We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful find!”
Review of Grass Roots Cafe

Grass Roots Cafe
Ranked #48 of 120 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
351 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“A wonderful find!”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We tried this great vegetarian cafe after it was recommended to us by locals - always a good sign! We had the Christmas 3 course set menu for £16.50 which was delicious and great value. The food choices were interesting and provided great choices. The food felt like it was cooked with love and made for is. The cafe is quirky looking and filled with images of sunflowers. I love that all the frames are slightly crooked too. It has character. I would recommend this for all not just vegetarians but as a veggie myself it is some of the nicest grub I have had. We will be back next time we find ourselves in Ilfracombe :-)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    18
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ilfracombe
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tasty food, friendly service and great value”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We live in Ilfracombe and reckon Grassroots offers the best latte in Ilfracombe. The homemade cakes are fabulous. The lunch time food is delicious and the £12 evening bistro menu (Fridays and Saturdays only) is amazing value, especially with BYO wine for £1 corkage. As some other reviewers mention, the décor is quirky and perhaps dated, and the lighting means the café lacks ambience for a romantic dinner for two. However, Sarah and her team are delightful and quality and passion that go into the food make up for any lack of ambience. If we ever get a summer like 2013 in Ilfracombe again try the peaceful courtyard garden. If you fancy lingering over a second coffee (refills great value at half price), get talking to Sarah about Radio 4! Enjoy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lowcarbon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Vegetarian but so tasty”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Late season visit to Ifracombe, two oldies had a week off from child minding, ate out most evenings and whilst the Curry/Tandoori house was very good and fish restaurant by the harbour good but pricey Grass Roots was the food highlight of our week. Not just the tastiest food but also incredible value.. have my own allotment so can only assume they grow a lot of their own to make a profit at these prices!!.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hayho129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Will definitely return”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Value for money at this restuarant is an understatement. You have a 3 course vegetarian meal, choice of starters, main and pudding for £12 ...yes £12! Its a BYO restuarant, so we brought our wine along and we were charged £1 corkage. So a delicious 3 course meal for 2 people with wine only cost £25 (excluding tip). To give you a flavour of menu options, for starters I had lentil, coconut and chilli soup accompanied by mini chilli scones. For mains, stuffed peppers with salad, chips or choice of veg and for pudding butterscoth sponge pudding with custard. The cafe is only open in th evening on a Friday and Saturday and seats about 20 - so booking is definitey advisable. It was obvious to me that many of the diners were regulars ... an absolute VFM must for anyone who is keen to try something different.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank OliverSJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Delicious 3-course meal for £12, amazing!”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Being the only vegetarian restaurant in Ilfracombe, my other half and I had to check it out.

We booked a table for one of their bistro evenings (which I believe is only on Friday and Saturday nights) and which offers a 3-course meal for only £12, which is amazing! There were 5 choices for each course, which as a vegetarian is a luxury.

Both mine and my partner's starters were divine, probably the best veggie food we've eaten for a long time and definitely the highlight of the meal. The other 2 courses were also good, however probably had too much to live up to after the starter! The portions were generous and we both left completely full.

The restaurant also operates a 'bring-you-own-alcohol' policy, so the entire night was very affordable, the best value for money meal I've ever had.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kaonyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grass Roots Cafe also viewed

Ilfracombe, Devon
Ilfracombe, Devon
 

Been to Grass Roots Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing