We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long weekend Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bath House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Reviewed 14 June 2011

From the outside the hotel looks tired, having said that Malcolm & his staff were very friendly and informative. A good English breakfast served every morning, if you wanted more tea and toast there was never a problem, it would have been nice had there been a choice of wholemeal bread. Rooms and beds comfortable, we didn't have a shower in our room, had to sit in the bath using the hand held shower tap. Location great for Tunnels Beach and easy walking distance to town and harbour. The only noise issue were Seagulls. Hotel car park space is limited. We were told where to park without restrictions and found a space with no problems. Eating out, try the Tapas restaurant excellent.
Michelle

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Posh423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
There are newer reviews for The Bath House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2011

stayed here for three nights to attend a wedding at the nearby tunnels venue. Hotel room was very clean as was the hotel. Unfortunately the room was not set out in a practical way. Hairdryer nowhere near a mirror, and it was non detachable. No full length mirror and when you are getting ready for a wedding that is quite important. Bed was awful it was like sleeping on a slope !!. No shower only bath. On the positve side, staff very attentive and polite. Breakfast average but freshly cooked. Not a hotel for a longer stay....your back would not cope ! Oh yes and a ancient lift that does not work late at night, and you need to let yourself in after 10pm .....(Car park very small)

Room Tip: go for lower floor because of lift
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jools1Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

The staff at the Bath House Hotel were very friendly and helpfull. The four poster bed was one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in. Could not fault the hotel at all. We will definatly be going back. Well Done everybody at the Bath House.

Room Tip: First floor, four poster bed.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeandDeb2506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

Stayed at the Bath House Hotel over Easter weekend, upon arrival the outside looked somewhat tired and a little rundown so I was not expecting much. Pleasantly surprised when we walked into the reception, decor tidy and area clean. Check in process very easy and staff very polite. Room decorated with modern furniture and colours, windows needed a good clean as obviously a problem with the local seagulls leaving their mark but view ok overlooking the car park.
Bathroom clean, well designed with bath and shower head, showerhead not to be used as a 'shower' in hotel notes as it causes water to leak into room below, so why not just put a shower curtain up considering most people like to have a shower? odd logic and less water useage but it was fine, we just thought it was strange.
Tea and coffee available with plenty of each. Only downside of the room was the mattress, furniture in room looked very new, strong and sturdy but the mattress was about 3 inches thick, thus causing a rather restless nights sleep as unable to get comfortable. Why spend money on renovating a room and then scrimp on the most important aspect and the one thing people need.
Breakfast good with cereals and full English available and check out at 11 a great time so no mad rush first thing in the morning.

All in all a great stay but please please please buy better mattresses.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tinkandtonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2011

Booked room after reviewing website.
Not clear to find, lack of signage.
On booking in was informed that the restaurant was closed that night but food was available in a couple of pubs a few minutes walk. After a ten minute walk found the advised pubs. After a meal a walk back in the rain.
No showers in rooms, just hand held showers that you are advised not to use for a shower and informed of damage costs in water gets onto floor and through ceiling! Had to jam paper into door to stop rattling.
Attempted to make cup of tea twice in the morrning but gave up due to milk tubs being curdled.
Negotiated an early breakfast 0730 and asked for mushrooms that were not very edible possibly due to being tinned.
Room was clean, bed reasonable, cold during the night. Place a bit shabby with an ancient lift not to be used after 2200. Will not be returning.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank colin_comeron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2010

We were made to feel very welcome as soon as we arrived. Lovely clean room with a jet bath. Good sauna and steam shower.

Close to all of Ilfracombe has to offer and close to all the good beaches.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frazermackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2010

We had a very relaxing break. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Had an evening meal on the last night which was excellent quality and very good value. Not a place to go if your looking for turkey and tinsel in October. I wasn't -so it was perfect!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mhturnbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.0 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
429 reviews
1.0 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
437 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#17 of 20 in Ilfracombe
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
385 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Darnley Hotel
The Darnley Hotel
#10 of 20 in Ilfracombe
51 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bath House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bath House Hotel

Address: Runnacleave Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Price Range: £62 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bath House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bath House hotel has 22 en-suite bedrooms and is ideally situated opposite the Tunnels beaches, close to the High Street and just a few minutes walk from the harbour. If you feel like a work out or simply want to sweat it out in the sauna, the fully fitted gymnasium, sauna, solarium, steam and power showers are available free of charge when staying at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Bath House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bath Hotel Ilfracombe
The Bath Hotel
The Bath House Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing