We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Olive Branch
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Imperial Hotel(Ilfracombe)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Devon Bay Hotel(Ilfracombe)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Palm Court Hotel(Ilfracombe)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Osborne Hotel(Ilfracombe)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Carlton Hotel(Ilfracombe)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marine Court Hotel(Ilfracombe)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Darnley Hotel(Ilfracombe)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (193)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveller rating
165
24
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
165
24
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstop floorrestaurant downstairsb bfore streetmichelin star restaurantthomas carrbrilliant showertwin roomjacuzzi bathbreakfast was excellentwarm welcomeguest housenice bathroommod conscooked to perfectionfew minutes walk awayexcellent stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 193 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We spent our wedding night at the Olive Branch and couldn't have picked a more perfect place. The very kind owners Carol and Paul had decorated the room for us with Mr & Mrs chains and left a bottle of bubbly in the room which was very unexpected but greatly appreciated and made our stay even special. The room was spotless and spacious with a huge bathroom and is right in the middle of Ilfracombe so is a great location for seeing all the sights. The owners also provided breakfast a little later than usual for us and the food was excellent all cooked to order. It was a memorable stay and we hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elly1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

One of the nicest B&Bs/Guest house I have stayed in, my partner and myself went for 2 nights and ended up staying for 3, we had a room on the top floor with sea views from the bedroom and a harbour view from the bathroom. Great hosts and a great breakfast plus the added bonus of a restaurant at night which has a great menu and big portions this is recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbasox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at The Olive Branch. The room was excellent, comfortable & clean .... It had everything we could have hoped for. The owners are a really lovely, friendly couple who helped make our stay perfect. We also had a meal in the restaurant one night, the food, service & atmosphere was spot on. We would definitely recommend staying here if visiting Ilfracombe & district.

Room Tip: The big room with the BIG bed!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamatoldvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

What a pleasant change from all the overpriced hyped up average hotels. This was excellent. The room presentation, the customer service and attention to detail. We stayed here after a five day stay around Devon and Cornwall and this was by far the nicest place we stayed and nowhere near the most expensive! It was comfortable, had some really nice extra touches and the breakfast was as good as we have had in a hotel in a long time. 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

For some reason I have always been slightly put off B&Bs/Guest Houses, I can happily say the Olive Branch has changed my opinion off them. This Guest House is easily superior to most hotels.
It is located on a quiet pedestrianised street which contains a number of the top rated restaurants in Ilfracombe. The harbour is about 2minutes (by foot) away and the high street the same but uphill. There is very little parking nearby so take Paul's advice of dropping your bags off outside and then follow his directions to the long stay car park (£3.10/24hours) which is about 5-10minutes away depending on how busy it is.
The hospitality was brilliant, they were happy to make advice on where to eat and eager to engage in conversation. We were concerned by another review that we may not get the room we booked, I contacted the Olive Branch and had a reassuring reply within minutes so can't fault their efforts.
Our spotlessly clean Superior Double room was fairly large and well equipped. It contained more than you would expect with iron, large TV with DVD player, tea & coffee facilities and a fridge (with chilled wine glasses - the small things!). The rooms are well finished with lovely furnishing. One of the highlights has to be the bathroom with its large roll top bath complete with bath salts and cosmetics.
Breakfast is served in the little restaurant on the ground floor where you are offered a choice of cereals and fruit juice followed by your choice from the menu. The full English was delicious, perfectly cooked eggs and beans served in small dishes instead of all over the other food.
The owners clearly take great pride in what they do paying attention to every detail, this is positively reflected by smiling guests leaving such complimentary comments in their guest book.
I hope we have the pleasure of visiting again some time soon and would highly recommend putting the Olive Branch at the top of your short list is you are planning a visit to Ilfracombe.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A-Nerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews