We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place”
Review of Varley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Varley House
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Staines, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place”
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Some friends and I stayed at Varley house a few weeks ago. The service was fantastic. Rod and Helen were very welcoming and it felt very homely which made it an even better week. We had a little kid with us and they were very accommodating. The food was lovely and very affordable. They even have a fully working bar which was nice at the end of the day. The views are memorizing. I would definitely recommend Varley House to anyone and we will be visiting again. Fantastic place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
Thank you for your lovely response, and look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    68
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
104
208
33
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
beverley
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

exellent hotel with exceptional views of the bay. Great price - mine was £45 a night for a double, inc breakfast. Nice and clean with a firm mattress. Friendly people.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kit l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Varley House, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Kit

Thanks for this review. It was good to meet you and glad that you chose us to stay with.
If ever work brings you down this way again, give us a call and we would love to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

My husband and I have just spent two lovely nights at this excellent hotel. While visiting our son and his family, who were holidaying in Ilfracombe, we had a most enjoyable stay. We received a very warm welcome. The accommodation was first class, very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was probably the best we have had in a hotel, very well cooked and very filling, set us up for the day. Rod was very good with helping us to discover places for our family to visit. Thank you very much for your excellent service. We shall most certainly return. Chris and Dek Aughton

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 206ChristineA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Varley House, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Thank you for your excellent review. It was nice to meet you and we would really like to see you again when you visit this area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thurles, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

This turned out to be even better than indicated on website. Lovely location within easy walk of harbour. View of Harbour.almost .from first floor...lovely sunset each night we stayed.Very friendly proprietor who made us feel very welcome and made some excellent suggestion of places to eat and visit. Lovely spacious room and excellent cooked breakfast. I would have no hesitation recommending this location to anyone

Room Tip: Look for a sea facing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnOL10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Varley House, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
We hope you really enjoyed the rest of your trip here from Ireland, and that you received the service elsewhere the way we like to serve our guests. Thank you for your nice comments and if ever you are in our locality, please come and visit us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We stayed for one night, but wished it could have been more. A lovely quiet location with friendly welcoming hosts. Our room, as admitted by Rod, was still to be refurbished, but it was absolutely fine and was spotlessly clean. A very homely atmosphere, we would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alijonell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
Thank for your nice comments, and the feedback on your room
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Just returned from yet another fantastic holiday to the Varley House Hotel. The owners Rod and Helen are so welcoming and the breakfasts are delicious! Even though the weather was typically English(!) we had a lovely break away and would definitely recommend this hotel. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are lovely and clean. The spacious lounge meant we could play some board games in the evening, and we even joined up with another family who were there and had some lovely games, whilst having drinks from the bar.

Will definitely be going again. Thank you

Room Tip: We have stayed in a variety of rooms, the ones out the front you can see the sea, I had a side one t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alisongdickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Stayed at Varley House for three nights, as a base to explore the north coast of Devon and Exmoor. Rod and Helen make us feel at home right from the moment we arrived, with the traditional Varley House welcome of tea and biscuits. Our room was well appointed with modern fixtures and fittings, including a new bathroom. Rod mentioned that he has been a chef and his breakfasts are fit for a king, while his evening menu is of top restaurant quality. He's very knowledgeable about nearby tourist attractions and had plenty of suggestions for ways to spend each day. Helen is always busy behind the scenes, and between the two of them, the place runs like clockwork. Ilfracombe itself seemed a lively place with a busy restaurant centre down at the harbour (10 minutes walk from Varley House), and is ideally central for anyone who wants to take in the stunning north Devonshire costal scenes, including Lynton and Lynmouth to the east or Woolacombe and Clovelly to the west - and not forgetting the breathtaking walks on Exmoor. Ilfracombe is also the start point for trips to Lundy Island (something we intend to do on a future visit) to Varley House.

Room Tip: Rooms are tastefully decorated and well appointed with modern bathrooms. Room 1 has a great view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nigel_r_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to meeting up again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
1.0 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
418 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
373 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#17 of 20 in Ilfracombe
335 reviews
1.0 mi away
Strathmore Guest House
Strathmore Guest House
#9 of 20 in Ilfracombe
58 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#6 of 20 in Ilfracombe
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varley House

Property: Varley House
Address: 13 Chambercombe Park Terrace, Ilfracombe EX34 9QW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ilfracombe
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ilfracombe
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Varley House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Varley House was built at the turn of the 20th Century for Officers recuperating from the Boer War. Hence we have grand rooms with high ceilings which make your stay even more pleasant than you expected. We have a spacious lounge where you can sit and chat, play games, or just read whilst enjoying a drink purchased from our bar.This is a nice quiet establishment ideally suited for the coastal path for walkers, opposite Hillsborough Nature reserve, and a good stopping point for those wanting to travel to Lundy island. Also all of our rooms have a stunning view of our local scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Varley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varley House Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing