We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top quality seafood” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Espresso Seafood Bar and Grill

Espresso Seafood Bar and Grill
Ranked #25 of 117 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top quality seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

A husband & wife run business, smart but friendly, gets very busy so you need to book. Fantastic seafood, meat & veggie options too. Our boys love the chilli-crab. I usually favour the daily fish special, always fresh & seasonal.
Lovely to sit outside with a drink when the sun is shining, watch the world go by.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    34
    6
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
77 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not cheap but excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Called in on lunchtime after seeing the fish specials on the board. Eat outside and had a grwt meal.
I had the whole sea bass with new potatoes. The fish came with a devilled salsa which was really good. My wife had the skate wing and it was a very big. My mother inlaw had the lamb cutlets which were cooked to perfection, pink in the middle, with fries. All in all a lovely meal.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank edwyn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St albans
Level Contributor
82 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good quality lunch, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Stopped for lunch on a Thursday. We were the first people in which is always a little worry but a few more arrived while we were there.
Had a couple of half lobsters and they arrived quickly and were well presented. They were very tasty and half a lobster and chips was definitely enough for a hearty lunch.
Service was friendly and efficient, overall it was a nice lunch and I'd recommend it.

Helpful?
Thank Anon-man-from-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, England
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“So good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

The food was delicious and very fresh. It is a very busy restaurant so the service was a little slow. It was a very hot evening when we went and were offered seats on the terrace but the terrace is a smoking area so there were people getting a bit upset as they were eating next to people smoking, it's worth knowing as if you're not a smoker its pretty unpleasant

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BelleS_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

An excellent, reasonably priced seafood restaurant. Quality food, well-prepared. A relaxing and unpretentious place. This was the best restaurant we've been to in Ilfracombe.

Recommended for anyone who likes food and gets fed up of shelling out on hyped up, bad quality restaurants where you come away disappointed. Espresso was that rarity - a restaurant that provides a meal worth going out for.

Helpful?
2 Thank graham c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Espresso Seafood Bar and Grill also viewed

 
Ilfracombe, Devon
 

Been to Espresso Seafood Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing