We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”

Giovanni's & Luca's
Ranked #6 of 120 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Penarth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Really lovely Italian restaurant; the décor might be a little dated, but don't be fooled! Beautiful (big) homemade pizzas and I had a delicious pasta dish. Garlic bread was scrumptious! Service was great.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    136
    40
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Typical Italian eatery with large menu”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We had a perfectly ok meal taken from an enormous menu, never a good sign. The food was ok but certainly not memorable. Service was good.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank CK4545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing ”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

The food is top class and all homemade. The pizza was the best italian pizza i have ever had. Very friendly staff and couldn't help enough. Very reasonably priced.

Helpful?
Thank Krisbutler02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“looking for dominos”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

we were looking around ilfracombe for a pizza place, there were a couple of fried chicken/pizza chips places on the high street that we didn't fancy but thought we might have to try before finding an authentic looking place a little further down, just as we were about to go in we asked a local if it was any good but he told us giovanni and lucas was the best in town for pizza, and he was not wrong, we called en route to ask if we could get take out and what vegetarian options they had, they were really friendly, said we could have any combination of toppings we wanted and they would have them done in around 10 - 15 mins, we walked back down in 5 mins and were welcomed, sat at the bar with a peroni and watched a busy restaurant full of happy, satisfied customers, we took our pizzas back to the hotel and they were incredible. some of the best either of us ever had, authentic italian. faultless.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank acetone9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Put this in your diary”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We regularly visit this slightly quirky looking bistro on trips to North Devon and on this trip we went on our last night. We quickly determined that we won't leave it late on our next visit. The fare on offer here is simply excellent, a vast menu, a super reasonably priced wine list (we were served an excellent thoroughly chilled Verdicchio at £16.95) and service second to none.
Previous reviewers talked about the pizza and so in tribute these were tested and I have to say came up trumps, amongst the best I have ever tried.
Perfection.
Pollo Milanese is a favourite and was well received, crisp and yet succulent, the bolognese tasty and fresh.
The place was full on Saturday night and a good atmosphere happily not drowned out by intrusive music.
We will be back, it's in the diary..

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank prince0ffair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Giovanni's & Luca's also viewed

 

Been to Giovanni's & Luca's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing