We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely Guest House”
Review of Epchris House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Epchris House
Ranked #7 of 52 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stayed at the Epchris for one night for a brief break away from home and we are so glad we did. The owners are friendly and can't do enough to help. The guest house is really close to the main center and could be easily walked within fifteen. Due to arriving quite late we decided to get a taxi to the local Indian restaurant and were so surprised so find out how cheap they were! £2.50 for both of us! We were delighted! The room was great. It was absolutely massive, including a kingsize bed, sofa, ensuite bathroom and beautiful views over the valley. We were also really surprised to see that there was a dvd player with the tv and so we watched a dvd that we had brought with us! The breakfast is gorgeous and filling, and there is plenty to choose from. Overall a very pleasant stay and would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Ilfracombe.

Room Tip: Get a taxi to the harbour for £2.50!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jh1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed at Epchris House in July 2013 for our wedding at Tunnels Beaches and we could not have been made to feel more welcome! We hired all of the rooms over the weekend, and our guests were equally impressed with the warmth of the hospitality.

Nicky and her family did everything they could to make sure both us and our guests had an amazing stay in Ilfracombe, from local tips and recommendations, to being on hand whenever there was a pre-wedding panic!

The patio and garden made for a perfect relaxed setting for hosting friends and family for food and drinks the night before the wedding. Nicky even contacted a local delicatessen and helped us to arrange catering for our pre-wedding evening, as well as getting her son to help man the bar!

The rooms were spotless and the Garden Room was pure luxury. Breakfast was fantastic and certainly settled some post-wedding hangovers!

We want to say a huge thank you to Nicky and her family for making our stay so memorable - we literally could not recommend this place enough!!

Room Tip: The Garden Room is very spacious and was brilliant for all of the pre-wedding preparations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We had a brilliant stay on our anniversary in Oct, very nice bedroom clean & spacious. The breakfast was plentiful with good choices, The hospitality was suburb with a bottle of Red thrown in Brilliant. We will be back.

Room Tip: Great outside space to chill
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Nicky and her family (and wonderful dogs:) made our stay in Ilfracombe the most memorable wedding weekend we could have ever dreamed of.
We booked the whole house for our wedding at Tunnels Beaches for ourselves and our friends and Nicky was so friendly, attentive and welcoming it felt like we had just travelled from home to home. You couldn't notice she was around but the minute we needed something she was there with an iron, tea, coffee, balloon pump:), you name it!
Our room was amazing and so were all the other guests', breakfast was wonderful, and the garden is to die for.
We stayed in the garden room which was amazing for all the bridal preparations, and when we came back from our wedding there was a card and a bottle of champagne waiting for us!
All in all, this is a wonderful place to stay and I would highly recommend it for your stay in Ilfracombe.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank notesalves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

My wife and I stayed the Epchris 25/10 to 28/10/2013. Stayed in room 3 which was well appointed and very roomy. Good bathroom and shower facilities and well decorated and maintained. Nicky was very welcoming and helpful through out our stay. Breakfast was good and a wide choice was available. Very convenient for Ilfracombe, easily walkable and handy for trips a field. Car parking on site was readily available but a bit of a challenge for a larger vehicle (Mazda 5).
On the whole an excellent base and one I would not hesitate to recommend or use again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taxcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of nights after our wedding at Tunnels Beaches. The room was great, as was the breakfast, and Nicky and Rob were fantastic. There were little touches like the complimentary bottle of champagne when we returned from our wedding that really made this stay special. Although we have family a few miles away in Woolacombe, we're still thinking about going back to Epchris next year for our anniversary.

Highgly recommended, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coops-place
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Just spent 2 nights at the Epchris for a wedding and it was perfect. Nicky welcomed us with a text whilst we were on our way to Devon and then with a huge smile and a lovely welcome when we arrived. Our room was spacious and comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. The location is great for Ilfracombe town centre (if you don't mind a bit of a walk up a hill - but then the whole of Ilfracombe is on a hill so good luck finding anywhere on a flat surface!). The car par is on a bit of a scary slope - glad my husband parked the car. Would highly recommend the Epchris if you are going to a wedding at The Tunnels.

Room Tip: The Premier King is very spacious - Room 1 has a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaniH0103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.4 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
483 reviews
1.2 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
449 reviews
1 mi away
The Collingdale Guest House
The Collingdale Guest House
#2 of 52 in Ilfracombe
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Woodlands
The Woodlands
#15 of 52 in Ilfracombe
120 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wildercombe House
Wildercombe House
#1 of 52 in Ilfracombe
456 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Olive Branch
The Olive Branch
#8 of 52 in Ilfracombe
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Epchris House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Epchris House

Address: Torrs Park, Ilfracombe EX34 8AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range: £83 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Epchris House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Epchris House is set in 1.5 acres of gardens with car parking & outdoor heated swimming pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Epchris House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epchris House Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing