We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service but stuck in the 1970s”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Burnside Guest House
Ranked #29 of 52 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly service but stuck in the 1970s”
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We recently stayed here for 2 nights and we could not fault the owners, who were very welcoming and friendly, whilst offering us advice about the sights in the local area. The room was clean and well presented, but the decor and furniture were very much of a time (not recent). The rules were also stuck in something of a time-warp, such as breakfast between 8.30 and 9, and a ban on eating any hot food in your room. The breakfast itself was a bit disappointing and having the kitchen door open directly onto the dining area, with accompanying sounds of deep frying did not whet the appetite. Nevertheless, the friendliness of the owners', together with the reasonable price and comfortable bed, make this a decent enough option

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davey712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    13
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
39
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
hereford
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

My Wife,and i together with my parents stayed at the Burnside Guest House, and could not have been made more at home with our hosts Sandie,and David.
It was clean,tidy and very comfortable four poster bed.
Davids cooked breakfast was first class, and Sandie making sure that we all had plenty to eat, so if you are planning to stay in Ilfracombe, do not hesitate to contact The Burnside Guest House first.
Thank you again,Sandie and David for looking after us,Neil,Pat,Cath,and Les.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neilmowglie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed here in March 2012 for 2 nights. Our Hosts David and Sandie could not have been more helpful or considerate. Home cooked breakfast was excellent. My wife is a coeliac and they made every preparation to have the right foods available for her at breakfast. Much appreciated.

Room Tip: Just place youselves in their hands.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnthonyHendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Received a very warm welcome from our hosts, Sandie and Dave who waited up as we had travelled down from London. The rooms were very clean, spacious as well as the bed being very comfortable. It was good that we could park off road. The hosts were a mine of good ideas as to what we could do within the area. Dave cooked the breakfast to order whilst we had a cuppa and a catch up on local news. We plan to return for a clay shooting weekend with hosts Dave & Sandie soon, I highly recommend their B&B as nothing was of any trouble to the hosts.....

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

A charming little B and B, just a twenty minutes walk to the town centre. First impression is of a well maintained property, with off street car parking. The room was clean, spacious, and the four poster bed was very comfortable. We were made to feel very welcome, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was very good, we could have as much or as little as we wanted..
We were overlooking the main street, which could at times be quite busy with traffic. There was some traffic noise at times when we had the window open, but not enough to be a problem to us.

Room Tip: We had room one,a very spacious room,with a four poster bed, large wardrobe and plenty of cupboards...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elland, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2012

I cannot emphasize enough, the generosity, honesty and genuine openess of both Sandie and Dave.
We have been attending Burnside now for three years and we have yet to be disappointed.
Originally chosen from the internet because of shot gun safety.
Dave and Sandie both shoot and could allow us to relax from the police regulations.
Since then we have learn't a great deal.
Genuine friendliness and interest from our host's.
An exceptionally clean, well maintained and comfortable establishment.
Each visit becomes more like visiting home again.
The beds cause sleep almost immediately, the breakfast fills you until supper time, the realaxed atmosphere allows complete restoration of the soul.
We have not yet found another B&B of this calibre.
We will return again and again - Sorry Sandie, Sorry Dave.
Thanks for the warmest welcome and the comforting feeling we leave with.

Room Tip: Take your pick, every room has it's own personal taste. Our's is the one at the back. And i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Good:Location, quite room.Owners helpful.
Bad:Room smelled musty, bed uncomfortable.
Breakfast not great.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The2of
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.6 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
400 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dorchester Guest House
Dorchester Guest House
#5 of 52 in Ilfracombe
232 reviews
1.9 mi away
High Ways House
High Ways House
#1 of 1 in Mullacott
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
567 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#9 of 20 in Ilfracombe
208 reviews
1.0 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burnside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnside Guest House

Property: Burnside Guest House
Address: 34 St. Brannocks Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Burnside Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Priceline and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Burnside Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burnside Guest House Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing