We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Near the harbour”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Avalon Guest House

Avalon Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avalon Guest House
Ranked #44 of 55 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Near the harbour”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Ask for sea view which is relaxing and quiet. Good location near the harbour and the coastal path. Although rated average I would happily stay here again. For very good I would expect a smarter decor and a better bathroom. Fine breakfast, traditional and welcoming hosts. Lots of stairs, but coastal path hikers don't complain about going uphill.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Northern_fellwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    18
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
27
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

It was, the stay, the service it wa just fab in many ways! The breakfast is better than my local cafe it was literally amazing. The location is fabulous with a small beach which is revealed round the corner when the tide is out.
Literally a short walk to the harbour and the sea front. Right on the coastal foot lag.
It was a homely place, I died almost every time from walking up the stairs to the top floor but it was worth it each and every time... Brilliant. Homely, cute, lovely.
We also saw a dolphin jumping out the water from our window and the sunsets were lovely.
Anything else? Nah not really! But go here you can't go wrong with the value. Such fun and value for money!
Thank you Dudley and Ann it was amazing!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurence A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Having read previous reviews, I wonder if they were actually staying at The Avalon. Our first impression was a musty odour which thankfully didn't reach our room. We had a pleasant welcome from Sue and were shown to our room on the first floor. We found scaffolding across the window but this was not mentioned when we booked three weeks earlier yet when Sue showed us to the room, she said it had been there for months and was hoping it would be gone soon. The room was cramped with very tired décor. The carpet was well worn. Worryingly, a French Door in the window bay was unlocked with no key in situ. There was no balcony, terrace or safety rail, just a drop to the rocks below. The ensuite was a joke, no more than a cupboard with a bifold door. Again, very tired in appearance. Good toiletries provided with extras like razor, toothbrush, cotton buds etc. The shower tray alarmingly filled almost to the brim and took 5 to 6 minutes to drain away once showering was finished. It took an age to get hot water and then not a good flow. The view from the room was marvellous, even allowing for the ugly scaffolding and we were able to sleep with the curtains open and listen to the sea though sleep didn't come too easily as the bed wasn't terribly comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful though I did hear one guest ask for poached egg. The reply "We don't do poached eggs. She can't get them to look right so won't do them". Service at breakfast was very efficient. The Guest House location was good and off road parking available. There are a lot of steep steps up to the front door and lots of stairs to the rooms so not suitable for anyone with mobility problems.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlook the sea. At the front, a high room will give views over the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaggieSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Could not of asked for more. Great location, very near Harbour but really quiet, top floor sea view room, yes alot of stairs but worth it as not overlooked and able to sleep with window wide open listening to the sea below. Good breakfast very friendly hosts.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms worth paying extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackdown2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

Great location near the harbour and close to the South West Coast Path. Very interesting build and we were right at the top on the fourth floor with a great view of the town not the sea. Clever move at breakfast to sit people like us looking out over the sea. short walk into town and lots of information provided about where to eat.Breakfast was table service throughout all served by the host. All the walls were adorned with picture or photos relating to transport. Excellent value and very welcoming.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

We came to Ilfracombe whilst I was heavily pregnant so we wanted to stay somewhere central as walking was getting difficult! The Avalon is in a brilliant location and I was able to get around town and see the harbour easily. The owners were also very friendly and the rooms were of a good standard. The breakfast was also very good. All in all a great find for a short break if you don't have a massive budget.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawnislush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

Fantastic location near the harbour, pubs and restaurants. The building is huge and the owners really lovely and friendly. The rooms are basic, in need of a bit of a decoration and the bathroom is nothing to write home about. But, all is forgotten when you look out at the beautiful sea views. You can sleep with the window open all night and hear only the waves. Breakfast was great with a tasty veggie option. A car parking space was offered.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.8 mi away
Strathmore Guest House
Strathmore Guest House
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sandpiper Inn
Sandpiper Inn
#34 of 55 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Backpackers
Ocean Backpackers
#15 of 26 in Ilfracombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gabriel House
Gabriel House
#5 of 55 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Guest House

Property: Avalon Guest House
Address: 6 Capstone Crescent, Ilfracombe EX34 9BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Hotel Class:3 star — Avalon Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Avalon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Guest House Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing