We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic end to a weeks holiday.”
Review of Ocean Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ocean Backpackers
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Starting a weeks holiday in Cornwall from Bournemouth and ending in Ilfracombe. Ilfracombe is a gorgeous place. Loads to do and plenty of pubs and restaurants to choose from. We were lucky enough to stay at the ocean backpackers. We were on the top floor with a large kitchen shared with others. 2 bathrooms to choose from, making it hassle free for us to get ready to go out. Wi . Fi access is an added bonus along with a great communal lounge and dining area. Computer available to use. The room had a fantastic view and we couldn't be closer to the harbour were we took a great boat trip out. A hidden gem for accommodation against some stiff competition. I will definitely be back and any friends looking for a budget place to all stay together I totally recommend staying here.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Rubyp928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely review. It is great to read you had a good stay and made the most of the facilities available and enjoyed the harbour location we are situated. Hope to see you again next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
There are newer reviews for Ocean Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

I always stay here before and after I go to Lundy Island. The staff are friendly and chatty and accommodating, and always there when you need some advice or directions to the nearest pub/club! The rooms are clean and safe, and there are great social areas and a well kitted out kitchen downstairs. A place that I keep coming back to time and again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isabel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review. It is always a pleasure to welcome returning guests and hope to see you again in the not to distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This is our group's second time to this great backpackers. We're keen surfers, this place has everything and is great value. The staff are really friendly, nothing is too much trouble. The facilities are perfect, well equiped kitchen, free wifi and computer, surf board/wetsuit drying room, bike storage, parking nearby, proximity to surf spots, set in a pleasant habour town which itself has a good range of places to eat. Seems like a friendly set up if you weren't to come in a group, open plan communal area, people friendly. The town was a real surprise, quiet harbour, fishing boat trips, galleries, seems a good spot to spend time if the surf isn't great. yes

Room Tip: Number 5 is a nice room
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We used the top floor flat which contains 4 bedrooms for a family weekend and found it really comfortable and well equipped. We had our own kitchen for cosy family meals and the kids could either watch TV in the bedrooms or go downstairs to the large communal lounge and games room.
The hostel is perfectly situated for surfing/walking along the beautiful north Devon coast and Ilfracombe itself is an interesting little town to explore. The owners and staff are incredibly helpful and friendly and I will definitely use the hostel again!

Room Tip: Top floor flat has its own kitchen
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We use this hostel to launch a coast to coast cycle event with school. The rooms are clean and functional and look great after a recent refurbishment. A good sized group catering kitchen and lots of storage for bikes!! Above all the staff are welcoming and friendly on the phone or at the hostel. An absolute gem!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

A really great hostel. Decent prices were what brought us here, but the facilities and the ambience of the hostel really made our stay a good one. We were surfing all weekend, and as such the location was brilliant. The hostel has a storage room where you can keep surfboards and hang wetsuits overnight, so you dont need to leave them in your car etc. The kitchen is well equipped which meant we could cook decent meals in the evenings and there's a really nice little lounge area with a tv and sofas to chill out in. The owners were friendly and more than happy to answer any questions, direct us to the better pubs in the area and even get us half price entry to THE club in Ilfracombe ;)

Room Tip: If there's a group of you, request a room all together. Much more comfy and secure.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DTwyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Great hostel, one of the best I have stayed at. We booked the entire building for a stag weekend, even though there were only 15 of us, however this worked out perfectly giving us the run of the place and still for a very reasonable price. Would have been lots of space even if we had not. Facilities are good, clean bedrooms, plenty of bathrooms, spacious kitchen and social areas. The hostel is situated no more than 3 minutes from the harbour, and maybe 5 minutes from the centre of the highstreet, There are several takeaways and good pubs within a couple of minutes of the hostel. Huge thanks to the manager Alexis who looked after us and offered plenty of advice on where was best to go. Would recommend for all sorts really, although this was a stag weekend I can easily see me going back with my wife and kids (boys 3 & 6) and using a family room as it is such a good base. Only real thing to gripe about was the church bells going off hourly from 07:00am , not ideal after a heavy night, but not a big deal

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holey_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.4 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
431 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
214 reviews
0.6 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#17 of 20 in Ilfracombe
341 reviews
0.2 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#7 of 20 in Ilfracombe
270 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mullacott Farm
Mullacott Farm
#21 of 53 in Ilfracombe
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Backpackers

Address: 29 St. James Place, Ilfracombe EX34 9BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Ilfracombe
Price Range: £30 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Backpackers is a contemporary hostel situated close to Ilfracombe's picturesque fishing harbour. Nestled in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, Ilfracombe has many shops, galleries, cafes, pubs and restaurants and is filled with curious coastal charm. The harbour is home to Damien Hirst's 20m statue Verity and trips to Lundy Island, coastal cruises, sea-life safaris and diving are available from the quay. Local attractions include Ilfracombe Aquarium, and the award winning Tunnels Beaches. Surfers' favourites Woolacombe, Croyde and Saunton are a short drive away. Adventure swimming, sea-kayaking, quad biking and horse riding are also available. Ilfracombe is the start of the NCN route 27 Coast to Coast ride and the South West Coast Path provides wonderful coastal walks with stunning scenery. Facilities include a lounge, free Internet/WiFi, self-catering kitchen, surfboard/bike storage and a free car park. Weekly discounts and large group whole hostel bookings are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ocean Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Backpackers Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing