We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid the place!”
Review of The Boat House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Boat House
Ranked #31 of 52 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 August 2012

The Boat House isnt a hotel, there is no reception, there is a spanish restaurant below and restaurant staff who deals with arrivals have no experience in costumer service, the entrance door is wide open for everyone from outside and no one really check who comes into the building, I found it very unsafe. The hallways have very old dirty carpets. Ive booked a family room with a sea view but was told on arrival that all sea view rooms are already taken, the room I received was small with window facing back wall and above the restaurnat and there was very strong smell of cooked food and old oil, the carpets were very dirty, not vacuumed at all. The bathroom was old with dirty bath no shower, I had to put the bath mat in to be able to stand in it, the toilet flush was broken and I had to use bathroom bin filled with water to flush the toilet. I didnt compalin as there was no one to complain to and we were too tired after a whole day of traveling to look for another place to stay. Apart from great location there is nothing good I could say about The Boat house. I would not reccommend it to any one.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Klaudia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2012

Have stayed here several times, staying again next week, its clean and comfortable, with a good breakfast. Have paid much more and received less. Sure the staff are same as the resteraunt staff always someone about happy to help.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geoff e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

I had the fortune to stay here the week before Christmas, not because i chose the hotel but because there was no where else open that wasn't solely populated by the over 60s!
I stayed with my wife and 3 children (aged 7, 4 and 18months), we were given a large sea facing room with a bunk bed and enough room for the travelcot too. The accommodation was simple yet very clean with new rolled towels set out and a complimentary bathroom pack, the room had tea and coffee making facilities which re re-stocked for the 3 days we stayed.
The television in the room was a small old one with a freeview box, but when i mentioned this the proprietor replaced it with a new flat screen television with a dvd player of which i was much suprised and very grateful, i was later given some childrens dvd's by the chef who had his children staying in the hotel too!
We ate in the Restaurant the second and third night and i must say that the food was excellent, and that they catered for the childrens very fussy tastes. The ambience was lovely and the staff very friendly, the propietor Andreas was very knowledgable and and informative without being intrusive as you come sometimes find. I later found out that Andreas and the Chef Jake had only recently taken over, had renoivated the Restaurant and were now looking to improve the accommodation!
In brief this is a lovelly location and a very good find, i can strongly recommend this little gem if you are looking for somewhere clean and simple to stay yet be very well looked after and made to feel welcome.

Room Tip: Room 18 - Family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr Jason T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Being part of a group that has visited the hotel more than once a year for a number of years, I have seen the changes with this hotel. Hotel isn't really accurate in that it doesn't have a reception desk, there are now no staff on duty other than in the restaurant when open and it doesn't have a lounge. Well it used to have a lounge with a TV on the first floor but that was now being used as a storage area for old furniture, linen, 2 bicycles and vacuum cleaners.

The hotel was previously known as Dedes and had a good atmosphere and staff that helped you to overlook it's obvious shortcomings. One thing that helped the atmosphere was the large bar at the front of and part of the hotel. The group could have a drink in the bar, go through to the hotel restaurant for an evening meal and then back to the bar for a late night. It was then only a short stagger to ones room. The bar has now been completely separated from the hotel and closed early on the nights we were there!

When the new managers took over earlier in 2011, they really concentrated on the restaurant, changed it to Spanish cuisine, now called 'Gazpacho.' The food was initially excellent when we visited earlier in 2011.

However on our second visit, the choice was more limited, ingredients seemed cheaper and the portions smaller. For example a fish and chips meal. The small portion of fish appeared to have been one fish that had been cut into 3 portions to make 3 meals. This was also noticeable at breakfast. That was pointed out, the waiter denied that was the case after speaking to the chef. Unfortunately the waiter accidentally spilled dirty cutlery over that group member who'd mentioned it at the evening meal that night. He was also the only member of the group who didn't have his wine glass filled the next night.

What has not changed, is the poor state of the accommodation which does not appear to have been updated for many, many years. That is especially true for the carpets, particularly in the stairs and hallways. The furniture (other than mattresses which are fine) is old, tired and dated. For example rooms with baths that are chipped, advocado bath suites, fittings of poor quality. Rooms at the front of the hotel have the street lamps shining in all night along with the noise of rowdy passers by.
The TV's in the rooms were old small portable type CRT sets using digital boxes, set high up on shelves and picking up BBC Wales. The rooms and the linen were clean however.

What was a tired and dated hotel with atmosphere has now become a tired, dated restaurant with separate rooms above, lacking in both atmosphere and value for money. The current managers and staff lack the experience and people skills so necessary in such a trade. I doubt it will survive.

Due to the unfortunate changes and especially after the bar closed early, the group looked around for an alternative bar and found just down the road a better quality hotel at a cheaper price to stay at in the future. It seems speaking with others elsewhere that we are not the only group to have decided not to stay at the Boat House in future. An end of an era. Shame.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HectorSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Firstly the address is incorrect. It is located on Wilders road on the corner of Arcade Rd. It is however on the sea front and overlooks a small rocky bay. The bedrooms at the front all have large french windows with sea views. The rear bedrooms overlook the parking and hotels higher up into the town. Some bedrooms have ensuite facilities and access to their WiFi. They all appeared to be basic but adequate for a seaside B&B. They had TV's and coffee making facilities and one wardrobe and a chair but little room for anything else. Downstairs is a spacious bar and restaurant and the breakfast was excellent and service fairly good. The current owners had just taken over and were keen to impress. I believe they have plans to improve the rooms. The parking is a little difficult in that it is a very narrow road at the back of the hotel and there is room for 8 cars in a line but it meant that the last in had to be first out etc. There is very little public parking around there which is open all night. So if you are happy with basic, clean accomodation and limited facilites, it should be OK.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.3 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#15 of 20 in Ilfracombe
351 reviews
1 mi away
Wildercombe House
Wildercombe House
#1 of 52 in Ilfracombe
449 reviews
2.5 mi away
High Ways House
High Ways House
#1 of 1 in Mullacott
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
649 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
471 reviews
0.8 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat House

Address: Wilder Rd | 1A The Promenade, Ilfracombe EX34 9BD, England (Formerly Dedes Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range: £72 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Boat House 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pub with letting rooms above - FREE WIFI - ONE DOUBLE ENSUITE WITH BALCONY AND SEA VIEW - ONE FAMILY ROOM WITH 3 SINGLE BEDS AND SHARED BATHROOM, ONE TWIN ROOM WITH 2 SINGLE BEDS AND SHARED BATHROOM(BATH AND SHOWER OVERHEAD) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Boat House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boat House Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing