We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay”
Review of The Olive Branch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Olive Branch
Ranked #9 of 52 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous stay”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We had a fabulous stay at the Olive Branch. Our room was very clean, comfortable and tasteful. Paul and Carol were delightful hosts and the breakfast was fabulous too! Good value for money. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Annie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul c, Owner at The Olive Branch, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
We at The Olive Branch thank you so much for your visit and also thank you for taking the time to review our Guest House. We look forward to seeing you again.
Paul and Carol.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    20
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
120
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
merthyr tydfil
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

A really fabulous place to stay, a few minutes walk from the front.
Breakfast was great and we also ate in the restaurant one evening which was excellent value and scrummy. We will definitely return if only for the bath :)

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tracyroberts114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2013

2 night stay. Breakfast second to none to set you up for the day in a beautiful location. A 5 minute stroll from the sea front views from both windows, clean rooms and a roll top bath really set it off. We were welcomed and felt comfortable in our surroundings.
Due to this positive experience we hope to return to Ilfracombe and most certainly return to the Olive Branch. First class establishment!

Room Tip: Superior double with separate bathroom was a great choice as it gave us plenty of space, great views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

This guest house is truly superb and not your "typical" B and B. Firstly, the owners were more than accommodating to all of our needs and offered tips on the best places to go and made you feel really at home. The rooms were grand with picturesque sea views and had great on suite facilities. The rooms, service, breakfast and warm welcome made for a great trip and definitely worth a visit for next season. Booking a table to eat in the restaurant, on a evening, is a must do also.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gembles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I booked to stay with friends at the Olive Branch for just one night before travelling to Lundy Island in the morning, and wish I could have stayed longer! Carol knew we were catching the boat to Lundy and so had rung the Lundy Company to find out the time of the boat (it varies according to the weather / tides) so she could advise us on breakfast times. The rooms were lovely; spotlessly clean and comfortable, with lovely toiletries and a nice view of the harbour from my room. We had taken the double with the freestanding bath in it (lovely decoration), the single and the twin as a single, but having settled in I got a phone call from another friend who was suddenly stranded as the friends she was due to stay with had had a medical emergency. Everywhere in Ilfracombe seemed to be fully booked. So I went to speak to Carol, and she was fantastic; made up the spare bed in the twin so that my friend could share - no trouble at all. The breakfast in the morning was wonderful - lots of choice and served in the light and airy restaurant. And then Paul carried our bags down the stairs to help when checking out. This B&B wouldn't suit anyone who has a problem with stairs as there are lots of them, but apart from that can't be faulted. I was enchanted with Lundy so will definitely return - and I hope to stay at the Olive Branch the next time too!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
highworth
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Our son booked this bed and breakfast as a treat for us and what a treat it was
The rooms were modern and very very clean Nothing was to much trouble for the hosts we enjoyed so much we stayed another night great value great stay we will be back

Room Tip: Room 5 was the best room also room at top is a bit of treck
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pollygHighworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2013

My new hubby and I stayed in the olive branch on our wedding weekend. We got married at tunnels beaches in July. The staff at the olive branch were so lovely! really accommodating and friendly, the sevice was amazing and the rooms were comfortable , clean and decorated beautifully. We ate in the restaurant downstairs too and it was delicious! we had such a nice stay here, even some free champers on our wedding night which was a lovely touch! Highly recommended! Thank you for making our wedding weekend so enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melanie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.3 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
393 reviews
0.7 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
419 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#7 of 20 in Ilfracombe
264 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wildercombe House
Wildercombe House
#1 of 52 in Ilfracombe
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olive Branch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olive Branch

Property: The Olive Branch
Address: 56 Fore Street, Ilfracombe EX34 9DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Olive Branch 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Olive Branch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olive Branch Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing