We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and personalised service”
Review of Adele's Cafe

Adele's Cafe
Ranked #7 of 120 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly and personalised service”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My son and I popped in here for a quick bite to eat (had had enough of the seafood restaurants by this point) as it was recommended by locals, was not disappointed - extremely friendly and personal service from the staff who had no trouble sorting out our food (not an easy task as my son has some rather severe food intolerances) - we can highly recommend Adele's café to the next lot of weary and hungry bypassers.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paddington2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    70
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OK breakfast but nothing special”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We had breakfast here twice. Enjoyed the ambience but not the scrambled eggs which had been microwaved and the toast which was made with pallid white sliced bread...... It's a pretty standard café, but it is nicely decorated and laid out, and with a bit more attention to the quality of ingredients and cooking thereof it would be excellent. Can't quite understand why it is rated so highly on TripAdvisor, to be honest.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris030156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Busy cafe in prime location”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We had read the positive reviews so were expecting something special. The cafe was certainly busy when we visited it but I'm not quite sure why when there are numerous other establishments around and the food we ate was nothing more than average. Perhaps the location has something to do with it's popularity as it is the first one you come to walking from the harbour and is on a corner with a double aspect frontage.
The fish finger sandwich contained more breadcrumbs than fish and had a small uninspired salad on the side. The vegetarian pasty was not good at all with the pastry undercooked and then warmed in a microwave - the most serious pastry crime ever!
The cafe has a 5 star hygiene rating but I really think that opening a food packet with your teeth as one member of staff preparing food did is probably not that hygienic...
The staff were friendly enough but If this is considered to be one of the best cafés in Ilfracombe then I can't imagine what the others must be like. Sorry.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellant food”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

A great little café. The staff were very friendly and attentive. The food was really good value and very well cooked. It's "only" a café but it is a great one, well worth visiting if you are in town.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rem G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean, pretty, good old-fashioned English cafe”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Typical Cafe menu, good service and average value. A real mix of diners - from builders and locals to tourist families (like us!)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Will B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Adele's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Adele's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing