We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (507)
Filter reviews
507 results
Traveller rating
421
79
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
421
79
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lundy island boer war biscuits breakfast was excellent helpful owner warm welcome quiet location stayed for one night town centre power shower comfortable room at short notice great shower fresh fruit salad enjoyable stay a great place to stay harbour area
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 507 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Great place to stay really peaceful breakfast was fantastic owners full of local info would definitely stay again stunning views from the front bay window. Beds really comfy everything you need for a great break away.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank suetow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Thank you for your great review of Varley house.

It was good to meet you both and that we were able to help in your enjoyment.
As we discussed remember to get the best rates at most places it is always best to book direct as opposed to using the on-line travel agents

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

My second visit and hope to make another next year. Another home from home stay in this lovely house. Rod and Helen providing excellent warm friendly hospitality. Unbeatable in every way. Thank you to them both from Diane ..... and Meg!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dianesugden48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Thank you for your lovely review of Varley house.

It was good to meet you both again, and that you had a wonderful time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

At £65 per room per night, Varley House is excellent value, especially when keeping our car for a whole week while we holidayed on Lundy was part of the price. Varley House is also comfortable, well situated and serves a tasty breakfast.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AndrewWintersgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Thank you for your lovely review of Varley House.

As you found out by booking direct you got our best rates for your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018

Very neat and tidy and organised which suited us well. Clean and comfortable. Good breakfast served promptly. Up (another) steep hill which was a bit of a struggle at the end of a day of cycling up steep hills!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Scenic529862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2018

Thank you for your review of Varley house.

It was good to meet you and to help you out after the steep hills!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018

We stayed at Varley House as a couple just for one night as we were touring around North Devon & Cornwall. The owners were very welcoming, attentive and helpful with information about eateries and so on in Ilfracombe, and also informative about the various tourist attractions further afield form them. We ate in an Italian reccommended by the owner and it was excellent. Our twin room (Room 1) was large, immaculately clean, well decorated and (on a hot evening when we arrived) had the two large windows thrown open prior to our arrival making the room airy and fresh. Very nice tidy ensuite bathroom with all white fixtures and complementary shower soaps, tea/coffee and biscuits in the room. Breakfast was excellent, freshly produced and very hearty. And we had a great night's sleep as the hotel is in a nice quiet road around 3/4 mile out of town. The hotel has some off road parking of its own for maybe 5/6 cars but there is more than enough free on street parking right outside in any case which is handy. Very well priced accommodation which - give the service we got - we cannot fault in any way.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank vincemclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review of Varley house, and choosing to stay with us.

It was good to meet you both, and that you benefitted from the best rates by booking direct

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews