We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous week”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ilfracombe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Widmouth Farm Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2013

What a find ! The farm and cottages are in an idyllic setting, the welcome and farewell were friendly and helpful. We were in Swallow cottage which was just right for a couple, a 10 year old girl and a dog. Tidier people than us would have managed better, but we came with lots of paraphernalia.... bikes, inflatable dinghy and dog bed. All these things were well used, the boat on the beautiful private beach, (even better at low tide), and the bikes on the Tarka Trail. The farm animals were entertaining , as was Jeremy! Our 10 year old fell in love with the summer house, where in the evenings we read episodes of The Odyssey, with the scenes taking place before our eyes. Other places nearby were easy to visit, and most places are dog friendly. All in all this was one of the best holidays ever... a Famous 5 treat.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tashi155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth_Sansom, Owner at Widmouth Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

You are so kind to write such a lovely report. I have to say that I was slightly anxious when you arrived with so many 'toys' (bikes, boat etc) but as the week developed and we saw how much fun you were having it was a joy to observe. We hope you will come again. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2013

From morning animal feeds, stunning farm and coastal scenery and a private beach, Widmouth farm gave us exactly the holiday we were looking for. Our two and a half year old loved the animals (especially collecting eggs for our breakfast and feeding Rapid Ron the pig!) and spent many happy hours rock pooling on the beach. And we loved the peace and quiet and beautiful views. Jeremy and Liz made us feel very welcome in Kingfisher cottage which was perfect for our family of four. Our only complaints would be the accommodation decor was a little bit tired… and we'd like to have stayed for longer!!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank mammon1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth_Sansom, Owner at Widmouth Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2013

Thank you for your lovely words and enthusiasm for our 'special' place. We get the paint brushes out every winter to freshen up the tired areas and it's Kingfisher Cottages turn for some more up-to-date furnishings next time. We are glad you found it comfortable and welcoming and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We enjoyed everything about this holiday - the setting, the location, the accomodation, the facilities, the farm, the animals, the owners... the list could go on and on. Firstly the welcome we had was great - Elizabeth greeted us and made a special detour to our cottage to greet the children and give them a special private feeding session with the adorable goats - little touches mean a lot and it gives you a feeling straight away that you are staying somewhere really special. Our children are 2 & 4 and had a fantastic time on the farm; we felt they were safe and secure and the freedom to roam the farm and mingle with the sheep is wonderful. Morning feeding times are a must for EVERYONE; fun, interactive, educational. We stayed in Kestrel cottage which is great, lovely size, well equipped and cosy - by cosy i don't mean small, i mean it has a lovely homely feel about it. But the best thing about Kestrel Cottage.... being greeted by a happy Bianca and Tassle (the goats) whenever you come or go - really lovely. The location is perfect - for families we recommend Watermouth Castle... we got 2 days out of a return ticket (plus got discount for mentioning we were staying at Widmouth Farm). We also enjoyed the Tunnels in Ilfracombe for great rockpooling, plus a decent cafe / play area to keep the kids amused. Be prepared to be reasonably cut off from the outside world as mobile reception in the whole area is a challenge BUT that only adds to the enjoyment you can get from coming to such an idyllic, relaxing setting. I challenge anyone who stays here not to 1) want to come back and 2) think very carefully about becoming farmers / smallholders when you get home! We will be returning; year after year after year.... i hope someone will be able to look after our new chickens! Thank you Elizabeth and Jeremy for making this such a perfect holiday - we hope to see you again in 2014, if not sooner!

Room Tip: Kestrel Cottagewas perfect for our family of 4; everything you need including a small, private garde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank dont_usually_do_this
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth_Sansom, Owner at Widmouth Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

To say mention us in the same breath as a Disney holiday is good but to say we were better for you is totally amazing, thank you VERY much! It is really good to know what makes a difference to our guests. We hope you will come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

This was our fourth trip to Widmouth Farm and it never disappoints. From the moment we arrive and see the breathtaking views of the farm's beach and coastline we know we are on holiday.
We stayed in Woodpecker Lodge which is perfect for our family of 2 adults, 4 children and Granny! It is well equipped and there is a small play area just outside which the kids love.
The highlight of our stay is Jeremy's fantastic animal feeding adventures every morning. The kids are completely entranced by the stories he tells and his genuine love of the animals on his farm.
There are some great days out in the local area but you could quite happily while your way on the beach / farm if the weather was good.
The children are already talking about next years trip to Widmouth which says it all!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth_Sansom, Owner at Widmouth Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

We value all our guests, but when people come back year after year as you do it makes it even more worthwhile and rewarding for us. We enjoy seeing your children grow and develop and it is fun realising what they remember from the previous year and how much they still want to learn. Thank you for posting your review and we do hope you will come back next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Our 5th year here, Widmouth Farm has become our children's favourite holiday.
Spectacular setting, cosy cottages, coastal path walks, private beach and animals.
I don't think you could ever be bored here.
As always, Liz and Jeremy are excellent hosts and a mine of information.
We love it here and we've booked again for next year :-D

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Debbie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth_Sansom, Owner at Widmouth Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

We can only say 'thank you' for your kind words and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

There is something magical about this place - incredible location, cosy cottages, adorable farm animals, warm hospitality. Usually, with so many places in the country let alone world to visit, I tend to only visit places once and then look for somewhere else next year. However, we've visited Widmouth Farm twice now and both times I've come away feeling thoroughly restored having had a week without thinking of the stress and strains of everyday life.
The accommodation is perfect for me - well equipped, clean, cosy, everything you need really. However, if you're looking for luxury in terms of high spec fixtures and fittings, huge rooms etc then it may not quite be for you. The pictures and descriptions on the website are very accurate, take some time to research and determine which cottage best suits your needs. I was particularly pleased that the pet welcome extended to my house rabbit having checked with Elizabeth before booking - many thanks, he had a lovely time!
I know the animal feeding is really for the children, but that didn't stop us heading down most mornings!! Jeremy is so welcoming and knowledgeable about the area, full of facts and tips for your visit.
There are pubs in walking distance both directions on the costal path (and 2 exits from the cottages to the costal path - we made the mistake on our first year of walking miles along the headland before realising this!). It's enough of a walk to make the drink at the end of it well deserved, but the frequent stops along the way to admire the scenery mean you don't notice the ups and downs as much as you would otherwise.
Overall, I can't recommend this place enough, it's a total tonic for the body and soul. I really hope to return!

Room Tip: We stayed in Wren, one of the smallest cottages but perfect for our needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth_Sansom, Owner at Widmouth Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Thank you for the lovely things you have said. We really appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

This was our 11th year at widmouth .... The scenery never fails to take our breath away . Our children know the surrounding area so well and were never in the cottage for long !!! Liz and Jeremy always make you so welcome . Yet again we didn't want to leave !! Roll on next year !!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Caroline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth_Sansom, Owner at Widmouth Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Thank you so much for that vote of confidence! We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review. All best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
1.5 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#14 of 20 in Ilfracombe
355 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
658 reviews
2 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
High Ways House
High Ways House
#1 of 1 in Mullacott
13 reviews
1.2 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
449 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wildercombe House
Wildercombe House
#1 of 52 in Ilfracombe
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Widmouth Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Widmouth Farm Cottages

Address: Watermouth, Ilfracombe EX34 9RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Ilfracombe
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Widmouth Farm Cottages is between Ilfracombe and Combe Martin, the gateway to Exmoor, on the North Devon coast. We have spectacular views overlooking wonderful Watermouth Cove and 35 acres of headland, woodland and a private beach on the Devon National Heritage Coastline. Widmouth Farm Cottages is in an area of outstanding natural beauty, and offers the perfect self catering holiday for families and people of all ages. Our private beach is just 500 yards from the cottages and a two minute walk through the sheep fields! It is large and sandy for about 2 hours either side of low tide. Our regular visitors return to our self-catering holiday cottages to walk, fish, play golf, kayak, horse ride, use our lovely beach or simply relax in this peaceful, tranquil setting. We are also only six miles from Woolacombe Beach, voted the UKs best beach for the second year running! Children are welcome and so are dogs. We have regular animal feeding & handling sessions for visitors who wish to join in. This usually includes the sheep, goats, alpacas, pigs, chickens, ducks. For the keen fisherman, it is the perfect place to find some hidden spots, with our private beach or beautiful coastline there are plenty of places to find peace and quiet and fish until your hearts content!!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Widmouth Farm Cottages Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing