We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous”
Review of Varley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Varley House
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We were booked in as part of a family gathering, and had heard how wonderful this place was over and over from those booking it. Can't be that good, we thought, but it actually is. To start with we arrived a day early (!) but were fitted in smoothly with no hassles. We ate in as a family one night, and wished we could eat there every night. The room was great, fabulous bathroom (it makes a HUGE difference), tea making facilities and comfortable beds, with room to swing the proverbial cat. Good views and the service was friendly, helpful above and beyond the call of duty.
I don't know if I'll ever get back to Ilfracombe (which is a pity as it's a great, friendly little town), but if I do, this is where I'll be booking. Thanks for a great time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aquarianmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are glad that we were able to provide the service that you would have expected.
It was nice to meet you both and the rest of your family, and hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay here and had a good flight back to New Zealand

Our best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    60
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
99
183
30
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night as a starting point for the Devon C2C bike ride. It is in a good location close to the town centre, about 10 minutes walk to the harbour and pubs. The house itself is a wonderful huge Victorian villa with large light and airy rooms. Everything was immaculate and my room was good sized, clean with a nice modern bathroom. Our host Rod could not have been more helpful and pleasant including helping us with travel advice.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank StumpyOlegMcNoLeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Thank you for the good comments on your 1 night stay at Varley House. We are glad that we were able to help you with your return trip from Plymouth, after completing the coast to coast bike ride.
If ever you feel like a return to north Devon, for a break or other, we would pleased to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed at varley house at the beginning and end of our lundy holiday. Rod was extremely helpful and accommodating. Breakfast was excellent with a big selection to choose from including kippers, porridge and the full English, croissants. Really comfy stay and would not hesitate in recommending everyone to stay there. Added bonus is parking the car securely for a week whilst on lundy island. If ever we return to lundy we will not book anywhere else but Varley house.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
It was nice to meet you all, and glad that were able to help you either side of your Lundy trip.
If ever you are going back to Lundy Island, or just coming to visit North Devon, we would love to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ossett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night at each end of our five day trip to Lundy. This enabled us to leave the car at Varley House. We had a different room for each night and both were comfortable and toiletries were in abundance ! Also tea and coffee making facilities were in each room. There is also free Wi-Fi available. Good breakfast with a wide choice of cereals etc and freshly cooked bacon and eggs etc and hot toast. Would recommend this hotel.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you both for your review of Varley House. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us either side of your visit to Lundy Island, and that we were able to look after you while you were staying with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Rod met us with tea & biscuits and a nice chat. Room overlooked the water and was very pleasant. An old-fashioned sort of place, but not in a bad way. Very reasonable considering we felt spoiled by the additional biscuits & hot chocolate in our room & chocolates on our pillow. Very nice touch! Ilfracombe was disappointing so we didn't stick around long.

Room Tip: Ask for a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LW383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you for the nice comments on Varley House. We are glad that we were able to provide the service that you would have expected.
We hope that the rest of your vacation was good, and that you enjoyed the pleasures of Iceland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Really enjoyed the hospitality shown here. Beds very comfortable, breakfast very good, lovely clean taste ( some places haven't been so good). One couple had requested a shower rather than a bath, as not easy to get into. They were given the lovely room downstairs with an enormous ensuite shower. Thank you so very much.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brockies2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you for your comments on Varley House. We are glad that we were able to meet your request of a ground floor room, which goes to shy by asking us, we were able to provide for you.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and hope the rest of your stay was just as enjoyable
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This was my 4th visit to Varley House and once again it was a lovely stay. They had renovated a few rooms since my last stay and they have been done to a lovely standard. The room was really relaxing and quiet which was nice. The food was really enjoyable and from what I believe all local to Varley House. The local area is very relaxing for a nice time away from a busy town. I would definitely recommend and return. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: All of rooms have a nice view looking over either the sea or the hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you for the great comments, and glad that you enjoyed our 4 Poster bed room.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Varley House when you return to Ilfracombe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.2 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Darnley Hotel
The Darnley Hotel
#10 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#9 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varley House

Property: Varley House
Address: 13 Chambercombe Park Terrace, Ilfracombe EX34 9QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ilfracombe
#1 Green Hotel in Ilfracombe
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Varley House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Varley House was built at the turn of the 20th Century for Officers recuperating from the Boer War. Hence we have grand rooms with high ceilings which make your stay even more pleasant than you expected. We have a spacious lounge where you can sit and chat, play games, or just read whilst enjoying a drink purchased from our bar.This is a nice quiet establishment ideally suited for the coastal path for walkers, opposite Hillsborough Nature reserve, and a good stopping point for those wanting to travel to Lundy island. Also all of our rooms have a stunning view of our local scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Varley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varley House Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing