We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant B&B, couldn't recommend enough!!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Burnside Guest House
Ranked #27 of 53 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night with my husband, room was superb. Very well located, walk to Ilfracombe high street, very near. The owners excel at making you feel at home, they know all the great spots to visit around the area too. Breakfast was brilliant, lots of choice/variety. All freshly cooked, fruit, cereals, coffee...you name it!
Will definitely come again very soon, thank you!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SofiaLucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Burnside Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

Our 2nd stay at at The Burnside. Immaculate rooms, very comfortable, great breakfast and very pleasant and helpful owners. We had the Four poster room this time and really appreciated the comfy sofa and flat screen tv.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariath63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We recently stayed here for 2 nights and we could not fault the owners, who were very welcoming and friendly, whilst offering us advice about the sights in the local area. The room was clean and well presented, but the decor and furniture were very much of a time (not recent). The rules were also stuck in something of a time-warp, such as breakfast between 8.30 and 9, and a ban on eating any hot food in your room. The breakfast itself was a bit disappointing and having the kitchen door open directly onto the dining area, with accompanying sounds of deep frying did not whet the appetite. Nevertheless, the friendliness of the owners', together with the reasonable price and comfortable bed, make this a decent enough option

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davey712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

My Wife,and i together with my parents stayed at the Burnside Guest House, and could not have been made more at home with our hosts Sandie,and David.
It was clean,tidy and very comfortable four poster bed.
Davids cooked breakfast was first class, and Sandie making sure that we all had plenty to eat, so if you are planning to stay in Ilfracombe, do not hesitate to contact The Burnside Guest House first.
Thank you again,Sandie and David for looking after us,Neil,Pat,Cath,and Les.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neilmowglie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed here in March 2012 for 2 nights. Our Hosts David and Sandie could not have been more helpful or considerate. Home cooked breakfast was excellent. My wife is a coeliac and they made every preparation to have the right foods available for her at breakfast. Much appreciated.

Room Tip: Just place youselves in their hands.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnthonyHendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Received a very warm welcome from our hosts, Sandie and Dave who waited up as we had travelled down from London. The rooms were very clean, spacious as well as the bed being very comfortable. It was good that we could park off road. The hosts were a mine of good ideas as to what we could do within the area. Dave cooked the breakfast to order whilst we had a cuppa and a catch up on local news. We plan to return for a clay shooting weekend with hosts Dave & Sandie soon, I highly recommend their B&B as nothing was of any trouble to the hosts.....

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

A charming little B and B, just a twenty minutes walk to the town centre. First impression is of a well maintained property, with off street car parking. The room was clean, spacious, and the four poster bed was very comfortable. We were made to feel very welcome, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was very good, we could have as much or as little as we wanted..
We were overlooking the main street, which could at times be quite busy with traffic. There was some traffic noise at times when we had the window open, but not enough to be a problem to us.

Room Tip: We had room one,a very spacious room,with a four poster bed, large wardrobe and plenty of cupboards...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
1.0 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
441 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Collingdale Guest House
The Collingdale Guest House
#2 of 53 in Ilfracombe
386 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
606 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mullacott Farm
Mullacott Farm
#22 of 53 in Ilfracombe
117 reviews
1.9 mi away
High Ways House
High Ways House
#1 of 1 in Mullacott
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burnside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnside Guest House

Address: 34 St. Brannocks Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range: £59 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Burnside Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Burnside Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burnside Guest House Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing