We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend break”
Review of Laston House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Laston House
Ranked #17 of 53 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Just returned home after a lovely weekend in Ilfracombe, and a great stay at Laston House. The owners have only been there for 6 months, but they have created a wonderfully warm and welcoming home from home. Abi and Greg made every effort to make sure that we enjoyed our stay, and from the fab little touches such as homemade brownies on arrival, to the delicious breakfast and recommendations for what to see and do locally Laston House ticked all the boxes for a great base for a holiday expoloring North Devon - we'll be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheeba16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2011

A lovely period house which retains history within its spacious walls and gardens. Our hosts Ali and Greg did everything possible to make our stay relaxing and enjoyable.
The position allows the easiest walking possible for Ilfracombe to the shops, promenade, and harbour.
Take the costal path directly opposite through Hillsborough park and within 15 minutes you are looking down over the Town and can continue on to the next bay called Hele Bay.
In the other direction you walk along the Promenade past Tunnels Beach and take the costal Path to Lee plenty of seats in both directions and the views are spectacular.

Room Tip: The rooms are well proportioned with most having garden or sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugh36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Had a great three days at laston House, the place has been refurbished by the new owners and is of a very high standard. A great touch is being met with a coffee when you arrive after a long drive, and the couple who run the place could not be more helpful. Room was big with views of the sea in the distance. Just a short walk to the harbour of Ilfracombe, and a nice local pub very near. Breakfast was great and very good quality and the place was excellent value for money.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gaz2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

An inviting property with fantastic features, sheltered almost secluded location with the most amazing views of the coast. A receptive and accommodating stay is guaranteed from hosts Greg and Abi, with a generous and heartening breakfast a certain winner, wifi was a pleasant surprise and therefore suitable to business users and holiday makers alike. Minutes walk from all the amenities and harbour. Cleanliness and attention to detail is apparent throughout, I congratulate the pair of you for the obvious hard work and the high standards achieved as a result. Hope to see you again soon. Darren Meharg d.meharg@yahoo.co.uk

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DMeharg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We travelled with our boisterous 2 year old son,having not stayed in a B&B before as a family were a little nervous, but we were greeted with the perfect place to stay. A stunning house, grand hallway and large guest sitting room with TV, books, guides,wifi that has calming views over the lovely garden.tastefully decorated, with childrens books and small basket of toys around. Our room was superb, huge windows overlooking the garden and sea beyond, incredibly spacious and travel cot ready made, with toys and books in the room made us all feel very welcome. Lovely fluffy towels, crisp bedlinen and stylish room decor made it feel a real treat; those homemade biscuits are wonderful and lots of tea and coffee is great. Breakfast was delicious, fresh local fruit, cereal and choice of full english and the scrumptious Nigella Pancakes!
Greg and Abi were the perfect hosts and the house is amazing, the views and location make it a must for visiting Ilfracombe, walking distance from harbour, beach and town and having a relaxing holiday. We would love to come back!

Room Tip: Room 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bubba_jb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Laston House Hotel should be listed in every guide book. The rooms are immaculate, the sea view from the bedrooms is stunning and the garden is amazing. As soon as you walk through the door, you realise that this breathtaking BB is run by an extraordinary couple, Greg and Abi. They make you feel at home, cook delicous breakfasts and even provide homemade cookies for the journey. We will definitely revisit Laston House Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ozlem76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

We have just returned form 3 wonderful days stay at laston house in Illfracombe. there was nothing abut our stay that we could fault from the wonderful views from the bedrooms to the fantastic breakfast. the owners are a wonderful couple who cannot do enough to ensure that yur stay with them is everything you would want from a holiday.

laston house is convienient for anyone not wanting to drive back out at night for meals as it is only abut a 5 min walk from the harbour.

thanks for a wonderful 3 days.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bigdave108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.6 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
446 reviews
0.4 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
447 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#10 of 20 in Ilfracombe
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Collingdale Guest House
The Collingdale Guest House
#2 of 53 in Ilfracombe
393 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wildercombe House
Wildercombe House
#1 of 53 in Ilfracombe
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laston House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laston House

Address: Laston House New Barnstaple Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range: £73 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Laston House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run, Grade 2 listed Regency property stood in 3 acres of woodland overlooking Hillsborough headland and the sea. We have 7 en-suite bedrooms, and a single bedroom with separate shower room, we also have a number of family/interlinking rooms. Open all year. Onsite parking. Easy access down to the harbour, just a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Laston House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laston Hotel Ilfracombe
Laston House Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing