We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend it to anyone on a budget”
Review of Ocean Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ocean Backpackers
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Would recommend it to anyone on a budget”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights while visiting family in the area. Altho it is a hostel we had our own double room with ensuite (and a glimpse of sea view!) at a very reasonable price.

You have full use of the lounge and kitchen facilities which seemed very inviting, however we opted to eat out as the place is centrally located in the old part of Ilfracombe and so surrounded by nearby cafes, restaurants & pubs.

The bed was comfy, the room was clean and all-in-all we had a nice stay and would recommend it to anyone on a budget.

Room Tip: The hostel is right next the church which rings its bell every hour; this may annoy you when you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaonyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    22
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
17
9
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

A good starting place for our Devon C2C cycle trip, wish we had stayed for a day to see Ilfracombe. We arrived late after a long journey so got the last room next to the check in desk on the ground floor. I didn't see any other rooms but ours was fine apart from noisy in the morning due to deliveries/buses going past just outside. Ensuite shower was fine as were the fluffy towels we hired for £1 each.
Sitting room with sofas and TV as in picture and kitchen were spacious, comfortable and well equipped respectively. Huge fridges as well. Bikes were stored in a shed/cellar outside, accessed from rear of property.
Hostel in walking distance of central Ilfracombe and Verity, shops and restaurants and cafes but not that near a supermarket, so bring food if you're cooking.

Room Tip: Didn't see any others but I'd say go as high as you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malteza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

My wife and I stayed in an en-suite room here after arriving on the ferry from Lundy and were very pleased with the room and the hostel facilities. Our room was very comfortable, the hostel kitchen was spacious and well-equiped, the staff were helpful and welcoming. We also liked the family of lop-eared rabbits in thier hutch in the garden.

The hostel is very close to the bus terminus and the harbour (handy for us as we arrived by ship and left by bus to Lynmouth). There are several restaurants and take-aways nearby and I recommend the 'Ship & Pilot' pub round the corner. Grocery shopping in town is limited - a Lidl nearby and a small Co-op in the High St.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Myself and seven of my friends went for a week away and we were very pleased with the hostel, the welcoming atmosphere and large living areas really enhanced the experience of our stay and i intend to visit again in the future!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed here for one night. It's right in the middle of Ilfracombe just a couple of minutes' walk from the harbour and beaches. It has a friendly international atmosphere and avoid kitchen and lounge area you can use. The rooms are standard hostel rooms- bunk beds etc, but most have en suite bathrooms. Free car parking too.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The Owner Alexis is extremely welcoming and ensures you have a great stay. Everything is there that you need for a very reasonable price. There is a very good pub about 20 yards from the hostel and also has great takeaways along the same street We had a great time!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveBarry16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Oceanbackpackers, truly a backpackers haven, any cheaper and it would be free. but cheap doesn't mean bad. Clean room and toilets and an all equipped kitchen enough to cook meals for 40 people (that's how many we were), you buy your foodstuff or maybe borrow from the 'Free' shelves. All that you would want in a hotel but yet with that typical homely feeling. The Parking is small but there is free parking space just across. Don't miss the sunrise or sunset from the hills and dock sides. A very lively high-street with good restaurants and night clubs close by. The staff are very helpful and nice. This is the place that you can go and stay, enjoy Ilfracombe reasonable and yet the best.

Room Tip: Couples ask for a double bed, you don't want bunkers. Groups ask for bunker beds and see how 6 p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunillobo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#17 of 20 in Ilfracombe
335 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
417 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Darnley Hotel
The Darnley Hotel
#10 of 20 in Ilfracombe
47 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Boat House
The Boat House
#31 of 53 in Ilfracombe
25 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wentworth House
Wentworth House
#26 of 53 in Ilfracombe
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Backpackers

Property: Ocean Backpackers
Address: 29 St. James Place, Ilfracombe EX34 9BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Backpackers is a contemporary hostel situated close to Ilfracombe's picturesque fishing harbour. Nestled in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, Ilfracombe has many shops, galleries, cafes, pubs and restaurants and is filled with curious coastal charm. The harbour is home to Damien Hirst's 20m statue Verity and trips to Lundy Island, coastal cruises, sea-life safaris and diving are available from the quay. Local attractions include Ilfracombe Aquarium, and the award winning Tunnels Beaches. Surfers' favourites Woolacombe, Croyde and Saunton are a short drive away. Adventure swimming, sea-kayaking, quad biking and horse riding are also available. Ilfracombe is the start of the NCN route 27 Coast to Coast ride and the South West Coast Path provides wonderful coastal walks with stunning scenery. Facilities include a lounge, free Internet/WiFi, self-catering kitchen, surfboard/bike storage and a free car park. Weekly discounts and large group whole hostel bookings are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ocean Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Backpackers Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing