We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of Laston House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Laston House
Ranked #15 of 52 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We came to stay at Laston House last summer, not long after the lovely owners Abi and Greg had taken over, and what a super job they have done. Although Laston House is a beautiful building anyway, they have obviously been working hard to create a really special place to stay, with no small detail left unattended. The hotel now has a real boutique feel, though still with all the warmth, hospitality and personal touches that we look for in a B&B. Our bedroom on the ground floor was spacious, light and beautifully decorated - and the bed super comfy. As always Abi and Greg made us very welcome, and had lots of time for us, chatting to us about the local area and recommending things for us to do. Would highly recommend a wander down to the harbour to see Verity, Damien Hursts latest addition to the town. We were lucky enough to be staying over New Year with friends of ours and we all came away agreeing that it was one of our best New Year celebrations, Laston House was the perfect place to see in 2013 and Abi and Greg made us feel like friends rather than guests!
We're already planning our next visit!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheeba16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    32
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
38
83
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2013

I took my four year old son to stay at Laston House as a new year treat, and what a treat it was! We were greeted by the lovely Abi and Greg with a much needed cup of tea and home made Christmas cake, perfect after a long train journey. As there was just the two of us we shared a single room and had use of a brand new bathroom with power shower, I even had a clean dressing gown hung up waiting for me. The view was great over the harbour and a short walk away we could admire Verity, or Liberty as my son prefers to call the impressive new statue.
The grand staircase gives the feeling of another time and the main lounge looked splendid decked out in homemade paper chains. Evan enjoyed the lounge as there was various games for him to be entertained by and nice snugly blankets on the backs of comfy armchairs to nurse my New Years Day hangover at the same time.
Laston House feels like a luxury you should feel guilty about but at this price there is no need! Will be looking forward to my next stay in 2013

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loorerjayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

A mixed establishment- we never got the warm welcome earlier reviews indicated and we left the room immediatly as it was so cold and felt damp. Later on it did warm up. The reading lamps were so eco friendly they were a little dull. The bed was excellent and warm duvet. Breakfasts were large and extra tea and coffee offered. Scrambled egg was excellent. No fruit available. No light on dressing table. The sitting room looked lovely but when we came to watch TV the family were in there so we retreated to our bedroom.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeFitz1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We have just returned from a lovely reviving new year break in Ilfracombe. We stayed at Laston House during the summer and this was just as enjoyable in the winter. The house looked beautiful and welcoming with lovely festive decorations and a roaring log fire in the guest lounge. Breakfast was spot on, We had the very spacious room 6 with amazing views and a massive bed which makes our kingsize at home now seem small!
There was plenty of exploring to do and we enjoyed some lovely walks on Woolacombe beach watching some pretty hardcore/mad surfers.We were very impressed with the 'Play Hut (indoor soft play area) and the tunnel beaches in Ilfracombe.
Thank you Greg and Abby for another relaxing stay xx

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salxfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Just stayed 2 nights here but enjoyed the spacious bedroom and the huge sitting room which is available to guests to relax together if they wish. Great breakfast in yet another huge room with a view out over the lawn and down to the sea. Laston House is just a few minutes walk from the harbour but feels quite rural because of the large gardens in which there is a secure large parking area - which is unusual in this town. In 2 days in Ilfracombe I saw nowhere else that I would have preferred. The harbour is a much shorter walk than it is to drive because you can walk straight down a road which is one way (upwards). there's a fair slope coming back up, but is not far. The hosts are still working on redecoration but this is not disruptive at all, and they are most friendly and hospitable. Wifi was pretty weak in ground floor room, but fine in the sitting room. A stronger router might sort this.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Stayed 24th -25th October 2012.Would highly recommend this hotel.We were greeted with a warm welcome(and a cup of tea) from Greg the owner and his good lady.They were most helpful with local knowledge(restaurants ,Taxis etc)during our stay.Great quality breakfasts with plenty of tea.Hope to return in the summer 2013

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy,Bedfordshire.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We first stayed at the Laston House Hotel about 25 years ago so was returning to see what its like today. Well it changed hands about 2 years ago and is now run by Abi & Greg and there children.They have embarked on a refurbishment which is progressing well and with there friendly personalities and the service they are happy to provide customers they will do very well.
Perfect for families.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterR_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.7 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
393 reviews
0.3 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
419 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Strathmore Guest House
Strathmore Guest House
#9 of 20 in Ilfracombe
55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
363 reviews
0.9 mi away
Epchris House
Epchris House
#8 of 52 in Ilfracombe
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laston House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laston House

Property: Laston House
Address: Laston House New Barnstaple Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Laston House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run, Grade 2 listed Regency property stood in 3 acres of woodland overlooking Hillsborough headland and the sea. We have 7 en-suite bedrooms, and a single bedroom with separate shower room, we also have a number of family/interlinking rooms. Open all year. Onsite parking. Easy access down to the harbour, just a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your Laston House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laston Hotel Ilfracombe
Laston House Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing