We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”
Review of Varley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Varley House
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Our expectations were high due to reading reviews and we were not disappointed. The rooms were very well-equipped, the beds were comfy and the bathrooms/facilities were very good too.
Rod and Helen were very friendly, great for helpful advice and accommodating (they would have got us soya milk had we thought to request it) and breakfast was excellent too. Leaving our car there whilst we went to Lundy Island was so handy. The B&B is close enough to walk to the High St and harbour (unless you have below average fitness). The icing on the cake was having a games room available: with darts, a small pool table, exercise bike and lots of board games and a drinks bar. If we go back to Ilfracombe, we will definitely stay there again. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

We wanted to say thank you for the good comments that you have made about us and Varley House.
It was nice to meet you all and that you had a good time before your short break on Lundy Island.
As you say if ever you are back in the area again we would love to see you all again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

Rod and Helen were very friendly and helpful. Great breakfast, lovely house and the view from the comfortable, light and airy bedroom was fantastic. We enjoyed our stay here and would definitely visit again. Rod and Helen made us feel at home and nothing was too much trouble. Thanks for making our holiday so enjoyable. Liz and Keith

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you for the good comments about us and Varley House. It was nice to be able to help your stay go well and look after your boys either side of their trip to Lundy Island.
If ever you are back in the area again we would love to see you all again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Cleanliness was top of the list! Good location plenty of nice views. Hilly area maybe but Ilfracombe is!
Nice breakfast comfortable bed quiet area. Full Marks! Ideal for back packer walker bird watching. Exmoor on your door step. If the sun shines you have Woolacombe Sands close by if cloudy a host of places to go From Watermouth - Combe Martin Hunters Inn Lynton and Lymouth Exmoor and so on. Golf at Ilfracombe and Saunton.

Room Tip: Sea view to most rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for the good comments about Varley House. We are glad that we were able to accommodate you both for the 1 night whilst you were baby sitting your grand child.
We would love to see you both again, whenever you are visiting your family again, so just give us a call

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

13.8.14 Very comfortable room, excellent shower - I think the shower basin alone was bigger than some of the ensuites we had in other B&B's during our week in Devon!
Rod made us very welcome and 3 road bikes stored securely for the more active of us on the holiday. Very obliging as I needed an early breakfast, I was especially delighted to find a huge bowl of fresh fruit salad and yoghurt available and didn't bother with the cooked option. I ate so much of the fresh fruit, they prepared another lot - without any complaint or comment. One of our party had the kippers, others the full English - all good.
Would definitely recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for the excellent comments that you have made about Varley House.
We hope that the cyclist's had a good time and were not to weary after the exercise.
If ever you are back in Ilfracombe again, we would love to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Rod the owner was very helpful and prompt when arranging the booking, especially considering only staying for one night. Easy to find, and lovely views. On arrival, again very helpful and gave me free use of landline phone (as my O2 signal was flakey). Room was clean, bathroom was spacey and clean, shower was powerful and hot. Only 5 min taxi ride back from Tunnels, bed was very comfy (but had had a couple of drinks!!) Breakfast included usual choices, and the full english breakfast was prompt and very satisfying. Enjoyed my stay and may well go back sometime.

Room Tip: West facing will give great views out to see. Friend had water pressure issue in their room, so che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank philip c w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for the good comments about Varley House. It was nice to meet you both and help you enjoy and prepare yourself prior to the Wedding at the Tunnels beaches.
Re the room your friend was in, the bathroom will be refurbished in the winter, and a power shower installed to counteract the water pressure problems

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

From the moment we first arrived we were treated to a warm welcome and were taken on a tour on the hotel facilities. The hotel room was stunning including a 4 poster bed and modern bathroom striking the right balance between functional and classic accommodation.

Varley House was our base to visit the surrounding areas of this beautiful part of Devon, with Ilfracombe just a short walk into the high street and the harbour area just a little further on, where you will find some excellent shopping and restaurant areas serving the best in local produce.

In the morning breakfast was served made to order and it did not disappoint with a excellent choice to cater for all needs, although the cooked breakfast is what I'd recommend.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would have no reservations about returning here.

In terms of pricing we felt that the accommodation represented excellent value for money.

To summarise, it was an exceptional location and Varley House should be strongly considered as your place to stay.

Best regards to the team from Jon & Yvette

Room Tip: The room with a 4 poster bed (room 6) is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jonny612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your glowing review on Varley House. It was good to meet 2 people who came from our old home town, and glad that we were able to make your short stay with us enjoyable

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed 2 nights as went to a wedding at The Tunnels. Lovely people, lovely room overlooking the sea with stunning views. Good service and breakfast. Didn't use the bar but only one problem was that the lounge needs updating. Too old. As they have only been there 4 years it looks as if they are gradually modernising the premises.The bedroom was bright, modern, a good size with lovely modern ensuite bathroom. Good extras like tea making facilities and Freeview tv. Breakfasts cooked to order, however we couldn't get any wifi to work at all. Situated on a steep hill so needed the car or strength to get up the hill! Parked in the street easily but a couple of bays on the premises are available.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gillian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your comments on Varley house. We are pleased that we were able to help your stay whilst you were at a wedding at the Tunnels beaches pleasant.
As you rightly have highlighted we are in a programme of refurbishing the building, and are concentrating on the bedrooms first. The lounge is OK, but the bar is in need of updating.
We are also looking at the wifi in the building with the view that in the winter with the promised introduction of superfast broadband, we will be able to produce a stronger signal for all our guests. But at least it works well in the Lounge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
1 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
483 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
394 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Darnley Hotel
The Darnley Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
658 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#14 of 20 in Ilfracombe
355 reviews
1 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#9 of 20 in Ilfracombe
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varley House

Address: 13 Chambercombe Park Terrace, Ilfracombe EX34 9QW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ilfracombe
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ilfracombe
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ilfracombe
Price Range: £75 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Varley House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Varley House was built at the turn of the 20th Century for Officers recuperating from the Boer War. Hence we have grand rooms with high ceilings which make your stay even more pleasant than you expected. We have a spacious lounge where you can sit and chat, play games, or just read whilst enjoying a drink purchased from our bar.This is a nice quiet establishment ideally suited for the coastal path for walkers, opposite Hillsborough Nature reserve, and a good stopping point for those wanting to travel to Lundy island. Also all of our rooms have a stunning view of our local scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Varley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varley House Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing