We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable and relaxed”
Review of Laston House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Laston House
Ranked #14 of 53 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shaw, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable and relaxed”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Just recently returned from a weeks break. Couldn't fault our choice. We had the Super King room very light, spacious and fantastic sea view. Gregg, Abbie and family were lovely felt very at home, Only a five minute walk to Harbour so very handy and good parking. Will definately visit again.

Room Tip: We had room 6 very spacious, maybe lighting could be a little better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    32
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
38
82
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

not the easiest place to find. check in was a bit haphazard, was part of a wedding party who had booked the hotel almost enbloc. the room we were allocated was on 1st floor. number 3. it had a large window with views over the hills and harbour. obviously the others had had ist choice of rooms for when we viewed them it was obvious we had the worst room in hotel. the bathroom had been separated from bedroom by a partition wall, which made it long and far too narrow. the single occupancy rooms had separate bathrooms which were far superior to our ensuite.
breakfasts were freshly cooked to order and were a very good start to the day.
the hotel lacks a bar, probably would not go back as ilfracombe seems a very quiet little place

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stimmbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This was my third trip to ilfracombe and our third stay at Laston House. Am happy to report that it was every bit as perfect as always! Abi and Greg are wonderful hosts and couldn't do enough to ensure that we had everything we needed. The bed was super comfy (I think the beds all have memory foam
Mattress toppers which is a much appreciated extra!!) the room was beautifully decorated with a lovely sea view, and the breakfast was delicious. Ilfracombe gets better each time we visit and with a few new galleries and some lovely new restaurants this year, there's lots to do and see. Looking forward to next years visit already!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheeba16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Wonderful service, gorgeous rooms, yummy breakfast. It doesn't get any better than this. This is an exceptional place run by lovely people, I cannot recommend it highly enough. The harbour is only a 5 minute walk away and Ilfracombe has plenty to offer for everyone. I adored my trip to Laston House and will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmalouise56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I have stayed here many times whilst visiting a Pilates studio nearby.
I love the charm of this period building. The rooms are wonderfully large but still maintain a cosy feel.
Abi and Greg are lovely,welcoming and very helpful.
Breakfasts wonderful,rooms very clean.
I most definitely recommend you stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Me and my other half stayed here for 4 nights early August for a couply break before our first baby arrives in November. The building is full of period charm and is set in a well kept garden at the top of a hill looking down on the sea (behind some houses). We had the downstairs room (number 2) and could see the sea from our room.
Laston House has been well done out - not straying from the period feel of the house whilst managing to give a light, contemporary edge. Breakfast was also excellent and the service we received whilst here was very good.
My only criticisms were that the mattress was a little bit hard for our liking and also, there was no shelf in the shower which was a bit difficult for my pregnant tummy in the small space - minor complaints really, I would definately stay again.
The hotel is only a very short walk from the High Street, Fore Street (the oldest street and home to pubs and restaurants) and the Harbour with some great places to eat, try La Gendarmerie (Fore Street), for michelin style food for standard restuarant prices - amazing food at £30 for 3 courses, also, try Clarets (Northfield Road) - we can recommend the venison, steak and seabass very highly - portions are huge and very tasty! Another place we ate at was The Quay (next to the pier), book in advance and get a window table for a great sea view - worth going at dusk to take in the sunset over the sea.

Room Tip: Our room was fantastic (2), there were a lot of families with babies there during our stay and we we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer_Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed at Laston House for 7 nights. The room was fantastic, spacious with amazing sea views. The breakfast was outstanding quality. The beach is a 5-10 minute walk from the house. Greg and Aby were perfect hosts, very welcoming and helpful. Would fully recommend Laston House.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.3 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
402 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
372 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Strathmore Guest House
Strathmore Guest House
#9 of 20 in Ilfracombe
55 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
207 reviews
0.9 mi away
Epchris House
Epchris House
#8 of 53 in Ilfracombe
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laston House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laston House

Property: Laston House
Address: Laston House New Barnstaple Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Laston House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run, Grade 2 listed Regency property stood in 3 acres of woodland overlooking Hillsborough headland and the sea. We have 7 en-suite bedrooms, and a single bedroom with separate shower room, we also have a number of family/interlinking rooms. Open all year. Onsite parking. Easy access down to the harbour, just a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your Laston House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laston Hotel Ilfracombe
Laston House Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing