We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Epchris House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Epchris House
Ranked #6 of 52 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We booked a long weekend at the Epchris Guest House following our review of the comments left on Trip Advisor. We were very warmly greeted by Nicky who showed us to our room and provided us with all sorts of advice on what we could do whilst we were staying. The team there are very friendly and extremely accommodating. The young lad can’t do enough for us (can’t remember his name unfortunately) and the service in every aspect is unmatched anywhere we have stayed previously. Our room overlooked the valley and had plenty of space for our things and was presented immaculately. The beds were extremely comfortable and very, very quiet.
Our stay included breakfast – certainly no complaints there. They offer a wide section of food including a great Full English of course. However, a more refined continental breakfast is also available. The grounds include a pool which looked fantastic and well-kept, however due to the UK weather, it was just not warm ebnough to use. There is no curfew as with some Guest Houses and the small bar area is “help-yourself”, where customers are trusted to write down what they had. It is nice to be treated as an adult for once! Very clean, very quiet and great service. We both highly recommend a stay here and will be going back there next year.
Ilfracombe itself was a little dissapointing and therefore we spent most of our time traveling to Saunton and Croyde for surfing. We recommend the Thatch in Croyde for food and entertainment both during the day and evening.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2013

The owners could not have been more helpful and welcoming given that we had arrived ultra early due to a wedding in Tunnels Beaches.
The gardens were lovely with a good view over the pool. Do bring swimsuits as we forgot sadly.
Would have been very happy to stay longer and to return one day.
Breakfasts delicious and a good friendly atmosphere generally!
It seems to attract pleasant people [us included of course!!]

Room Tip: Room 4 overlooked the lovely garden and was very spacious and well decorated. En-suite slightly tig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We have stayed twice now at The Epchris, both times for 5 days and both stays cannot be faulted. The hotel, garden, pool, breakfasts and the welcome we received are all excellent - we would thoroughly recommend this as a wonderful hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PCAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

Grand, traditional building up a slight hill in Ilfracombe near 'The Tunnels' (for a wedding). Huge grounds with a pool, views over the area from a patio. Made to order breakfast, comfortable rooms and great, friendly service.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyingDutchMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We booked the whole hotel for our family as we were getting married at Tunnels Beaches. We had not stayed before and relied mainly on reviews we had read. Epchris House totally surpassed all the reviews! From the minute we booked Nicky answered all of our questions and queries quickly and was extremely helpful and friendly, making the whole process of booking our wedding accommodation so easy. From the minute we arrived the whole family at Epchris made our families and small dog feel completely welcome and at home. The hotel was immaculately clean, the rooms were all excellently presented and very comfortable. The hotel was in a perfect location for easy access to Tunnels Beaches and only a short walk to the town & harbour with plenty of parking. Each day we were presented with a wide choice of breakfast options including good vegetarians options. We were very fortunate with the weather which meant we were able to enjoy the lovely immaculate enormous garden too. The honesty bar worked very well and was a lovely place for the family to relax in the evenings. Nothing was too much trouble for Nicky and her family which meant we had a truly relaxing and lovely stay. On the actual wedding day Nicky was more than happy to welcome our wedding entourage (photographer, friends, florist, hairdresser etc) which helped everything run smoothly. Epchris House is a true gem!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonsam09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

When we arrived at Epchris house it was like being welcomed to the home of friends even though we had not stayed there before. Nothing was too much trouble and Nicky had tried to find out if there was any dancing in Ilfracombe during our stay there, E-mailing us with her findings before our arrival. We had a very pleasant room overlooking the beautiful gardens, and everything about the accommodation was spotlessly clean. There was good choice for breakfast and although guests are asked to choose what they wish to eat the day before, this is not set in stone and can be changed the next morning without any fuss. when my husband had an accident with the towel rail in the bathroom this was fixed without any fuss. The accommodation was close to Tunnel beaches, and we found visiting them an interesting experience. Ilfracombe is hilly but if you do not wish to use your car to go out in the evenings a slow stroll down to the harbour and a taxi back will not break the bank. Lovely to meet the very friendly dogs, at our request. Would like to think we will return. Thank you for a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We first went to Epchris House last September to see what accommodation was available near to The Tunnels wedding venue. The house is ideal especially if you have an invalid or someone who needs a ground floor bedroom. We have now just returned from a week's stay and we cannot recommend it enough. A fabulous house with truly wonderful owners. We took the Garden Room as our daughter was getting married at The Tunnels and it fitted the bill perfectly. A nice large room to accommodate all the ensemble on a wedding day. All rooms are spacious and fitted out with lovely oak furniture. We had recommended it to our friends and family who also stayed there with us. They were equally expressed with the comfort and cleanliness of the house. The choice for breakfast is comprehensive choosing from a full English to cereal and fruit. Nothing was too much trouble for Nicky and Rob. We even had an impromptu drinks party in the garden the day before the wedding. Every comfort is catered for and Nicky helps put everything together for you making it a wonderful experience with none of the worries. If your looking for comfort and a home from home this is definitely it.

Room Tip: All rooms are of a good size. There are a couple of family rooms if staying with children. The hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.4 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
482 reviews
1.2 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
449 reviews
1 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Collingdale Guest House
The Collingdale Guest House
#2 of 52 in Ilfracombe
394 reviews
0 mi away
The Woodlands
The Woodlands
#14 of 52 in Ilfracombe
120 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wildercombe House
Wildercombe House
#1 of 52 in Ilfracombe
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Epchris House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Epchris House

Address: Torrs Park, Ilfracombe EX34 8AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range: £83 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Epchris House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Epchris House is set in 1.5 acres of gardens with car parking & outdoor heated swimming pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Epchris House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epchris House Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing