We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Wonderful Stay!”
Review of Shaftsboro Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ilfracombe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shaftsboro Farm
Ranked #26 of 52 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We managed to book the small double at Shaftsboro Farm for two nights after our original plans fell through only two days before. From the minute we arrived everyone was incredibly welcoming and nothing was ever too much trouble. After going out for a walk on the first day, we arrived back a few hours later soaked to the bone after getting caught in a storm. Margaret kindly tumble-dried the dogs towels and hung our coats over the ager overnight so they were ready for us to wear again the next morning.

Our room was clean and tidy and although a little on the small side (which we were warned about when we booked), it had everything we needed and was very comfortable. The bathroom was spotless.

Breakfast was amazing and set us up for the rest of the day. Delicious home-grown produce cooked to order as well as a choice of cereals and yogurts.

The location is very tranquil and relaxing and is great for exploring Woolacombe, Mortehoe, Ifracombe and of course the South West coastal path. Broadoar Bay, which is great for rock-pooling, is only 20mins walk away through the woods.

We can't thank you enough for making our weekend so lovely. We will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimberleyBetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 29 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

Not wanting to go home after woolacombe beach day trip and all online bookings were full, the tourist office recommended a few and this one stood out. The owner was accommodating for our 8 month baby and our 8 year old daughter. Place was about 10 min from Woolacombe and we were put into a cottage. Lovely surroundings in the country and off the beaten track so very much a sense of tranquility. Lovely gardens and Margaret the owner is amazing, very attentive, this place made our weekend and will go back when we can. (Plus amazing breakfast!)

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank JJMcDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed one night over the Easter Bank holiday while doing a walking trip along the southwest coastal path.

Shaftsboro farm is a real working farm and family home nestled into the valley just south of Lee Bay. It makes for a very friendly and inviting atmosphere. but is also very professionally run. The bedroom was very comfortable with a pile of soft warm blankets and pillows, and a nice firm mattress. Good water pressure, and plenty of hot water in the shower. Soap and large towels provided. Breakfast was excellent - full english with eggs made to order, choice of cereals, toast, coffee and tea.

Margaret arranged for us to get a ride to the farm from Lee (right off the path) at the end of a very long day. Then she very kindly offered to drive us to Mortehoe to start again the next morning. If you are a walker, note that there are paths and you don't have to get a lift, but we were tired and grateful for the extra help.

Even if you are not a walker, do not miss Morthoe point - it's stunning. Also, the pub in Lee (The Grumpus) is known for it's conviviality and music, so check it out if you have the chance.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rschwartz375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We stayed in the little cottage which was roomy and was very pleasantly decorated, the view from the bedroom window was an idyliic scene of lambs and ducks!

The location is great for exploring saunton sands, woolacombe and lynton/lynmouth etc. The house is very solid grand farm house, with an exceptionally beautiful garden, with a few picnic benches.

More than all of that the host is just lovley and wonderful. A natural host, seemed genuinley interested in people, and very warm and kind.

I highly recomend this place and its also near one of the most stunning coves at Lee I have ever seen. We will definalty be back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizeratsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

Have stayed in this area so many times , but so pleased to have found this beautiful gem. Shaftsboro farm is beautiful, and very friendly. Can't wait to go back. The room was lovely, breakfast amazing, and setting perfect

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lornaWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2009

I've recently returned from Shaftsboro Farm, Lee, North Devon for the 5th time, and thought it was about time I raved about it so you all can go and experience it too!
Beautifully presented B&B rooms (the most expensive is £35 pp) with a full English Breakfast to die for!!! There's also a self catering cottage and caravan, and everything is finished to a very high standard. Children and dogs are welcome, but despite this, it's a very peaceful, secluded place to stay and there's easy access to plenty of coastal attractions (3 miles of golden sands at Woolacombe is simply the best beach around, especially for surfing) and it's only 10 minutes to Exmoor.
If it rains, there's still plenty to do in the nearby Victorian town of Ilfracombe, and you may well find that the weather is different if you travel north around the coast to Lynmouth (about 25 mins by car).
Golfing, horse riding (on the beach too), quad biking, Exmoor Zoo, plenty of gardens to visit - it's all there with stunning scenery and great local pubs and eateries.
It's a lovely area and Shaftsboro is a great place to stay. You'll get a really friendly welcome from Freddie & Margaret Kift, and all the animals on the farm. At the time of writing, there were very cute, fluffy guinea fowl chicks just hatching, and last year there were 11 orphan lambs all needing plenty of attention.
Try it - you'll love it!

1  Thank SusieHampshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.0 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
633 reviews
0.0 mi away
High Ways House
High Ways House
#1 of 1 in Mullacott
13 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#17 of 20 in Ilfracombe
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
447 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
455 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Darnley Hotel
The Darnley Hotel
#10 of 20 in Ilfracombe
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaftsboro Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaftsboro Farm

Address: | near Mortehoe, Ilfracombe EX34 8LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shaftsboro Farm offers Bed and Breakfast with 1 en-suite double room and 1 single room with seperate private bathroom. Also available is a self catering cottage which can sleep 4 (1 doulble room and a sofa bed) and a self catering caravan which can sleep up to 6 (1 double room, 1 twin room and a sofa bed). We are surrounded by countryside and only a mile away from the coast. Well behaved dogs are welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shaftsboro Farm Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing