We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small and friendly B & B”
Review of Acorn Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Acorn Lodge
Ranked #21 of 52 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“small and friendly B & B”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Hugh and Anne run a lovely small B & B just down the road from the Harbour in Ilfracombe....the rooms are cozy and clean and the breakfast amazing. They are a welcoming couple from Ireland with lots of interesting info for trips around the area and restaurants to eat in....we went to the Italian over the road Giovanni and Luca's and Smugglers....both delicious and value for money meals..

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hope0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    16
    4
    5
    3
See reviews for
19
48
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Me and my husband look forward to going to stay at acorn lodge ever year, we have been there every year since 2008 ,Ann and Hugh are so friendly they make you feel at home as soon as u get there the rooms are all lovely and clean and the beds are so comfy to sleep on. Ann's lovely cooked breakfast in the morning and there lovely friendly smiles is why we keep going back I would not even look at staying anywhere else but with Ann and Hugh its just to nice there for words claire and john Lynes- booth Banbury

Room Tip: All room are lovely and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 958clairel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2013

I stayed here one night, in order to get the ferry the following morning.

Very welcoming and friendly hosts - made me feel right at home. Easy to chat to, good knowledge on local area and generally v pleasant people! I stayed in the single "Lundy room" - a small but great room, had everything I needed, with toilet next door and shower on floor above. Comfortable, quiet, clean and quite cool (can't stand places with the heating on full blast). The rest of the b&b is very nice inside, incl. dining room with nice bright windows looking out onto the patio. Breakfast was tasty, well cooked, with good selection of fruit/cereals etc. The Acorn Lodge is well situated, v close to the harbour. It is not marked correctly on Google maps - but easy to find by walking.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Questkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2013

I took my wife & 6yr old daughter to Ilfracombe for the weekend to visit family, Anne & Hugh were excellent hosts and nothing was too much trouble for them.
We had a lovely warm and comfortable room and breakfast was amazing!
I would highly recommend this Guest House and I will be definitely staying here again at the end of April 2013 when I return to Ilfracombe...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We booked a couple of nights here as somewhere cheap to stay while we attended a wedding in the area, upon arrival we were given a warm welcome and were pleasantly surprised by our room which was spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated.
Breakfast on both mornings was lovely and Anne and Hugh couldn't do enough to make sure we had everything we needed.
Would stay here again if we're ever in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 00pooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

once again Hugh and Ann made our stay a very happy one with excellent service, warm smiles, lovely comfortable ,clean rooms . we can't wait to go back. we would recommend Acorn lodge to everyone and make sure you try the cream teas served in the lovely garden

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deeside
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

stayed at this lodge for a week the lady was realy nice but the man was very rude he judged my husband (boyfriend at the time )cos he lived in a hostel i hadnt seen him for 6 months he wouldnt let him in hotel the room was nothing like in broucher i was stuck in the attic it was clean the breakfast was nice wuold never stay here again spoilt my holiday

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smantha1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.4 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
208 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Harbour Lights B&B
The Harbour Lights B&B
#12 of 52 in Ilfracombe
152 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sea Breeze House
Sea Breeze House
#17 of 52 in Ilfracombe
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Wentworth House
Wentworth House
#25 of 52 in Ilfracombe
62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harcourt Hotel
Harcourt Hotel
#5 of 52 in Ilfracombe
183 reviews
0.6 mi away
Epchris House
Epchris House
#8 of 52 in Ilfracombe
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Lodge

Property: Acorn Lodge
Address: 4 St. James Place, Ilfracombe EX34 9BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Acorn Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you from this friendly, family run bed and breakfast, seaside guest house. This ilfracombe accommodation is the best located & is just one minute from the Heritage Harbour, Landmark Theatre, Romantic Restaurants, Ancient Pubs and the local Bus Station/ National Express Coach Stop.Our accommodation in ilfracombe is ideal for Boat Ferries and Day Trips to Lundy Island and the Exmoor Coast. We are on the Southwest Coast path. Acorn Lodge has a history of providing accommodation of the highest standard for traditional B & B Devon in England. All rooms are tastefully decorated with central heating, colour TV and hot drinks facilities, Ideal for short mid week breaks, weekends, over night stays or that week or two longer. Non smoking. Sorry no pets allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Acorn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acorn Lodge Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing