We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable value accomodation”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ocean Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ocean Backpackers
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Reasonable value accomodation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

eight of us stayed for three nights split between two rooms. Bunk beds were firm - bedding was provided and was clean and fresh. Decor was tired, with several things needing repair. Kitchen area is well equipped. Bathrooms were clean - showers were very good especially one on second floor. Location is very close to harbour and pubs and restaurants -although quiet this weekend, could imagine sleep being difficult in summer. Free access to computers and wifi were useful.

Saw the receptionist several times but he was permanently attached to his laptop. Equally, several longer term residents leave a lot to be desired.

Overall, though for £12 per night per person, it represesents good value - our group go away twice a year and have stayed in more expensive and less appealing places.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean Backpackers, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Thanks very much for your review. I am a bit upset at only getting 2 out of 5 for service as I was around myself a fare bit during your stay and chatted to your group about good pubs to eat and drink in, good cafes for breakfast and mentioned various walking options in the area. I moved my vehicle so you could park in a position where you did not have to worry about your minibus for the rest of the weekend. I also dealt with a couple of minor problems that you bought to my attention quickly and efficiently.
The decor might be a bit tired in places but as I mentioned to several of your group the hall stairs and landings are due to be started soon and the lounge area is also due to be revamped this winter. Glad you liked the showers as our improvment budget over the last 2 winters was spent on a solar hot water and boiler system.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    20
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
17
8
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

We stayed for one night at Ocean Backpackers during the autumn half term break. The family room is very comfortable and childrens toys and videos were provided which was a lovely touch and helped to keep our 2 year old and 4 year old occupied. We have stayed in many hostels (pre-children) and would recommend Ocean Backpackers to anyone who is used to staying in a hostel. We were really struggling to find any accommodation within our budget and Ocean Backpackers met all of our requirements without being too expensive.

My only suggestion would be a bath mat in the family room bath.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean Backpackers, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Thanks very much for your review it's very nice to receive feedback from someone who has stayed in hostels before and knows what they are talking about!! We will get a bath mat asap.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

The accommodation is dated and basic but reasonably clean, so if you are on a budget this does the job. The receptionist was totally hands off, which was frustrating at 2am when the music from the party downstairs was rattling the place. If you are thinking of staying, make sure you check if a large party will be resident if you want to get a good night's sleep, as the notices to keep the noise down are ignored and the receptionist takes no notice at all.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmapost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean Backpackers, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Thanks for your review
Sorry you had a disturbed night. We do on most occasions ask big groups to pay a little extra and rent the whole backpackers. On this occasion however we already had some online bookings (yours included) so were unable to do this. We do have the notices up and the group leader did keep asking his group to keep the noise down which our receptionist had asked him to do. Unfortuantely they did not abilige very well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

I stayed at the Ocean Backpackers with a party divers.

On arrival the car park was full. The advertised 6 spaces is somewhat ambitious as there were only 4 cars in the car park and we couldn't get it - although to be fair if the Renault wasn't so badly parked there'd be room for one more.

The actual property is in a quite run down state which is reflected in the price. The receptionist isn't particularly attentive as he has a laptop to look at and music to listen to. The rooms are fairly cramped and the bunks are rather ricketty - mine had "This bed is unsafe" carved into it by a previous guest.

The kitchen is quite large but the table in it makes access rather difficult if people are using it.

On our first night the fire alarm went off at 04:20. The receptionist did eventually turn it off but not until everyone was awake and the vast majority downstairs. The cause of the fire was burning toast which had been "forgotten" by the pot smoking guest who was amazed at the smell of toast and the absence of toast (which had been thrown out of the back door). The following morning we were greeted by the pot smoking guest who was asleep at the dining table with a plate of pasta (although it could have been vomit) congealing in front of him.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank witchieblackcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean Backpackers, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. We do NOT condone the smoking of pot at ocean backpackers but cannot be held responsible if a guest takes it upon themselves to smoke it and burn toast in the middle of the night. We are sorry if it was not dealt with to your satisfaction.

The car park is what it is (free for starters) and can fit 6 cars comfortably if all cars are parked correctly. Again not really our fault if another guest is thoughtless in their parking.
The kitchen can be a bit of a squeeze when the table is in use but most guests do not have a problem with this.
Our receptionist as you call him is not there to give silver service he is there to check you in and maybe anwser any questions you may have. We are not a 5 star hotel we are a self catering youth hostel which means you are basically left to look after yourselves. I am sorry to say but it always seems to be the divers that stay at our establishment who dont seem to be able to do this without having a good whinge!!!
In recent years we have invested all the money we can spare renovating our backpackers and this winter it is the turn of the hall stairs and landings to get a revamp. We are budget accommodation and it is very hard for a small business like ours to do everything at once. We have in the last 5 years done the following. Fitted new boilers and a solar hot water system, new showers, decorated the whole outside of the building, created a new website, purchased new mattresses, new pillows, some new duvets (the rest next winter), new furnishings, painted all rooms, repainted kitchen (2 weeks ago). This is just some of the work we have undertaken and with regards the beds they are very solid pine bunk beds but unfortunately due to their constant use the fixings can sometimes become a bit loose and need tightening however we are not always aware they are loose until someone points it out upon which we tighten them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

came up from from southampton with a mate and we both found the hostel very chilled out. Staff were friendly and accomadating. For around £14 pound a night it proved great value and home away from home really. Would recommend Ocean Packpackers wholeheartedly and definately would come again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

Ocean Backpackers is a dirty rundown hovel but I guess that's what you would expect for £15 per person per night. I shared a dorm with 8 others and thankfully the window could be opened cos the oxygen levels were low! We didn't dare touch the cooking utensils in the smallest kitchen in the world, for fear of catching the plague. Shower was tiny although remained hot for all of us and location is a big plus. Suitable only for those who like to rough it.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean Backpackers, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Thanks for your review although I'm not sure you have the correct hostel as our kitchen is far from small. You shared an 8 bed dorm with others because that is what you or one of your friends booked and I would imagine if it was unpleasent in anyway it was not due to the actual room which is a good size with 4 x full size bunk beds in it!! Those reading this might want to look at the picture of our communal self catering kitchen which is by no means small. I would also like point out that self catering means the washing up of utensils is down to the guests who use them and if for some reason there was a dirty one it was because when doing our usual cleaning of the floor, worktops, oven etc etc.. we missed the fact that someone did not wash up after themselves properly. Lastly I would like to add that our showers are of a standard size.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

Overall rating was actually above average.
The dorm room was clean and the bed comfortable.. Lounge cosy. Kitchen clean (One table is not very stable...). The staff friendly and helpful. Other visitors were great.
Location is v good for the harbour, sea front and high street. Good value. Would stay here again.
The worst things (being on the ground floor) were early morning lorries and the noise from the stairs.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milky2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.6 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.2 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#7 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Backpackers

Property: Ocean Backpackers
Address: 29 St. James Place, Ilfracombe EX34 9BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Backpackers is a contemporary hostel situated close to Ilfracombe's picturesque fishing harbour. Nestled in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, Ilfracombe has many shops, galleries, cafes, pubs and restaurants and is filled with curious coastal charm. The harbour is home to Damien Hirst's 20m statue Verity and trips to Lundy Island, coastal cruises, sea-life safaris and diving are available from the quay. Local attractions include Ilfracombe Aquarium, and the award winning Tunnels Beaches. Surfers' favourites Woolacombe, Croyde and Saunton are a short drive away. Adventure swimming, sea-kayaking, quad biking and horse riding are also available. Ilfracombe is the start of the NCN route 27 Coast to Coast ride and the South West Coast Path provides wonderful coastal walks with stunning scenery. Facilities include a lounge, free Internet/WiFi, self-catering kitchen, surfboard/bike storage and a free car park. Weekly discounts and large group whole hostel bookings are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ocean Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Backpackers Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing