We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Week Away”
Review of Ocean Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ocean Backpackers
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The Owner Alexis is extremely welcoming and ensures you have a great stay. Everything is there that you need for a very reasonable price. There is a very good pub about 20 yards from the hostel and also has great takeaways along the same street We had a great time!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveBarry16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2013

Oceanbackpackers, truly a backpackers haven, any cheaper and it would be free. but cheap doesn't mean bad. Clean room and toilets and an all equipped kitchen enough to cook meals for 40 people (that's how many we were), you buy your foodstuff or maybe borrow from the 'Free' shelves. All that you would want in a hotel but yet with that typical homely feeling. The Parking is small but there is free parking space just across. Don't miss the sunrise or sunset from the hills and dock sides. A very lively high-street with good restaurants and night clubs close by. The staff are very helpful and nice. This is the place that you can go and stay, enjoy Ilfracombe reasonable and yet the best.

Room Tip: Couples ask for a double bed, you don't want bunkers. Groups ask for bunker beds and see how 6 p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunillobo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Excellent hostel, with everything you would need (kitchen, wifi, tv room etc.). We stayed in a private room, which came with it own bathroom, a spare bunk bed and even a TV, with video player. Was very impressed.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed here over the weekend as my husband likes to surf. The people are very friendly, with excellent tips for best places to eat and drink, we slept in the double on-suite room & will be staying again next month. for the money you really can't fault the place & if anyone does then they should dig deeper in their pockets.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scarletwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed here in the 8 bed dorm with toilet and shower room across the landing. Good facilities. Parking round the back and somewhere to store the bikes safely. Friendly welcome and good advice on where to eat. Would recommend they put batons in the bunk beds as many missing.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasperChepstow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Perfect location. Helpful staff. Comfy bed. Nice hot shower. Large spacious communal area and kitchen. Clean and tidy just can't fault it! Look forward to staying again in the future! Will recommend highly

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nomadnomadnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Stayed here on my 4th night of the SW Coast Path. Friendly, secure, well-equipped kitchen, appreciated the free computer to access my emails, clean en-suite bathroom to 6-bed dorm. Great place, can recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FuzzySalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#15 of 20 in Ilfracombe
354 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
657 reviews
2.6 mi away
High Ways House
High Ways House
#1 of 1 in Mullacott
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
482 reviews
0.6 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
449 reviews
1 mi away
Wildercombe House
Wildercombe House
#1 of 52 in Ilfracombe
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Backpackers

Address: 29 St. James Place, Ilfracombe EX34 9BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Ilfracombe
Price Range: £34 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Backpackers is a contemporary hostel situated close to Ilfracombe's picturesque fishing harbour. Nestled in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, Ilfracombe has many shops, galleries, cafes, pubs and restaurants and is filled with curious coastal charm. The harbour is home to Damien Hirst's 20m statue Verity and trips to Lundy Island, coastal cruises, sea-life safaris and diving are available from the quay. Local attractions include Ilfracombe Aquarium, and the award winning Tunnels Beaches. Surfers' favourites Woolacombe, Croyde and Saunton are a short drive away. Adventure swimming, sea-kayaking, quad biking and horse riding are also available. Ilfracombe is the start of the NCN route 27 Coast to Coast ride and the South West Coast Path provides wonderful coastal walks with stunning scenery. Facilities include a lounge, free Internet/WiFi, self-catering kitchen, surfboard/bike storage and a free car park. Weekly discounts and large group whole hostel bookings are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ocean Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Backpackers Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing