We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laston House”
Review of Laston House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Laston House
Ranked #14 of 53 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
long eaton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Laston House”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Agree with all other reviews. Abi and Greg lovely hosts and the building terrific. Only stayed the one night but would thoroughly recommend.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SJRlongeaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    32
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
38
82
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We used Laston House as a base for the extended family when we were in Ilfracombe for our younger son's wedding. It was a perfect venue made all the more so by Abi and Greg who did all they could to make sure we enjoyed ourselves. The house is a lovely building retaining many original features, the rooms tastefully furnished and decorated, and (unusually in our experience) there is a huge lounge available, so guests are not restricted to their rooms. The breakfast menu met all our requirements, including those of our young grandchildren. You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are most convenient, immediately inside the front door: on the other hand, upstai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adrian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012 via mobile

Great building with large, well appointed rooms and spacious communal areas for relaxing. The building is traditionally built and so the walls are thick making the rooms nice and quiet. We had interconnecting rooms for the family which worked very well.

With the wooded hill behind the house you could believe that you were out in the country.

Close to the town and harbour areas it is in easy reach of all the local bars and restaurants.

I'd certainly recommend Laston House and would gladly stay here again.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We would like to highlight what a wonderful place Laston House is. The owners are lovely, very welcoming and could'nt do enough for us, this is a magical house, full of charm and character, and it is really child friendly too. The rooms are spacious, breakfast is delightful and we are already planning our next stay!! The hotel is friendly, warm and relaxed whilst still keeping with the grandeur of the building and its surroundings. Lovely lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsmacca186377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Laston House Hotel

A very nice house in a great location, Greg and Abi are friendly owner managers. Comfortable rooms, clean and well presented. The breakfast was good but could probably do with a bit of refining. This is obviously a project in progress and I can see the direction they are going. I imagine that as time and money allows improvements will come on stream and could become a very des-res b&b.
The price is about right at £70 per room per night. My wife and I had a very enjoyable stay in an area that we have not travelled before; I will certainly come again….
…..tonyfmarsh

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Latetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stayed here for one night on a tour of the South West Coast. The hotel was easy to find with ample parking in a lovely setting. It is about a 10 min walk to the harbour or 15 min walk into town.

Hospitality was excellent & hosts were friendly & helpful. We were in room no.1, on the ground floor near the door. It was clean, fresh & tastefully decorated with an en suite shower room. Bed was super comfy & there was minimal noise from the front door. The lounge area is a nice touch & just as lovely as the room.

There was a good selection of items at breakfast from cereal to full English with great service.

The only reasons for not giving Laston house 5/5 are that the WiFi did not reach the room, there was no iron/ironing board in the room (although I am sure that the hosts would of provided one is asked) & the TV was on a small fold out table at the bottom of the bed.

Thanks for a great stay, we will be back if ever in the area again!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacNCheese100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twyford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stayed at the Laston House as we were going to a wedding in Ilfracombe. We arrived at a time other than we had thought when we first booked and we were so grateful to be offered breakfast (even though it was after service had finished).
The room was lovely and looked over the garden and out to sea. It looked like it was recenty decorated and was very fresh.
Good location for the town and far enough away to be quiet and very restful. Would definitely recommend and I have never written a review for Trip Advisor before.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyMcSaunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.3 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
402 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
372 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Strathmore Guest House
Strathmore Guest House
#9 of 20 in Ilfracombe
55 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
207 reviews
0.9 mi away
Epchris House
Epchris House
#8 of 53 in Ilfracombe
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laston House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laston House

Property: Laston House
Address: Laston House New Barnstaple Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Laston House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run, Grade 2 listed Regency property stood in 3 acres of woodland overlooking Hillsborough headland and the sea. We have 7 en-suite bedrooms, and a single bedroom with separate shower room, we also have a number of family/interlinking rooms. Open all year. Onsite parking. Easy access down to the harbour, just a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Laston House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laston Hotel Ilfracombe
Laston House Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing