We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful stay”
Review of Varley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Varley House
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

Our stay here was for a week with a young child.. it was very welcoming and the owners were always very helpful. The room was a perfect size for the travel cot and the view was lovely. Will definitely be staying again

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lara1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Thank you for your great comments, and we were glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you in Ilfracombe again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (441)
There are newer reviews for Varley House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

373 - 379 of 441 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed only one night but we really enjoyed our stay at this pleasant hotel. The owner was very gentle and attentive. The family room we stayed in was very comfortable and clean with a lovely modern bathroom with a fantastic shower!!. Breakfast was very good, with a large selection. It's near to the center of town, about 10 minutes walk. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank maria pia a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Thank you for your comments on Varley House, and I am glad that we were able to make a small part of your visit to England, and especially North Devon, enjoyable. We hope the rest of your trip went well
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We arrived quite late for our one night stay, but the owner was very helpful. The rooms were clean and a good size. Breakfast was very good, with a large selection, including a cheese omelette which went down very well for one of our party who didn't want a full english. It's only a ten minute walk from the centre of town, though the walk back is somewhat harder being all uphill! We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Thank you for your really good comments.
I am glad you found the breakfast choice to your satisfaction
If ever you are in the area again, and would like to stay at Varley House, give us a call to get a good deal
regards

Rod & Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this pleasant hotel. The owner was helpful and attentive. The room had been double booked by Expedia but the owner had kindly found another hotel for the other customer so we could have the room. The room was very comfortable and clean with a lovely modern bathroom although the shower flow was rather slow.The breakfast was very good it included nice chopped fresh fruit.The communal areas could be updated and more made of the bar area which wasn't used.
Overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank salmcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Thank you for your comments. It was nice to meet you both.

Re the shower: it is a problem we sometimes have around this area, as water flow can be weak. We have been adding power showers to the rooms as we upgrade them, to help with this problem.
We are also in the process of updating the whole property as when we took over it had been neglected, so we are now 2 years into a 5 year cycle of refurbishment. The main corridors etc hopefully will get a good update over this winter.
it is funny about the bar as this week a lot of use of both that and the lounge is being made, whereas some weeks it is really quite. You were just unfortunate
It was nice to meet you both

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed only one night, but I was very impressed! A very warm welcome by the owner, selfmade delicious cookies!!!, a wonderful view from the nice room! The owner is very friendly and helpful. The house is clean and has beautiful furniture, a modern shower and bath room, whilst sleeping with open windows, I could only hear a seagull. It is no problem to walk to the heart of Ilfracombe. Varley house offers everything you need...including a great breakfast! I would stay here again and again and I can recommend it! It was a pleasure for us to stay in this house!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

It was nice to meet you all, and hope we helped make your vacation from Germany enjoyable. It was also good to see how other people got involved and also talked with you as well.
Hope the rest of your trip works out just as well, and if ever you come back to ilfracombe again, we would love to see you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

stayed 2 nights here aug 8-9th . booked last minute & was very pleased . rooms are spotless, breakfast good and owner very pleasant.there is a cosy bar but on our 2 nights no guests used it .pity as we would have enjoyed a chat and a few beers.i would highly recommend a stay here & intend to stay again if in the ilfracombe area. Mr & Mrs Lyall from Wimbledon

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billlyall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Thank you for your nice comments. It was good to meet you after booking at short notice, and we would like to see you again if you come back to Ilfracombe again. Just give us a call to check availability

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We spent 2 nights at Varley House and it was a pleasure from beginning to end. It was friendly, clean and incredibly 70ties in the decor but in a really nice way. Breakfast was lovely too - when we go back to Ilfracombe we will definitely go to Varley House!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ditte D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Thank you both for your nice comments, and it was good to meet you.
We are in the process of updating the property, and over the next few years we will be looking at upgrading the bedrooms, not already done, and brighten up the access areas.
Thanks once agin, and if you venture back to Ilfracombe give us a call

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
1.0 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
435 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
387 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#9 of 20 in Ilfracombe
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#17 of 20 in Ilfracombe
341 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
606 reviews
0.8 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#7 of 20 in Ilfracombe
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varley House

Address: 13 Chambercombe Park Terrace, Ilfracombe EX34 9QW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ilfracombe
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ilfracombe
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ilfracombe
Price Range: £72 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Varley House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Varley House was built at the turn of the 20th Century for Officers recuperating from the Boer War. Hence we have grand rooms with high ceilings which make your stay even more pleasant than you expected. We have a spacious lounge where you can sit and chat, play games, or just read whilst enjoying a drink purchased from our bar.This is a nice quiet establishment ideally suited for the coastal path for walkers, opposite Hillsborough Nature reserve, and a good stopping point for those wanting to travel to Lundy island. Also all of our rooms have a stunning view of our local scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Varley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varley House Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing