We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bath House Hotel
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This hotel is situated next to 'Tunnels, Beaches' so the location is great for that particular attraction and also it is close to the town centre with it's restaurants and bars.

You can tell that the owners have spent a lot of time and money trying to create a good quality hotel as it is immaculately clean and tidy throughout.
The hotel has a small bar area with a pool table and comfortable seating which we used a couple of times. Unfortunately not many other guests did.

Cannot fault the breakfast at all. Food is cooked to order and you can order a Full English or any combination of items. Plenty of toast, fruit juice and coffee. Staff very helpful and pleasant.

We did have a problem with very noisy floor boards from the above room on the first night, We didn't complain as we wanted to see if the family above left the hotel the next day, They did and we didn't have that problem the next two nights. Unfortunately we did have other problems, one being extremely noisy guests on Saturday night (3am) and the other being the new guests in the room above flooding our bathroom BOTH nights due to the jacuzzi bath they were allowing their children to use overflowing and coming through our ceiling. Towels were provided by the manager both nights and although we do not blame them it does prompt a question mark over the type of guests using the hotel.

To sum up - Staff were great, breakfast good and rooms comfortable and clean, stay slightly ruined by other guests.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that isn't directly below family room, suite or jacuzzi room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Batty-L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

This hotel is in a good location, within walking distance of the harbour and town centre.
Our room was light and airy with a huge comfortable bed and more than enough cupboard and drawer space.
A very clean stylish bathroom with a great shower.
Tea and coffee is available in the room and these were replenished daily.
Breakfast is made to order and is well cooked and well presented.
We were made to feel very welcome by Malcolm and his wife who gave us advice on the best places to visit.
We stayed over the Bank Holiday weekend and were impressed by the range of activities going on in and around the town.
A lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

When you first arrive you may wonder what you have come to as the improvements have all been made inside rather than outside.

If you want a clean family hotel with great family Rooms this is the place for you. Malcolm made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble.

Great location!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank nas105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmtheOwner, Owner at The Bath House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Nas,

Many thanks for your review.

We very much appreciate positive reviews.

Kindest regards

Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed at the hotel for a friends wedding. When we arrived we had difficulty locating the reception area.

When we went to our room I was very impressed by the cleanliness, size and the parents room being in its own room.

Wehad breakfast both days and this was poor. I was surprised by lack of local ingredients with cheap sausages and bacon. The coffee was filter type and burnt.

I was pleased by the hotel offering WiFi but this could easily extended to rooms.


A good hotel and I would stay again due to its great location.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmybuk2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmtheOwner, Owner at The Bath House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear James,

Many thanks for your review as we are trying hard to improve the hotel on a daily basis.

For future reference the reception area is right in front of you when you enter the building from the car park. If in doubt it is also right next to the bar.

I'm very please that you were very impressed by the cleanliness and size of the rooms. We work very hard to ensure the cleanliness of our rooms as we understand the importance of this.

I am very surprised at the comments you have made with regard to our breakfasts. We do not use 'cheap sausages or bacon' and I'm unsure as to how you know where we source our ingredients from. In actual fact we use large locally sourced free range eggs, large Cumberland sausages, large thick slices of bacon, fresh tomatoes from the local greengrocer, Heinz or Branston baked beans and hash browns.

We cook all the breakfasts fresh to order and are not left festering under lights.

If you read through other reviews you will see that our breakfasts are very popular, and rightly so.

We do offer WiFi which can be used in some of the rooms. It is not as easy as you might think to extended it to all the rooms but we are looking into this.

Yes, it is a good hotel and location and we look forward to seeing you again.

Kindest regards

Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The location was great. A very short walk to everything we needed. We had a family room which was very comfortable and spacious. The staff were nice and friendly too. Breakfast was cooked fresh and served hot which was a very pleasant change.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TobyLewis0877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Lovely room with spar bath and fluffy towels , very comfy bed and clean. There was nothing we could find fault with this hotel. Would recommend to all my friends and relations. Very inexpensive considering how lovely it is.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SharonJackman74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

everything, from location, bedtime, to breakfast.. would use hotel again, if available, as i take random breaks being self-employed.. really enjoy illfracombe, have been many times over the years, recommend coastal drive from minehead, via, porlock weir, lynmouth, lynton, valley of the rocks, hunters inn, combe martin, a marvellous adventure.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ian_Lewis2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
483 reviews
1 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
449 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#14 of 20 in Ilfracombe
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#6 of 20 in Ilfracombe
290 reviews
0.6 mi away
Strathmore Guest House
Strathmore Guest House
#10 of 20 in Ilfracombe
60 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bath House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bath House Hotel

Address: Runnacleave Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Price Range: £69 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bath House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bath House hotel has 22 en-suite bedrooms and is ideally situated opposite the Tunnels beaches, close to the High Street and just a few minutes walk from the harbour. If you feel like a work out or simply want to sweat it out in the sauna, the fully fitted gymnasium, sauna, solarium, steam and power showers are available free of charge when staying at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LateRooms, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Bath House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bath Hotel Ilfracombe
The Bath Hotel
The Bath House Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing