We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable break made more so via hospitality at "The Darley Hotal."”
Review of The Darnley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Darnley Hotel
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Edgbaston, Birmingham
1 review
“Very enjoyable break made more so via hospitality at "The Darley Hotal."”
Reviewed 3 December 2010

I recently (26/28-11-2010) spent a very rewarding three days in Devon made more so via the welcome offered by the owners of ' The Darnley Hotel and the peaceful atmosphere that prevailed within. My room was very comfortable despite the arctic weather conditions outside. The Darnley has been the first hotel I've stayed in which comes complete with it's own Jester. Peter's humour flowed at meal times which added to the excellent food served.
Most adult age groups were represented from the late 20's to the near 70's complete with dog and in observation of body language and facial expression found no evidence of discord.
Observational Foot Notes.
It was noted that when the dog arrived it was exercised a little on leaving the car to prevent little accidents within the hotel.
Granted the car parking is a little restrictive but hopefully drivers do so in accordance with prevailing circumstances which includes parking (Highway Code).

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vulcan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    20
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

Excellent small hotel. Home cooking. Very clean and tidy. Plenty of parking. Near to centre of Ilfracombe. Owners are very kind and friendly and Peter, in particular, has a wicked sense of humour - prepare to be teased and tease in return!!!
Thank you for a lovely 3 day stay. We hope to be back

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larden04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Despite its advert this hotel was NOT at all dog friendly and will only tolerate people of pensionable age.
our overpriced stay in this tardis backwards house that jack built ended after confrontational disputes with owner sue,after we gave our polite feedback on their cat wandering through their kitchens and their dangerous car parking facilities that have damaged two cars we were met with, instead of curteous customer service, abuse and personal insult. there are so many actually lovely and beautifull places to stay which are truly dog friendly that there is no need for anyone to stoop as low as signing in to THE DARNELY HOTEL. how anyone can take money off someone saying they run a positive and dog freindly residence and then abuse them and revert to childish name calling over a 12 weeks old puppy's slight misdeameanour 3 inches away from their front door they are clearly just a money grabbing cold hearted individual rather than a polite and charming guest house owner.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank iloveamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darncat, Owner at The Darnley Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2011
Unfotunately our attention has only just been drawn to this review. I am sure most people will understand that there are two sides to every problem. Yes thse guests dog did make a mess in the Hotel, and they did not clear it up - we asked them politely to make sure it did not happen again. Yes we do have a cat - and a jolly nice cat he is as well - however he is not allowed in the kitchens and I don't know how these people could say that. We did not "name call" in fact for the first time in 12 years I was subject to a threat of violence and now wish I had reported the matter to the Police. What a shame they did not make as much effort in keeping the dogs under control as writing this malicious piece. No face to face complaint was made by them, only the same sort of comments in our guest book which resulted in about 5 other reviews straight away saying how wrong these people had been and how much they had enjoyed their stay with their dogs.

How wrong are these reviews when the Owners can be made the subject of as much nastiness as a guest wishes - give us a try and make up your own minds. Every Hotel, Guest House etc., has to have some ground rules otherwise the place would be in such a mess.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.3 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
372 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#9 of 20 in Ilfracombe
207 reviews
1.1 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Strathmore Guest House
Strathmore Guest House
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
55 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ilfracombe
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Darnley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Darnley Hotel

Property: The Darnley Hotel
Address: 3 Belmont Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Darnley Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an independent family run hotel. The building was built in 1921 and still retains many of it's original features. Set in it's own private gardens, but a short walk down to the town centre and high street shops and the beach. We also have two self catering cottages both sleeping just four persons, set in our gardens with amazing views over Ilfracombe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Darnley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Darnley Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing