We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty food, friendly service and great value”
Review of Grass Roots Cafe

Grass Roots Cafe
Ranked #47 of 120 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Ilfracombe
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tasty food, friendly service and great value”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We live in Ilfracombe and reckon Grassroots offers the best latte in Ilfracombe. The homemade cakes are fabulous. The lunch time food is delicious and the £12 evening bistro menu (Fridays and Saturdays only) is amazing value, especially with BYO wine for £1 corkage. As some other reviewers mention, the décor is quirky and perhaps dated, and the lighting means the café lacks ambience for a romantic dinner for two. However, Sarah and her team are delightful and quality and passion that go into the food make up for any lack of ambience. If we ever get a summer like 2013 in Ilfracombe again try the peaceful courtyard garden. If you fancy lingering over a second coffee (refills great value at half price), get talking to Sarah about Radio 4! Enjoy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lowcarbon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    18
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke on Trent
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Vegetarian but so tasty”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Late season visit to Ifracombe, two oldies had a week off from child minding, ate out most evenings and whilst the Curry/Tandoori house was very good and fish restaurant by the harbour good but pricey Grass Roots was the food highlight of our week. Not just the tastiest food but also incredible value.. have my own allotment so can only assume they grow a lot of their own to make a profit at these prices!!.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hayho129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnet, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Will definitely return”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Value for money at this restuarant is an understatement. You have a 3 course vegetarian meal, choice of starters, main and pudding for £12 ...yes £12! Its a BYO restuarant, so we brought our wine along and we were charged £1 corkage. So a delicious 3 course meal for 2 people with wine only cost £25 (excluding tip). To give you a flavour of menu options, for starters I had lentil, coconut and chilli soup accompanied by mini chilli scones. For mains, stuffed peppers with salad, chips or choice of veg and for pudding butterscoth sponge pudding with custard. The cafe is only open in th evening on a Friday and Saturday and seats about 20 - so booking is definitey advisable. It was obvious to me that many of the diners were regulars ... an absolute VFM must for anyone who is keen to try something different.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank OliverSJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Delicious 3-course meal for £12, amazing!”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Being the only vegetarian restaurant in Ilfracombe, my other half and I had to check it out.

We booked a table for one of their bistro evenings (which I believe is only on Friday and Saturday nights) and which offers a 3-course meal for only £12, which is amazing! There were 5 choices for each course, which as a vegetarian is a luxury.

Both mine and my partner's starters were divine, probably the best veggie food we've eaten for a long time and definitely the highlight of the meal. The other 2 courses were also good, however probably had too much to live up to after the starter! The portions were generous and we both left completely full.

The restaurant also operates a 'bring-you-own-alcohol' policy, so the entire night was very affordable, the best value for money meal I've ever had.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kaonyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“great”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

excellent choice great place to eat and very friendly clean place good service, open of a night time at the wknds

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grass Roots Cafe also viewed

 
Ilfracombe, Devon
 
Ilfracombe, Devon
 

Been to Grass Roots Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing