We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great half term get away ”
Review of The Olive Branch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Olive Branch
Ranked #8 of 53 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
York
1 review
“Great half term get away ”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

This guest house is truly superb and not your "typical" B and B. Firstly, the owners were more than accommodating to all of our needs and offered tips on the best places to go and made you feel really at home. The rooms were grand with picturesque sea views and had great on suite facilities. The rooms, service, breakfast and warm welcome made for a great trip and definitely worth a visit for next season. Booking a table to eat in the restaurant, on a evening, is a must do also.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gembles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    18
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
118
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I booked to stay with friends at the Olive Branch for just one night before travelling to Lundy Island in the morning, and wish I could have stayed longer! Carol knew we were catching the boat to Lundy and so had rung the Lundy Company to find out the time of the boat (it varies according to the weather / tides) so she could advise us on breakfast times. The rooms were lovely; spotlessly clean and comfortable, with lovely toiletries and a nice view of the harbour from my room. We had taken the double with the freestanding bath in it (lovely decoration), the single and the twin as a single, but having settled in I got a phone call from another friend who was suddenly stranded as the friends she was due to stay with had had a medical emergency. Everywhere in Ilfracombe seemed to be fully booked. So I went to speak to Carol, and she was fantastic; made up the spare bed in the twin so that my friend could share - no trouble at all. The breakfast in the morning was wonderful - lots of choice and served in the light and airy restaurant. And then Paul carried our bags down the stairs to help when checking out. This B&B wouldn't suit anyone who has a problem with stairs as there are lots of them, but apart from that can't be faulted. I was enchanted with Lundy so will definitely return - and I hope to stay at the Olive Branch the next time too!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
highworth
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Our son booked this bed and breakfast as a treat for us and what a treat it was
The rooms were modern and very very clean Nothing was to much trouble for the hosts we enjoyed so much we stayed another night great value great stay we will be back

Room Tip: Room 5 was the best room also room at top is a bit of treck
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pollygHighworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2013

My new hubby and I stayed in the olive branch on our wedding weekend. We got married at tunnels beaches in July. The staff at the olive branch were so lovely! really accommodating and friendly, the sevice was amazing and the rooms were comfortable , clean and decorated beautifully. We ate in the restaurant downstairs too and it was delicious! we had such a nice stay here, even some free champers on our wedding night which was a lovely touch! Highly recommended! Thank you for making our wedding weekend so enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melanie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We spent our wedding night at the Olive Branch and couldn't have picked a more perfect place. The very kind owners Carol and Paul had decorated the room for us with Mr & Mrs chains and left a bottle of bubbly in the room which was very unexpected but greatly appreciated and made our stay even special. The room was spotless and spacious with a huge bathroom and is right in the middle of Ilfracombe so is a great location for seeing all the sights. The owners also provided breakfast a little later than usual for us and the food was excellent all cooked to order. It was a memorable stay and we hope to return soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elly1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2013

One of the nicest B&Bs/Guest house I have stayed in, my partner and myself went for 2 nights and ended up staying for 3, we had a room on the top floor with sea views from the bedroom and a harbour view from the bathroom. Great hosts and a great breakfast plus the added bonus of a restaurant at night which has a great menu and big portions this is recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbasox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at The Olive Branch. The room was excellent, comfortable & clean .... It had everything we could have hoped for. The owners are a really lovely, friendly couple who helped make our stay perfect. We also had a meal in the restaurant one night, the food, service & atmosphere was spot on. We would definitely recommend staying here if visiting Ilfracombe & district.

Room Tip: The big room with the BIG bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamatoldvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.3 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
372 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
353 reviews
0.7 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#9 of 20 in Ilfracombe
207 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wildercombe House
Wildercombe House
#1 of 53 in Ilfracombe
396 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harcourt Hotel
Harcourt Hotel
#5 of 53 in Ilfracombe
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olive Branch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olive Branch

Property: The Olive Branch
Address: 56 Fore Street, Ilfracombe EX34 9DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Olive Branch 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Olive Branch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olive Branch Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing