaced by newer ones whilst being really well refurbished and painted gaps had been left at the bottom which let in a terrible draught seemed a shame that so much effort had gone in to refurbishing the the room they had not sealed the windows I got around this by filling the gaps with paper, problem sorted really should have informed management but seemed easier for me do it..you could also hear the people in the room above walking about at times but all in all we were very comfortable in our room which was cleaned every day and was very clean.The meals provided were of a very high standard with good choice's and we were looked after by a very attentive and well trained staff all the staff at this hotel from the management to the cleaners were very helpfull and professional well done.the entertainment provided artists bingo etc was ok.if you are not very mobile this hotel might not be for you loads of stairs to get to the resteraunt you have to negotiate two sets of stairs one up from the foyer into a lounge and one out of the lounge into the dining room there seemed to be no way around this but in fairness there was a chairlift on each set of stairs our room 103 could only be reached by stairs no problem for us but would be hard work for people with mobility problems my wife actually fell down the stairs once she missed a stair frightened the assistant manager who's office was under the stairs to death he bounded up the stairs and assisted us and brought us some ice to help thank you for the help but all in all we found this hotel was very good and we really enjoyed ourselves and would attend again at some time in the future.

Room Tip: 103 was a very well decorated comfortable room but I hope they get the windows sealed.and is situate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david geoffrey m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Your feedback is very welcomed and will help us to keep staff motivated and also to keep improving our standards.
As you said, we offer an excellent value for money with Excellent Food, Great entertaiment, comfortable accomodation and friendly and proffesional staff.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I will pass your positive comments to the staff.
Your comments will be taken on board and we will look into them.
Once again, thank you for visiting us and for your positive review, and we hope to see you again in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.1 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
372 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
353 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#7 of 20 in Ilfracombe
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
260 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
207 reviews
0.9 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel

Property: Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Address: Wilder Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9AH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the level seafront of this hugely popular Victorian seaside resort stands the welcoming Dilkhusa Grand Hotel. The hotel was originally a private house, bought by a Raj at the turn of the last century as a gift to his wife - Dilkhusa translates from Hindustani roughly as ‘House of the Happy Heart!’ The hotel overlooks the picturesque Runnymede gardens and is close to the Landmark theatre which attracts many national acts. It is also just a short walk from the bustling 10th-century harbour where Britain’s most famous living artist, Damien Hirst, owns a restaurant. The Dilkhusa has a well-appointed restaurant combining excellent hospitality and service. A spacious and comfortable entertainments suite provides the ideal setting in which to sit back and enjoy the acts at this friendly and sociable hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing