We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bath House Hotel
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

The staff couldn't have been more helpful...really friendly...rooms were great although very hot...jacuzzi bath was a great added extra..breakfast was lovely..car park isn't very big but there is plenty of other spaces around the hotel to park...would definitely stay there again...thank you..

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natasha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2013

The hotel doesn't look very inviting from the outside and could do with a bit of attention. The rooms are lovely though. We had a double room with a separate living room and a large bathroom with a Jacuzzi bath. The room was nice decorated and very clean and spacious. We had balconies in both rooms but there could have done with a bit of a clean.
The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was nice. However it would have been nice if there had been a breakfast menu with choices as the waitress just asked what we wanted and we had to ask what was on offer.
There is gym and sauna in the basement of the hotel but this doesn't seem to be widely publicised and we weren't told about it when we arrived.
The hotel is well placed for going into town. It's about a 10 minute stroll to the shops, restaurants and harbour.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

A true hotel review. Upon arrivel we had to drag our suitcases up lots of stairs (no ramps provided) There is a lift once inside however we decided not to use it an took our cases up by the stairs. Room was fine, we paid for a Suite Double which included jacuzzi bath and balcony. The Bathroom was clean and nice, we didnt realy want to use the jacuzzi function much as the pump was so loud we thought it might disturb other guests, The balconys have serious problems, they dont look safe and have alot of metal fatigue, none of the bolt style locks in our room worked due to not lining up with keep on our patio doors and bathroom door. The room was clean and the bed is amazingly comfortable. The hotel itself seems to lack a pro handyman (filler on walls that has been left and serious wall issues in the dining room above one of the doors, the electrics in the bar are also very interesting ! using earthing cable as powercable.) As regarding car parking we managed to get a space however be prepaired for your car to be s*it on 100 times from the seagulls (I understand this is beyond the control of the establishment) If you have your window open at night you may get noise from people walking past from their way back from the pub but the main issue is the seagulls noise, every 20 mins they pipe up and cause a noise, (again no fault of the establishment) This hotel is no smoking which is fine however the staff/owners take their fag break just outside the rear door - so if like us with our balcony we get all the smoke straight into our room as we are right above. In my opinion I wouldnt return as there is no welcoming atmoshphere, it seems very stale. All in all clean and tidy bedrooms, but needs attention !!

Room Tip: Dont have a balcony unless you have a death wish
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mixmaster1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmtheOwner, Owner at The Bath House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

I'm very sorry you didn't enjoy your stay at the Bath House Hotel.

Clearly the 'true hotel review' is prone to exaggeration.

The 12 steps you had to drag your suitcases up to enter the hotel was less than the number you carried them up instead of using the lift to get to your room.

The Room which was fine, is in most guests eyes, lovely.

The Jacuzzi is no louder than any other Jacuzzi.

The balconies are perfectly safe.

I'm really not sure what the serious wall issue is and the electrics in the bar are certainly not using earth cable as a power cable. I have no idea where you got that from.

Yes, seagulls do go to the toilet too, and they can be noisy. Ilfracombe is a seaside town after all.

Yes, the staff do have cigarette break, and guests also smoke to the rear of the hotel. Strangely though, the Suite is nowhere near where the smoking area is.

Of course it is your opinion that there is no atmosphere but the vast majority of our guest would disagree with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We have just spent 2 nights at the Bath House hotel and both enjoyed our stay. The staff were all very friendly and our room spacious and clean. As 'Tunnels Beaches' is just across the road from the hotel it was ideal as we were attending a wedding at the venue. It is also well situated for the local high street and promenade. No complaints about the breakfast either, with toast and jams, cereal, coffee, fruit juices and a good sized full English breakfast. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: There is a lift but I think it is switched off at night (we were on the 1st floor so never used it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carl r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We booked 3 nights at this hotel at short notice , one day before. Main reason we booked it was that it advertised a restaurant and a bar. In the event the restaurant didn't really function in the evening and the bar was not particularly inviting.
We had 2 main grievances :
The room was very small but we accepted that, as it was a last minute booking. Due to very hot weather we had to leave the window open the first night and couldn't sleep at all due to the screeching of the seagulls and general noise from the street. Because of this we decided to check out and find somewhere else.
The girl at check out , after consulting with somebody else, then told us that we had to pay for the 3 nights. Upon querying this we were referred to the hote's terms and conditions, which had come via an email on the evening before we set out. At no time did anybody ask what the problem was, which was surprising for a small hotel. In the end we managed to obtain a small fan from the hotel which at least allowed us to close the window for the remaining 2 nights.

The parking is inadequate for the rooms that the hotel has. We could not get into the car park on the third night and parked in a pay and display car park, ( about half a mile away, Wilder Road ) which stopped charging after 18.00 hrs. As the next day was a Sunday I assumed that the restrictions would not apply or start at around 10.00. I collected the car at 8.57 on the Sunday morning and a warden was writing out a ticket. apparently the restrictions start at 08.00 on Sundays, which is almost unheard of for a pay and display car park.

Although I accept that I should have read the details on both the hotel terms and conditions and the car park, there was a total lack of goodwill from the hotel on both aspects, which was disappointing.

The hotel is good value ( leaving aside the parking ticket ) and the breakfast is good and we accept that we had one of the last rooms available. If anybody else books this hotel then watch out for the points mentioned.

Room Tip: Functional hotel, not a particularly friendly atmosphere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmtheOwner, Owner at The Bath House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

The room you stayed in, as you were aware when you booked it, was indeed our last available.

That is not to say it is 'very small'. In fact, the 'number 1 hotel in Ilfracombe' (which is just a small guest house) has smaller rooms than this.

The restaurant functions very well when booked. Ilfracombe has a vast array of good quality restaurants and therefore most people prefer to eat out. We are quite happy to offer a good quality menu if you prefer to eat in.

We have a large bar, with comfortable seating. Most guests enjoy a drink at the bar when they return of the afternoon or before they go out of the evening.

I'm very sorry but we are not able to control the weather, the seagulls or the street outside.

Clearly, we had asked as to the problem as a fan was provided.

As the owner I take a great interest in the guest reviews and I look for helpful comments so that we can make changes to improve the hotel our service.

I can understand that you were upset about receiving a ticket but yes, you should have read the details of the Car Park and it is really not our fault that you obtained one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights for a wedding at a nearby church and reception at the Tunnels Beaches. It was a lovely, clean hotel with spacious modern rooms and very friendly staff. Ideally located for me it was a 1 minute walk to the Tunnels and church (if that) and a 5-10 minute walk to the Harbour for some nice restaurants. The price was very reasonable and included a scrumptious full English breakfast. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abperks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Met up with our son and partner for the weekend of Sat 6th April with our son staying in different accommodation. Managed to park in the hotel car park which was lucky as it was pot luck with roadside parking at front of hotel and some car parks very expensive. Very enjoyable stay with excellent service and excellent weather made it even better. Bedroom and shower rooms were spacious and in excellent condition. Breakfast superb

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric280354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
459 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
394 reviews
1 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#6 of 20 in Ilfracombe
288 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#15 of 20 in Ilfracombe
348 reviews
0.2 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#7 of 20 in Ilfracombe
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bath House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bath House Hotel

Address: Runnacleave Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Price Range: £69 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bath House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bath House hotel has 22 en-suite bedrooms and is ideally situated opposite the Tunnels beaches, close to the High Street and just a few minutes walk from the harbour. If you feel like a work out or simply want to sweat it out in the sauna, the fully fitted gymnasium, sauna, solarium, steam and power showers are available free of charge when staying at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bath House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bath Hotel Ilfracombe
The Bath Hotel
The Bath House Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing