We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£90
Fully refundable before Sat, 20 Apr
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Priceline
Agoda.com
£90
Breakfast included
No fees just great deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (663)
Filter reviews
665 results
Traveller rating
566
91
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
566
91
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lundy island boer war breakfast was excellent fresh fruit salad stayed for one night comfortable room excellent stay warm welcome quiet location friendly owners place to stay town centre short stay lovely house great shower set us up for the day full english
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 665 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2023

Absolutely loved my stay here! Rod the owner is so welcoming and helpful. The room was perfect with everything you need, really comfy bed, and the power shower was fab. Full English breakfast each morning was cooked perfectly and so yummy. Location was great - stayed for a wedding at Tunnel beaches and got a taxi there for £5. Thank you so much Rod for everything and if I visit ilfracombe in the future I will 100% be booking to stay here again!

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SarahMarie8788
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Varley House, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2023

Thank you for this great review of Varley House. It was good to meet you and glad that we were able to help you enjoy your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2023 via mobile

Varley House is in an elevated position in a quiet location. It is around a 15 min walk downhill to the harbour area and the bars and restaurants that Ilfracombe has to offer. Rod and Helen are lovely and welcoming, and our room was clean and comfortable. We stayed for 5 nights and found it incredible value for money, especially when you take into consideration the fantastic breakfast. Cereals, pastries, fresh fruit, yoghurt, juice followed by a freshly cooked to order full English and toast. My second time staying here and hopefully not my last.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank rachelf302
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Varley House, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2023

Thank you for this wonderful review of Varley House. It was good to meet you again, and some way help towards your stay in North Devon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2023

Deserves the previous reviews.
Lovely house
Rod always on hand to chat or give some eating ideas etc.
Stayed in Room 8,great views.
Bed very comfortable
All you could need provided.
Breakfast very good,great selection from fresh pastry to fresh fruit,yoga,cereals etc.
We will come back!
Bob and Linda

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bobbydok
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Varley House, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2023

Thank you for this great review of Varley House. we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you benefitted from the best rates by booking direct

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2023 via mobile

Stayed for one night after a week in Lundy.
We arrived a bit later than we had anticipated but were greeted in a very warm & friendly way. Shown the breakfast room and then to our room.
It was lovely to have a hot shower and a comfortable bed after a damp afternoon! The bathroom was lovely, very clean, and the shower was great.
In the morning we enjoyed a good breakfast- plenty on offer- fruit, pastries, cereal and a wide range of cooked items. I had some very nice scrambled eggs.
Would certainly stay again if in Ilfracombe.

Room tip: Quite steep hills from the town so worth getting a taxi if you’re not driving, particularly if you have luggage.
Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Varley House, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2023

Thank you for this great review of Varley House. we are glad that we were able to make you feel comfortable after your damp return from Lundy Island

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2023

A completely charming and quaint seaside hotel. Immaculately clean and comfortable with attentive and welcoming hosts . The bedroom was well equipped with everything you could need and the breakfast was to die for. Superb value for money

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Passenger828740
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Varley House, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2023

Thank you for taking the time to make this great review of Varley House. we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and would love to welcome you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews