We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best mini break ever!!”
Review of Epchris House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Epchris House
Ranked #6 of 53 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

The 2 of us and my collie spaniel dog stayed at epchris house for 3 nights and we had the most incredible time. We stayed in the premier room which offered more space which was useful. Nikki was truly exceptional and I have never been made to feel so welcome anywhere else. Ilfracombe is a beautiful town and recommend this B & B to everyone!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

From the minute I arrived I was welcomed and nothing was too much trouble, the owners were friendly, helpful and made me feel at home. The room was beautiful, clean and spacious. The gardens were stunning and enormous and the food and service excellent. I could not find one fault the the entire stay

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank CarlR1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed at Epchris with our family in July 2014 for our wedding at Tunnels Beaches. The house is lovely with beautiful grounds and a swimming pool! We had the Garden Room which is perfect for the bride & groom and is plenty big enough for bride and bridal party to get ready together in the morning. We spent a few days here before and after the wedding to spend time with our family and see the sites of Ilfracombe :-) Epchris is an easy walk to the Tunnels Beaches and a 15 min walk to restaurants etc, but equally we did get Taxi's fairly often and they were very well priced.

Nicky was a fantastic host and always on hand with help and advice.

Would absolutely recommend whether it be as a wedding party, wedding guests or just for a holiday in Devon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamP789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

From the time of arriving to time we departed we felt welcome and relaxed. The rooms had all you need for a comfortable stay and the service was first class. We stayed for a wedding at the tunnels and took up all the rooms for a couple of nights. Everyone commented on how clean and well run the place was. As mentioned in other reviews the gardens are well maintained with fantastic views from the patio area. We had other members of the wedding party staying in other accommodation and they came and spent some time with us which was not a problem for Nicky who made them feel welcome as well. We had a fantastic stay and highly recommend you stay, we will be staying there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We had a fantastic experience at Epchris House. We live in London but had decided to get married at Tunnels beaches and were looking for somewhere nice and relaxed to stay during our wedding period. We definitely found a perfect home from home in this guesthouse, it is homely, warm and relaxed and the running of it is very professional and efficient. Nicky is SO accomodating and helpful and her expertise didn't stop at her wonderful guesthouse, she helped us with several other things like finding a local florist too!
The surroundings are also fantastic, which include the lovely pool. The bridal suite is spacious, beautifully decorated and very fit for purpose! Our wedding weekend was made very special by staying here. Thoroughly recommend! Ps Breakfast is yummy too!

Room Tip: If you are getting married or just want space choose the garden room, if not all the other rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Penn-guin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This excellent B&B is a lovely old house in a neighbourhood of stately Victorian brick homes. Very friendly owners! Our room was bright, clean and lovely, with an immaculate bathroom. Epchris House boasts a fabulous garden with a patio, a swimming pool, and is a short walk to downtown Ilfracombe. Delicious, generous breakfasts start the day off right. A winner of a B&B!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank toad55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We occupied all 9 rooms for our daughter's wedding at Tunnels Beaches in June. The setting with lovely gardens and outside seating were perfect as we had a pre-wedding buffet for 50 organised by Nicky and family along with a local Deli - all excellent and stress free due to the care and attention provided. All rooms are spacious, well furnished with an apart style room ( garden room) taken by the bride and groom - ideal for wedding preparation. Breakfast - very good and freshly cooked - great room for gathering of friends and family. Nicky extremely helpful and went the extra mile prior to our visit on many planning issues towards the wedding. Weather was also glorious!

Room Tip: All spacious and well furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.4 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
446 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
392 reviews
1.2 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#10 of 20 in Ilfracombe
219 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#17 of 20 in Ilfracombe
342 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Epchris House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Epchris House

Address: Torrs Park, Ilfracombe EX34 8AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range: £82 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Epchris House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Epchris House is set in 1.5 acres of gardens with car parking & outdoor heated swimming pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, LateRooms, Agoda, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Epchris House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epchris House Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing