We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely experience”
Review of Gabriel House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gabriel House
Ranked #8 of 52 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This is a very small establishment, so when I arrived early, I was not surprised that the hosts were not available...but they had left a mobile number and directed me to my room.It was beautiful...with a sea view to die for.Isought out my hosts during the evening to order my breakfast..they were charming and welcoming,
Breakfast...Wow I had ordered the works..eggs/bacon/sausages/mushrooms/beans/tomatoes/black pudding..absolutely fabulous..and then they had MARMITE !!!! Top rated stay

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gabrielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

Lovely B&B opposite the Theater with sea views has parking. We had a beautiful room and were well looked after by the owners. Fantastic breakfast which you pre order the night before. Would definitely stay again, but as only three rooms available make sure you booked well in advance.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Just returned from a lovely stay at Gabriel House, Tricia offers a very warm welcome and couldn't have been any more helpful. Our room (Enya) was good and the breakfasts were superb, lovely locally sourced produce, Tricia and John really made the stay a joy and I would certainly not stay anywhere else when returning to Ilfracombe.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DP777XYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We had a lovely room with bay window overlooking the sea and the children had a twin room with the same view. The room was spacious and tastefully decorated. John and Patricia were both very friendly and breakfast choices were excellent. Safe off road parking although a little difficult to find and very steep slope up to the house. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hazel141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

just had a short break, room was very clean, excellent breakfast outstanding value for money Great choice for breakfast..Very centrally located.Would definitely visit again.Highly recommended must go back again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank eap1186342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I had such a wonderful time at Gabriel house. I was greeted by the lovely Tricia and led to my beautiful room that overlooked the beach, practically a stones throw away from the hotel. There are so many positive points I could sit here and tell you about- the delicious breakfast, fantastic location, kind hosts who even gave me a lift to my friends bnb, small touches in the room- the beautiful body creams and comfiest bed ever with the view of the waves as I woke up!

My stay at Gabriel house just topped off an already great weekend, as I was in Ilfracombe for my best friends wedding. I would highly recommend this place to friends and family. Thanks, and I will defintely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taity22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We had made a reservation earlier and when we go to Gabriel House, we were so surprised to be ushered into the best room in the house!! The view was outstanding-right on the water and the most spectacular view of the shoreline. We would for sure book this one again on our return.

Room Tip: Book early as there are only a few rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
3.0 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
633 reviews
2.5 mi away
High Ways House
High Ways House
#1 of 1 in Mullacott
13 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#17 of 20 in Ilfracombe
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
447 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
456 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Darnley Hotel
The Darnley Hotel
#10 of 20 in Ilfracombe
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gabriel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gabriel House

Address: Gabriel House Wilder Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range: £49 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gabriel House was originally built for a sea captain around 1880. It is now converted into 3 beautiful apartments and a stylish B&B.We have our own car park, so if you are enroute to Lundy Island why not stay with us and park your car? Ilfracombe Harbour is just a 5 min walk. We have 2 double rooms Helena is a double at the front of the house with a spectacular sea views. It has a large en-suite walk in shower room. Anya is at the rear of the house and overlooks and has access to the back garden. It has a four poster bed and a full en-suite bathroom/shower room. The Cabin room is a twin with wonderful views over the beach and out to sea. It has a en-suite shower room.All rooms have flat screen TV’s with sky free view . They have built in DVD’s and we have a selection available.The whole house has Wi-Fi so you can keep in touch with work if you have too!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gabriel House Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing